Stone Monument of Baek Ryeon Sa in Gang Jin of Jellanamdo Province in Korea

in #travel5 years ago

_2090410.JPG

_2090396.JPG

There was a stone monument in the corner of the temple.
At first I did not notice this monument.
I could find out it, while walking near the temple after looking around Dae Wung Jeon Hall.

The monument looked unusual.
Originally this monument had been built in Goryeo dynasty, but while time passing, the monument was destroyed. So they rebuilt this monument at 18 century in Choson dynasty. It was said that they found the original head part under the ground. And they made the body part where the history of the temple was carved and the tortoise-shape of bottom.

_2090406.JPG

_2090407.JPG

_2090408.JPG

So this monument was a combination of the art work between Goryeo and Choson dynasty.

Interesting thing for me was I could compare the bottom part between Goryeo and Choson dynasty.
Now let's look carefully this bottom part.

_2090398.JPG

_2090399.JPG

_2090401.JPG

_2090402.JPG

_2090404.JPG

_2090405.JPG

The work of Choson dynasty looked tougher that that of Goryeo dynasty.

In some day, I'd like to compare the bottom parts among Shilla-Goryeo-Choson dynasties.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
DCLICK: Introducing the Advertise feature

Last week, the Advertise feature has opened. you can...

Sort:  

@slowwalker,
Actually I have no good idea about how crafting has been different between those dynasty. But I could say the bottom part reveals a great crafting ability of Korean history! Really appreciate your effort of photography and share very informative post to the Steem community!

Cheers~

Beautiful photos today, @slowwalker, of a stone tortoise stele.

These monuments represent eternity and I think it fitting that this particular tablet statue was rescued from the sands of time and reflects the influence and cooperation of two distinctly different dynasties.

Turtles were respected as harbingers of good fortune and appropriately this monument had the good luck to be completed by two separate dynasties, otherwise this beautiful artwork would be lost to history.

It gives hope that our culture and thought will endure and be enjoyed by posterity.

Have a good day, my friend :)

I am really impressed looking this photograph. So beautiful and awesome photography. It is a great photos.And I read your post discretionit it is matching full.a wonderful post it is

Really very awesome your place to visit.. I love your photography.. My cute friend @slowwalker

@slowwalker, I looked most of stone monuments in Korean temples via your blogs. But more ones created tortoise designs. This was combination of Goryeo dynasty and Choson dynasty. That is a amazing stone monument I've ever seen. Also stone lantern I seemed in front of hall.

I always appreciate your virtual tours, I do not know if I will ever get a chance to visit Korea but I can have a taste of it through your posts.

great post, beautiful photos.
Even you can compare two dynasties artwork. i just amazed that the next dynasty continue and rebuild the monument. A good step for preservation
Thank you @slowwalker for share this post.

Wow this is thrilling, the fact that it it's art work between Goryeo and Choson dynasty, I think that's the reason for the difference really, it's a brilliantly done of art, I Mean a dragon head and a tortoise bottom, wow, thanks for covering the amazing shots

I want to say just amazing creativity on stone. You know I am always trying to check your blog to seeing some amazing creativity. Its really brilliant work. Thank you so much for sharing this.

excellent stone monument sir.
wonderful temple @slowwalker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75