Various Dolmens in Wha Sun Area

in #travel5 years ago

It looked like same at first glance, but as looking carefully, all dolmens were different each other.
The most famous dolmen in Wha Sun area was a big stone.

_2080068.JPG

At first, people didn’t notice that stone was a dolmen.
So they carved letters indicating the name of family graveyard on the stone.

_2080069.JPG

They’d though it as a just big stone by the road.
According to the explanation by the guide in the museum, the seven stars of the Big Dipper were carved on the top of the stone. It was sorry that I could not see the Big Dipper on it. It was too large and tall to look at the top of the stone for me, moreover there was no hills to look down the stars on it.

Anyway the Big Dippers were so meaningful, that the seven stars were believed to be connected with Korean primitive religion. The Big Dipper was the place where dead souls took a rest.

There were various types of dolmens there.

P2080079.JPG

P2080089.JPG

_2080077.JPG

P2080088.JPG

P2080096.JPG

Interestingly a dolmen stood near the grave made in recent time on the Ridgeline of the hill.

P2080093.JPG

Sort:  

Wow the first dolmen to me seems like a mountain with a secret door, I didn't realise that was obviously a carving with names, it's really am amazing scenario with all the other dolmen, and you did justice with your camera capturing all of them it's amazing.

Yes! These are exactly what I was talking about! The dolman with the inscriptions! The first one is very significant, isn't it?

I am not sure I have ever seen one so large.

!tip

Really wonderful dolman pictures.I mean to look first photos of dolman a house.Really historical photography I like very much

Never heard of those before. Thanks for sharing!

@slowwalker, First dolmen stone amazing and It's more popular with carved letters. Well explain about big dippers. It's amazing to see another different kind of dolmens. Beautiful background placed in this place. Nice photo collections.

Those are some pretty shots. At first on the top picture I almost thought it had a window! Nice work.

I love seeing the many places you show @slowwalker!
These stones are so beautiful! Marking the stars above.
I wonder if a long selfie stick with camera would see
the markings on top of the boulder? :-)

First Thing I thought when I saw the Thumbnail for this Post was @slowwalker is Writing about Elephants and then of course I clicked on and no elephants. I am OK with that because this is another marvelous piece of Korean Society.............

stone forest... beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @slowwalker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25