Stone Lantern in front of Daewung-geon in Beopjoo-sa TemplesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel5 years ago

There was a stone lantern in front of Daewung-jeon Hall in Beopjoo-sa temple.
The stone lantern looked very nice. At a glimpse of the lantern, I could notice the lantern was unusual. It was very well balanced. It was simple but elegant.

_7230849.JPG

This stone lantern stood in front of Daewung-jeon which was one of the 3 best Buddhist halls in Korea.
Even though it stood in front of the one of the best buildings, the lantern seemed to show its charisma.

_7230852.JPG

Usually the lantern is secondary structure in Buddhist temple, but in this case this lantern looked to have the independent meaning.

This lantern was the best among what I have ever seen recently.

As getting closer, there were four carvings on the lantern, which were 4 heaven kings protecting the Buddhist paradise.

_7230861.JPG

_7230859.JPG

_7230857.JPG

_7230856.JPG

On the bottom, the lotus pattern was carved.

_7230863.JPG

_7230869.JPG

In my guess, this lantern looked like to play the role of the pagoda of Daewung-jeon.
Even though there was the Palsang-jeon wooden pagoda, there was no stone pagoda in front of Daewung-jeon.

It seemed to be built in Shilla dynasty. It shows the typical characteristics of the stone lantern in that era.

Sort:  

That stone lantern reminded me the one that was in front of Gwaneum-jeon Hall, at least at the first glance. It is nice that the carving of the heaven kings protecting Buddhist paradise still very well recognizable. Sometimes weather and water polish a stone so you can't recognize much. Also the lotus leaves also one of the attribute that often decorates such beautiful crafts. Was interesting to hear your opinion regarding this lantern too :)

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment

@slowwalker,
Yeah like you said, it's simple but well carved in the stone! For my country this type of Lanterns are really uncommon! I don't know much about four heaven kings, in my region we called gods in different names, but I think we both are calling for the same gods (kings)!
It's great to see such wonderful carved done at Korea! Lotus flower carved great in your country and here also! Thank you for sharing such great article with us!

Cheers~

Thank you for your comment and interest
I'd like to visit your place

@slowwalker,
I wish you might visit my country one day and I could assure you it might be a great journey as well!

Cheers~

really simple but elegant, so great .

Your posts look good to me. Many of your posts are known in history.There are many things to learn....my dear lovely friend.... Really i love you 💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕

Thank you so much

@slowwalker, Exactly with your assistance I'm a lucky steemian to see Stone Lantern in Daewung-geon in Beopjoo-sa Temple. I never seen before in my country like these lanterns. That's unique fashionable and elegant. Especially amazing architectural structure used by Shilla dynasty.

As getting closer, there were four carvings on the lantern, which were 4 heaven kings protecting the Buddhist paradise.

Yep right..Very closer to see embossed four heaven kings there. Better explained by you here with professional photo clicks.

Thank you so much
In my view, we are happy to see various culture and history in our lives

Wow😮 Awesome photo girlfriend excellent post, I always like your photos.📷

@slowwalker, 안녕하세요. 마케팅 관련해서 제안드리고 싶은게 있어서 댓글을 남깁니다.
[email protected] 또는 010.4789.6291 로 연락주시면 감사드리겠습니다.
Dear, @slowwalker
Nice to meet you, I'm Saeye Lee. I have a suggestion. Please give me a reply.

스팀챗으로 연락주시겠습니까 ?

It really looks very nice and quite cool as well.

An uncommon Stone Lantern

The carvings on the lantern looks really amazing
4 heaven kings protecting the Buddhist paradise very nicely drawn by the way and the lotus structure as well.

Thank you for reading

Glad to be a part of your journey !

I like the way the stone lantern was built and wondering how it looked like when it was new a long time ago @slowwalker but the carved designs on it still conveys message to the people who would look into its beauty.

Thank you
I am praying for your health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75