Take a trip to Chejoo Island with my son.

in #travel6 years ago

20171109

20171109_235709.jpg
(Drawing by my mom, my kids)

We decided to take a trip to Chejoo island for memory of my son’s joining in the military.
In korea the military service is a compulsory duty for males.

My son is junior student in undergraduate school.
He is majoring on mechanics, so joining in the military is a serious problem for his study.

I’d like to take a trip with my son to share common experience with my son.

I suggested to him take a trio to Chejoo island, and he agreed with me.

It is not easy to maintain close relationship between daddy and son in Korea due to the influence of Confucius patriarchy system.

I hated a patriarchy system when I was a child.
Father was a symbol of authoritarianism in family.

But as I became a father of a child, I got to know Father was very lonely.
I know very well that my daddy loved me. But he never expressed his feeling to me.

Regardless of childhood experiance, I became authoritative like my daddy.

Unconsciously I followed after my father.

My son was a victim of patriarchic family system.
We had a serious conflict when my son was in middle school.

After entering undergraduate school, we became amicable again.

This trip is 2nd trip with my son.
We decide walk around Chejoo island without any plan.
We will go where we can go, we will stay where we can sleep.

I hope this trip a memorable, so I’d like to talk about this trip with my grandkids when I am getting older.

Sort:  

I appreciate the drawing skills of your kids. I hope you would have memorable trip with your family

a good idea I think since busy also work our families should be no one right

Amazing art work...

I like when I learn the difference between other cultures. Especially from common people here on steemit. Nice post.

thank you so much

You're welcome.

In korea the military service is a compulsory duty for males.

Obviously, considering who is in the other side of the border.

Wow.really very moving.

your mother made a beautiful portrait of your children, @slowwalker. You should be very proud of them, as I know you are proud of your mother. She is a true artist.

Some people spend their whole lives either trying to emulate or not be like their parents. It is a a waste of a life.

My advice to you is to be yourself - if necessary, go counter-culture, but show love to your children regardless.

It is very difficult to go against the grain of your upbringing - it's also difficult if you are in an authoritarian religion or culture to resist its teachings.

In the end, each soul is its own and we will stand or fall on the decisions of the heart.

You're a good man, @slowwalker, and i know that forming a close bond with your son is the right way for you to go.

thank you for your advise
I will do it very well

Absolutely right!

I know very well that my daddy loved me. But he never expressed his feeling to me.

Father's are not showy like our mother but the way theh speak and command we know how our father love's us or his son/children...

Your lucky sir you had your father beside you..sad to say i came from a broken family since i was 4 years old :(..

oh I am sorry to hear that

Yes..but life could not end up that way,life must go on..one day if i had my own family i would never let that happen to them my experience in life!

this is really a very good act, the family happy it is a very nice attitude in the household.

first off, the drawing is superb and produced by your talented love ones. The trip that you made with your son was amazing. You have a blessed family @slowwalker. Thank for sharing this such inspired experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06