Enterering King's Palace Gyeong Bok Goong (景福宮)

in #travel7 years ago

20170915 slowwalker

One of the most amazing thing in Seoul is that the Old historic Palaces have been well preserved. I’d like to introduce Gyeong Bok Goong (景福宮) Palace today.
Gyeong Bok means Happiness and Fortune for King and king’s people. Goong is palace.

I had a meeting with my friend before visiting Gyeong Bok Goong. We took a lunch and decided to look around Geyong Bok Goong together.

On the way to Palace, there was a traditional building. There was no front board for the name, so I couldn’t know name of this building. But it looked like a commanding post office to keep the palace. There must be a general.

When entering into the Palace, we heard some voices of militarary training. It looked weird for me. Traditional martial art in the palace was hard to understand for me. I thought they were preparing for movie at first. I asked them. They told me that that was preparation of a performance for the tourists. They were very serious, repeated several times.

As passing through them, There was a Main gate of the palace. I took a photo from inside, so I could not take a photo of the front board of this main gate. There were 3 paths in the main gate. The center was only for King. People need to use right path to enter the palace. They must walk on the right side.

I will post on this main gate next time.
To enter the Palace, you need to pass inner main gate in name of Heung Yeh Moon(興禮問). That means ‘flourish courtesy or propriety’.

It is not easy to explain Yeh(禮) in English. It could be translated as etiquette also. It seems that this word means 'manner', it contains very wide spectrum. Basically it means the rule or principle to keep as a human being.

From the Heung Yeh Moon, it starts real king's palace of Gyeong Bok Goong.

Sort:  

bro I really need you tonight for my new post about Jakarta under dutch government.
please help me bro @slowwalker.
I need you
😥

What so important about the post? Just curious.

a very impressive main gate to the palace, @slowwalker!

It's an impressive construction with a double pagoda style of architecture and three oval openings reminiscent of Moon Gates.

Outside the palace is the command post and martial arts training, but not for battle as would be the case in the past, but now for the tourist trade.

The most gratifying aspect of theses photos is to see the past so well preserved despite being surrounded by modern construction.

A nation that forgets its past is like a man with amnesia. Fortunately, the ancient palaces around Seoul are being cared for and their presence contributes to the beauty and allure of the city.

Perhaps the word, 'Yeh' in the title of the palace gate can also be taken to mean respect for the past and preserving the sacred vestiges of our origins - that is an aspect of manners or etiquette that is at the basis of our humanity and reminds us of where we have been.

Theses photos are strikingly beautiful @slowwalker. It's encouraging to learn about culture and history and to see it being carefully preserved and in some cases, restored.

A good post, my friend.

Run as you may! You cannot escape...the Almighty Bunghole!

Thank you as always

Beautiful!

thx for sharing

Thank you so much

wow this s a very beautiful site ie modern and amazing century old building

shows the beauty of Korea and its amazing people. Good post my friend, upped.
Feel free to see my post on the issues of cryptocurrencies and send in your suggestions-happy weekend.

Congrats to them for keeping these beautiful buildings in a rapidly growing metropolis
clickthespoon.gif

@slowwalker

Seoul is that the Old historic Palaces was very magnificent place, the history of south korea was very amazing,

From the Heung Yeh Moon, it starts real king's palace of Gyeong Bok Goong on his dynasty covers the power and unity of the country.

the history of love and romance on the king's family and the palace was the root of all greatness of south korea.

i love the culture and their policy on how their country
progress based on social and economic program as a nation.
i love it. upvoted..

kindly see my post,hope you will visit my page..
this msg. on how you love the person unconditionally, keep hold on in your feelings to someone you love most.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrblu/poetry-don-t-expect-me-to-give-up-loving-you-by-mrblu

wow, im so satisfied on your photo's they look so amazing, i want to go there on Seoul on the Old historic Palaces. the culture and the people was so amazing, i love tile novella series on south Korea..the people are so friendly and very nice too..

i give you my upvote @slowwalker..

Thank you so much

Seoul as a capital of South Korea for sure has a lot to offer, I hope I can visit it someday, 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09