Exploring Malta – Valletta

in #travel5 years ago

We had to visit the capital for one reason only and that’s because @bingbabe wanted to go shopping. Shopping... boring!

Me? I would rather continue hunting down strange places and exploring such as the Villa Sans Souci in Marsaxlokk.

A long-abandoned mansion in Marsaxlokk that is known for its paranormal activity. Weird noises are constantly heard from inside the villa, and many who trespass have problems getting good shots of the inside the house. Those who have entered complain of a constant feeling of dread and paranoia following them everywhere they stepped.

In fact I’m a little pissed that we missed it and drove through the damn town on the way to the Blue Grotto. While the Grotto was quite cool there’s nothing like a creepy villa to explore.

xcyihfjscr.jpg

We found Valletta very hard to find! Strange the capital should be like this but honestly Malta has worse signposts than Crete and that’s saying something.

If I hadn’t previously downloaded some offline maps for my phone we would have struggled to find it. This island is incredibly busy, full of cars, traffic and you can miss junctions easily.

Our bottom of the range rent-a-car did not have a built in SatNav and so my phone had to work hard for me.

oi2btfl1ft.jpg

@bingbabe is also a terrible navigator (I’m going to get a clout around the ears for that), so my driving and craning my neck over to my phone in her hands was not terribly successful.

Parking was going to be somewhat of an issue in the capital but I found a multi-story close to the central area with some ease, once we have found our way to the city itself.

mxiu5aq8uq.jpg

This city is very grand, historic and oozes history. Yet at the same time it’s oh so British. You see a lot of the chain stores you would see in the UK and banks too.

jvyccvklzr.jpg

The Early Learning Centre and HSBC are two I snapped while strolling about, but all housed in these buildings that look like they from Kings Landing. That’s one of the cities from Game of Throne’s for the non-educated.

uogmubcfv4.jpg

We spotted a Burger King and visited a McDonalds too while there. Trust me when I say this. ‘Don’t bother with the McDonalds’. It was packed to the brim, full of screaming kids and the food was terrible. I mean more terrible than a standard McDonalds which is adequate at best.

grmge1zepg.jpg

This grand looking building had a plaque boasting that one Napoleon Bonaparte once visited. He didn’t stick around too long though.

u1gihh9a4d.jpg

There’s no shortage of huge important looking buildings in this city. Most seem to originate in the 1600’s and with the language not being English I have no idea what this one was or what it stands for.

Some had guards posted and considering it was very hot they we very focused. I mean to the point of no eye wavering. I looked at one for a while and he did not return my look, intent on staring ahead.

xf8z61vw6y.jpg

These guys must be dripping in sweat under those hats. Rather them than me.

5eaqeth8e6.jpg

Is Valletta worth a visit? I think there’s a lot more to it than we saw. Two or three hours can’t possibly do it justice and if you love old architecture you will revel in all the history that’s right next to you.


ALL photographs were taken by myself.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

FOR TSE: I hate to shop. It's something I do only when there's nothing more interesting around. That haunted Villa though would have been mandatory. But I get the impression bingbabe is kind of a wuss. Maybe you wouldn't have managed to stick around long enough to see much even if you'd gone back.

I, however, am an excellent navigator -- assuming there are things like street signs and other navigational aids. I was always the one who went to Triple-A for maps before we went to some unfamiliar city. I would track exactly where we were -- back in the days before everything fit on a phone.

My first husband, on the other hand, liked to kind of "guess" where we were going ... and navigated "by instinct." This was not a good arrangement for me -- because I hate to get lost!! (It's possible he did it for that very reason.)

One night very late when we wound up in a very dicey looking part of New Orleans while he tried to find our B&B through prayer and "by accident" (apparently) ... the thing about "I'm getting maps and I'm going to navigate from now on" directive was issued.

I don't miss that hit-and-miss practice of his even one little bit. Come to think of it ... that's not the only thing I don't miss about him.

She's not gonna be happy with you when she sees this! She would have come to the villa but would not have entered.

Im not much better though, anything wierd and Im a bit like Shaggy from scooby-doo with the rotating legs and going nowhere! haha..

Went there with the Mrs a couple years ago. The wife bought a map off one of the stalls and proceeded to guide us to "Lost Ville" glancing over the map I said to her "It's upside down for pity's sake!" we still laugh about that now.

Did you go and see the one o'clock cannon?

No, we missed that. There was a lot to see, but we were headed for the Blue Grotto on the south of the island that day. That left us with only around 2 hours to look bout. Not long enough by far.

Blue Grotto, did you enjoy swimming with the jellyfish? There were hundreds of the things when we went. We're thinking of going back TBH

We didnt venture into the sea, it was a big rough especially when leaving. Jellyfish are not really a great incentive to go in either :)

It looks like my kind of place. All that's missing is a huge expensive ice cream cone.

It really does look like my kind of place. I love old architecture and details so I think I could have happily wobbled around there for quite a while.

I have to say it. I've found some of the coolest place of my life while hopelessly lost. I have a GPS on my motorcycle but it's only used for 'can't miss' turns and getting me out of hopelessly lost from time to time. And the 'nearest gas' button is near priceless.

Thanks for a great look at a wonderful exotic location. I go to McDs regularly on the road. Decent coffee and wifi everyplace. Not for the dining experience...

I go to McDs regularly on the road. Decent coffee and wifi everyplace. Not for the dining experience...

I can agree with that, the coffee isnt too bad and they do provide free WiFi even here now.

I have to say it. I've found some of the coolest place of my life while hopelessly lost.

Now there's an idea. Maybe we should just aimlessly drive and see what happens.

Just looking at those photos makes me feel nice and warm as the rain pounds down outside! I have a feeling of dread and paranoia every time I look at the weather forecast. That Early Learning Centre though. I don't think you'd learn much there.

I know someone who lives there. He told me he solved the parking problems permanently, ..by selling the Car. Looks like you are having a nice time though.

Ha.. brilliant idea., if we could all do that.. but it’s a little impractical. It wasn’t my idea to venture into the capital. Lots of other more interesting places to visit.

Ahahahahaha, your story always contain of fresh jokes @slobberchops . I wonder what the guards feeling about you when you stared at them 😅

I always try and add some personal touches and humour, you just have too :)_
It was a hot day and those guys were fully clothed. It must have been bad for them.

That's good. The joke is in you. I'm trying to have my own characteristics too in my writing.
What a nice suggestion!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Well, at least you had that cool obscure McDonalds to explore. I'm sure those crying children made the experience scary enough for you ;- ) Maybe not exactly what you had planned for, but you've gotta make (small) sacrifices to keep @bingbabe happy.

That is a lot of steps. Beautiful place.
My husband is the one that likes to shop.

Dear @slobberchops,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79