The Most Important Area In Songgwangsa Temple And The Beauty of The Roofs

in #travel6 years ago

Every place has it’s unique and important spot.
In Songgwangsa, the architectures relating to the buildings were well known.
But in my opinion, the most important place in Songgwangsa is the stone pagoda of the greatest monk “Ji nul” not only in Goryeo dynasty but also through the history of Korean Buddhism

He had lived from 1158 to 1210. It means that he had lived more than 1000 thousand years ago.
Before him, Korean Buddhism was just an imitated one from Chinese Buddhism.

He had integrated Zen Buddhism and Doctrinal Buddhism and created unique Korean Buddhism.

He was a prominent scholar of Buddhism and also the profound truth seeker.
The fame of Songgwansa was inherited from him.

So if you visit Songgwangsa, it is essential to look at his tomb.
As you know, the body of Jinul was cremated, so they had collected Sarira(sacred relics) among the ashes and made a pagoda for him.

But it was not easy to find where the pagoda located in.
There was no guiding board to introduce where the pagoda located.
I could found the pagoda at the backyard alley of the buildings at the corner of the temple.
They seemed to hide his pagoda from outsiders.

It was a steep step to climb to the hill where the pagoda is.
_4140336.JPG

The pagoda I found there was so humble.

_4140338.JPG

_4140339.JPG

The owner of this humble small pagoda had guided Korean Buddhism to an Unique and Profound way.

On the hill, I looked down the temple. There I could see the roofs of this temple.
It looked so nice and awesome with the fog after the rain.

_4140340.JPG

_4140341.JPG

_4140343.JPG

_4140344.JPG

_4140346.JPG

The most symbolic and impressive part in Korean architecture looked like the roofs well balanced with their surroundings of mountains.

Sort:  

When Nature and architecture are in tune .... very beautiful

unreal photographpy

Definitely. I love the fog rolling over the trees and the vibrant greens. I could spend days exploring this place for sure.

Just wonderful shots and sceneries :-)

BEAUTIFUL spot to view all temple from the hill, all place also have important and unique spot, korea rich with cultural building from the past century, thank you very much for your sharing to us, I have resteem your post to more than 2500 my followers, greeting friendship and brotherhood from me @abialfatih in aceh indonesia, success always for you @slowwalker

Thank you so much

great comment

For the first time I know this information, I love the way you listed it, I wish to visit this place someday, history is something very important

Very impressive architecture showing culture
Really very distinctive design
Fantastic photo shooting

Thank you so much

Such a tranquil looking place. The pictures are calming and just beautiful

@slowwalker I honestly appreciate your efforts in putting this article together. Your writing style is just straight to the point and it's a good one.


Before now, I never knew their was a difference between the Korean and the Chinese pattern of Buddhism. But from this work I can confidently say to an extent that there is a different but I will still have to do some research about it. Thanks for sharing your experience at the Songgwangsa Temple with us.

Thank you for your comment

Very beautiful temple. How beautiful and calm nature is.Excellent one word.

wauu is very pretty slowwalker I really like your post on this day, how are you healthy friend of my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05