Wonju Railroad Station And The Traces Of The Past

in #travel6 years ago

What kinds of feelings do you have about the railroad station ?

After finishing looking around the San Museum, I went to the railroad station to go back to my home.
It was fine weather.

The railroad stations always make me recall my childhood when my family left our hometown for better living conditions. It was my mom’s determination to move into Seoul from tiny small country side.
Mom thought there was no hope for educate and feed us.

Of course it was not easy living in Seoul. But my uncle, mom’s elder brother, helped us for settlement in this unfamiliar and cold hearted cosmopolitan city.

I still remember the moment when we took up the train. Our relatives and close acquaintances said good bye for us with tears. Looking that, I realized the separation was a sorrow.

So whenever I am looking at the railroad station, the feeling of separation in my childhood comes out.

Strangely enough, the railroad station of Wonju city looked like the station of my hometown.

P5130301.JPG

It seemed that the surrounded stores and buildings have not been changed for the decades.

P5130283.JPG

P5130287.JPG

I was looking around the station. There was a water supply tower for the steam locomotives.
The steam locomotives had been disappeared for a longtime ago, they preserved the water supply tower as a kinds of the local relics. I was so glad to see that water supply tower.

P5130293.JPG

P5130290.JPG

There was a wagon cart on the railroad. It looked like being abandoned.
Loneliness was my feeling at seeing that train wagon and the weeds around the railroads.

P5130295.JPG

P5130296.JPG

P5130291.JPG

P5130298.JPG

Sitting at the station, I was in reminiscence of my childhood.

It was so nice to have such a melancholy time sometimes.

Sort:  

A marginal place from all parts of the world.

Yes, that's right

Our family also used to travel with trains when we visited our grand parent's home once in a year in my childhood. I also have a lot of sweet memories with trains.

Yes, train indeed has pleasant and sad memory together

When I was just a child trains would bellow up its horns and I would hear it from our house considering that the train was a few hundred meters away. But the train now is long gone. Fortunately they will going to revive it and my prayer was to see our train go back into its original glory @slowwalker before I pass from earth because a train is a fascination not only for me but for most people.

Thank you so much for your comment.
the train is always in its glory in our mind

There's something about the sound of a train that's very romantic and nostalgic and hopeful.

사진 잘 감상했습니다. 정말 옛적 어린 시절 감성들이 살아나는 듯 하네요...

It is wonderful, and there are other beautiful places as well in Korea. Natural beauty, I'm a big fan of this place.

There is something cathartic about revisiting places that have resigned themselves to hazy distant memories. The world seems to slow down to a simpler pace like when we were young.

I guess rail is not as popular there as it once was?

because of other transportation

I see this station has memories you,picture you take very special, I enjoy the expanse of all this, @slowwalker.☺️

Thank you so much

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Thank you. I grew up near trains! A great post.

Thank you so much for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73