Lost history in Seoul and Sorry to the History

in #travel6 years ago

I met my friend to have a dinner. It was a second day of my itinerary after the retirement.
I walked along the street to go to the coffee shop where we promised to see.
Suddenly I noticed a small board on which pimatgol’피맛골’ was written.
The word ‘pimatgol’ means that escaping from the horses.

For a long time ago, the ordinary people were not allowed to walk the main street.
Main Street was road for the novel class, so common people should walk along the backyard alley to escape from the horses.

Naturally the Pimatgol became the ordinary people’s alley.
There were small snack bars and shops. There were very complicated places.
It had been more than 600 years.

I also had bought the lunch when I was young and poor student. Sometimes me and my friends had met at the Pimatgol and had the humble lunch. At that time I was happy.

The board guided me into the past, so I walked into the Pimatgol thinking the past.
But the Pimatgol was not that pimatgol where I have remembered.

There were no more snack bars and people. The shops were closed.

I felt sorry about the Pimatgol. The history of 600 years happened to be disappeared.
Maybe young generation could not remember or understand that the pimatgol means.

With a severe heart, I passed through the Pimatgol.
As coming closer to the Insadong area, the atmosphere was changing.
Finally I arrived at the restaurant where we promised to meet.

The Insadong alley was clean and well decorated.

On the contrary the Pimatgol seemed to be abandoned.

I don’t Know why Seoul city government did not care for the Pimatgol.
I entered into the restaurant with a feeling of sorry.

Sort:  

Interesting pictures of Korea. Thanks for sharing

Great post! Thanks for sharing these photos with us :)

these one is quite interesting

Very cool. These pics of Seoul tell a great story. Please keep these travel posts going, it's nice for those of us who can't get away often.

INteresting post and photos!

good evening brother @slowwalker
Great photography and I also do not forget that visiting the places we went in the past is great
I liked this article and really deserved it Resteem This Post
I apologize I do not have a voting power until you vote

awesome collection of wonderful pictures thanks for this lovely post

@slowwalker it was great to know about pimatgol and how you used to spend good times with your buddies back when you were young. Yeah man it does hurt when you dont get things like you left them behind living, enjoying. I am already missing tons of things of my childhood just in my 19s.

hahaha
Thank you for your thoughtful understanding

a wistful post, @slowwalker.

So much of what is charming in a city depends on nostalgia and vestiges of the past.

When I was growing up in Toronto there were tubs on busy street corners that were used to water horses. Of course, horse-drawn wagons began being phased out in the 1950's and within two decades there was no longer a use for these tubs.

The Pimatgol falls into this category. It has become irrelevant to modern Seoul and has no place in its future.

I do agree with you that some aspects of traditional architecture and culture should be maintained by a city for the sake of its heritage, and they can also serve to promote tourism.

But inevitably, anything that's no longer relevant will eventually be lost. Even cursive writing in schools is no longer being taught.

The world of the future will be no place for old men, lol.

The thing is; I think that it still IS relevant in Korea, as you still see streets like this prosper in smaller towns. The problem lies with the western obsessionism, and the the cultural aspect of "face." The government, especially in cities like Seoul, want to promote being "modern" (western) as for them, it makes them feel like they are a leading nation, and wealthy. There have been A LOT of changes in this regard with the upcoming hosting of the Olympics.
Seoul is the least returned to place for tourism in the world (last time I checked), and it's because people don't actually feel like they travelled anywhere. It's Starbucks in a concrete jungle.
Seoul is not Korea, imo.

Right. I agree with you.
They need to recreate not to immitate

that's very insightful, @imlikett - thank you for providing your experience - what you say makes sense

Yes, I understand the situations.
But I was just feeling sorry about something I had experienced

Awesome post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15