Porcelain and National Maritime Museum in Mockpo City.

in #travel6 years ago

P1180417.JPG

I didn’t know that such many museums were located in Mockpo city. One female hotel clerk recommended me to stop by the National Maritime Museum.

P1180401.JPG

She told me there I could look around the magnificent mount of porcelains which had been found in the wrecked ship under the sea.

She explained that there were lots of records of the invoice for the goods which were written on the bamboo.
The Chinese ink was well known for maintaining written letters for a long time especially under the influence of the salt.

As hearing her words, I was so curious about the bamboo records and the porcelains.

The museum was not far from my hotel, so I walked along the beach of the port to get there.
The beach was very well arranged.

P1180352.JPG

It was very pleasant for walking along the beach.

The National Maritime Museum was located by the beach.

As soon as entering into the museum, first exhibition hall was for the celadon of Koryeo Dynasty. The celadon porcelain of Koryeo Dynasty was very famous. It’s green color was evaluated as a mysterious work, even until now it was very difficult to duplicate it.

It seemed that many ships were wrecked not far from the beach. Some water ways were notorious for it’s danger.

The excavated ship was exhibited as below

P1180449.JPG

P1180453.JPG

There had been stories that lots of ships had been wrecked for a long time. Unexpectedly a fisherman found some porcelains and the excavation had begun since the fisherman found the porcelain.

That excavation have been known as the one of the biggest and longest in the world.

There were lots of porcelains in the exhibition hall. There must be needed several times to introduce the porcelains of this museum.

In this posting, I’d like to show you the celadon porcelains of Koryeo Dynasty.

As entering into the first exhibition hall, I could see the ship wrecked. The size of the ship was not so large. But there were lots of porcelains as below.

P1180411.JPG

P1180411.JPG

P1180412.JPG

P1180420.JPG

P1180430.JPG

Black pattern was carved with the gold. When the gold was being heated, the color was changing into black. All colors of the porcelain was made up of the metals.

P1180427.JPG

P1180431.JPG

P1180446.JPG

Below was the most prominent work among the Koryeo celadon porcelain in my guess.
The color was mysterious. The size was also large. In my opinion, it seemed to be very difficult to make same or similar work even now days.

P1180432.JPG

Bamboo record was a kind of the invoice for the celadon. They put the honey or the oils into the celadon. That was the present of the local officials to the powerful politician.

P1180434.JPG

Thank you for reading. In next posting, I’d like to explain another masterpiece of the celadon porcelain of Koryeo dynasty.

Sort:  

오랜기간 바다속에 있었어도 역시 아름답군요 청자!
언젠가 "나의 문화유산 답사기"라는 책을 읽고 여행을 떠난적이 있습니다. 님의 포스팅이 따라 여행하기에는 딱 좋은거 같네요
감사 합니다.

이렇게 멋진 박물관이 목포시에 있는지 전혀 몰랐습니다. 신문 기사를 통해 본 다양한 유물이 이곳에 전시되어 있군요. 꼭 가봐야 겠습니다. 좋은 정보 감사합니다...

:O

amazing post my steemit friend wish you good luk thank you

I would like to go to Korea and visit this museum.

Amazing :D nice photo :)

Hi brother @slowwalker
I hope you enjoyed visiting the temple and it is nice to know some things about the lives of people before us in life
I also hope to find some of the archaeological things in our farm here
https://steemit.com/photography/@mars9/photos-of-the-farm-we-are-preparing

Realy amazing collection by photography. You know about steepshot ?

very good information, thanks you for sharing this with us

Wow @slowwalker Mockpo City is indeed full of great sites to visit which you beautifully shared with us. The boat, and other beautiful work of art will attact many people to the city including the sunny beach side walk. Thanks for sharing and visiting my blog post about reward pool rape and solutions . I wish you a blessed weekend.

Thank you so much

It's interesting how a chance remark can lead you to an adventure, @slowwalker.

You enjoyed a sunny beachside walk to visit a marine museum and discovered there innumerable porcelain treasures.

My favourite was the greenware vase you featured toward the end of your photo stream - the glaze was magnificent.

It's one of the curiosities of history that such shipwrecks endure and manage to offer up such priceless artifacts.

I recall reading about a Roman wreck being found with intact amphora of wine almost two thousand years old!

I would certainly not sample that but it is remarkable it endured so long.

As for your lovely vase, as Keats said, a thing of beauty is a joy forever.

Have a good day, my friend.

Enjoyed your "reply", especially your Keats reference! Made me "remember" and smile! Thank you!

Thank you.
In high school, my english teacher told me memorize some poems.
Keats was one of them.
Thank you comment

a great poet to have in your heart :)

Great post as usual!

Beautiful CLicks @slowwalker and You captured all the photos with original colors, keep up the good work. a thumbs up and a resteem from my side to support your work. cheers...

He won't miss out my resteem too i want my friends of friends to see this amazing work

Thank you so mu h

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28