[EN] Pilgrimage with Sophie: The "Aroa Chunai" Museum

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hello, beautiful people of my heart!

Yeah, it's me again. I was fast, wasn't I?

The truth is, guys, these posts have me very excited; Lara state is rich in cultural expressions and patrimonies -natural and cultural-, so editing the pictures, dusting off the notes that I took, remembering moments and writing all that is really stimulating. It's even better knowing that you liked this section of my blog, so I'll continue with Sanare's tour. Previously I told you about The sinking of Yai, we are now moving towards another place that is new and totally unknown to many of you.

Continuing with the tour of the Latin American Congress of Archaeology and Anthropology, we arrived at the Community Museum "Aroa Chunai " -do you remember when I said in the previous post that I started at the end? Well, this was the second stop in Sanare, the first stop is for the next post. As you can see, I go from the last stop to the first- located in the community of Palo Verde, in Sanare.

Here my capacity to pay attention was reduced a little due to the number of people who were there, with the little space available. Although I have to add the delay that I had when I arrived from the first stop of the tour, which was two blocks before, so I came walking. For that reason I only paid attention to half of the talk. However, due to the horrible warm weather, I decided wait until the talk was over and we were allowed to walk freely through the small, but symbolic, museum where I was.

Over here I leave you one of my favorite pictures.

Let's get to know the «Aroa Chunai» Community Museum!

Over here, we have some wonderful and beautiful masks from the local festivity «El Baile de las Zaragozas». Now you are going to tell me "How It's going withi this festivity?", I will explain you: It is a dance that they do every December 28th to celebrate the well-known "Holy Innocents's Day" where everyone dances hiding the identity of each participant in it. The masks are used to realize this commitment.

The belief tells us that the Baile de las Zaragozas is very old, such that Venezuelan historians still do not know exactly when it happened. Its origin is an agricultural tradition that was evangelized and became a devotion to the Holy Innocents -which, according to the biblical reference, were all the children murdered by King Herod- in which it is usual to request promises hiding the identity of each one and dancing, hoping that these promises will be realized.

This was a short introduction talk to this traditional Larense dance.

Then they explain to us that there are schools where children are trained to take the place of the old Zaragozas; the first school was built in 1955 and still today it is helping and teaching about the importance of culture in the new dancers' recruits. I did not miss the opportunity to take a picture of these amazing masks.

They continue to explain to us about the folklore of Sanare and some local traditions that are not so recognized. Following this scenario, we were informed about the Baile de Tamunangue; It is performed every June 13 in veneration to San Antonio de Padua. In what this dance consist? Unique in Venezuelan dances. It is conformed by: La Batalla, La Bella, Yeyevamos o Chichivamos, Juruminga, El Poco a Poco, Perrendenga, Galerón y Seis Figureao.

You don't know what I want to enjoy in person from such wonderful festivities. The explanations were very beautiful; the soul and affection that the guide of the museum placed in them make understand the importance for the community of these beautiful dances, so I really wish to return and witness them!


These beautiful wooden sticks are part of the costumes for the Dance of Tamunangue.

Loving and iconic character: José Alberto Castillo «El Caimán de Sanare» (Sanare's Caiman)

They took us to a corner dedicated to a wonderful storyteller in the Sanare community: José Alberto Castillo. They explained everything about him. He was born on the 3rd of January in 1937. He was a merchant, a farmer, he made brooms. When he started telling stories, legends and imaginary tales created by him, he began to have a huge fame among the young people, who listened to all his incredible stories in admiration. Consequently, he won a number of awards for all the writings that he wrote.

The winner of important awards such as: Iberoamerican Prize "Shaman" of communication, given in 1989; and the Medal to the Merit in the Orality given in 2010. "El Caimán de Sanare" was a teacher for all the village, a very dear and recognized lover of the different, the fantastic; a creator of numerous stories that, even today, are still heard by people who love everything that came from him. He died at the age of 73, on September 27, 2010.

To finish the talk about José, the guide took out a book called "Sin decí una garra e' mentira " where the writings of this very dear character were collected. He also read us a magnificent fragment, which then I took the liberty of searching to share with all of you:

When I say goodbye to this world:
After the death one returns to be born in another birth, in spirit. When I say goodbye to this world, I implore you to take me away with music, stories and joy. Happiness is mine. The story is my life; let the groups come to me, the groups with whom I have collaborated. That they send me away with the music of the folklore of here, kind of music, I do not have distinction. The only music I don't like is the english music, because I don't understand it, it's like crickets; american music, yes, because you understand it.

This translation can lose some of the original meaning.

On September 29, 2010, several cultural activities were celebrated in all the public spaces of Sanare in tribute to José Alberto Castillo "El Caimán de Sanare".

Unfortunately, at this point I did not pay attention to the talk. The warm weather was suffocating me; I needed fresh air. I left the museum and waited for it to finish the whole tour, so I came in after they allowed a space of time to look freely.

Enjoy the pictures that I have brought you!

I found these pieces of craftsmanship and these wonderful guitars.

I was stunned observing even the smallest corner of the museum. Each tiny part told a different story about the cultural heritage of the Palo Verde community. It is very heartwarming to know that there are still people interested in the care of historical fragments from communities in the country; people who fight every day to preserve cultural memory as valuable works for all.

I kept knowing every little fragment of this magical place.

Here I can tell you that in the image on the right we have some samples of the recognized local pottery teacher Teodora Torrealba, who lived in the neighbouring village Yay. I heard more about her when we went through the Hundition. She lived 107 years, never married or had children -I love you, Theodora-. She only taught women of the community and her nieces, she never taught any men. The villagers have a monument in her honour at the beginning of the village; a symbol of love and admiration of all the villagers for her. She died in March, 2000.

Over here I brought you the last pictures that I took at the museum.

And this picture so you can see how full the museum was and understand why I decided to leave the talk and wait for the end.

Sincerely —and in case you haven't noticed yet— I love museums; for me a museum has the best of its region. Representations, imaginaries, art, thoughts, creativity, emotion, feelings and stories. A museum is a corner of magic, where the best minds of humanity walk. The Community Museum "Aroa Chunai " is full of this and more, because it is a museum made by the people and for the people. The pieces exposed there -which by the way, are for sale- were created by the people of the community with years of effort. The love and affection that they show in the talk and in the place can be touched just by looking into the eyes of the guide.

Sanare, as I told you before, is a town full of magic and feelings that everyone should visit. I really hope to go again -carry cash if you want to buy any piece, which I can guarantee you, you'll want to take them all- and visit one or another place that I couldn't at the time. The people are friendly, warm and homey. I promise you that no one there will have a problem offering you a mango, a banana, a tea or a conversation about the place. Sanare is love.


Thank you everyone for reading this new section. I hope you like it, I would love to see your comments at the end of the post and any questions or suggestions you have. Thanks for the support, guys, I love you.

And a very special thanks to you; for supporting me and existing.

If you want to read more about my pilgrimages, you can visit these posts

Pilgrimage with sophie: The Barquisimeto Museum
Pilgrimage with sophie: A room full of magic
Pilgrimage with Sophie: Yai's sinking


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://sophiegeek.vornix.blog/sophiegeek/en-pilgrimage-with-sophie-thearoa-chunai-museum/2018/11/05/


Sort:  

How nice it is to see the history of our popular culture in a steemit post.

Sanare's Caiman great promoter of our cultural assets.

sometimes it is better to lose the talks in the museums, to me in particular I do not like much. because sometimes they direct what one does not want to see. instead if we observe and if we do not know good then it is investigated.

How nice to see those masks worn in Zaragoza, you have to make a documentary for when it's the holidays. :D

Too bad that the museum does not have a good lighting would get better graphics.

In short we have many things to tell about our country and you have done very well.

Thank you for sharing this piece of Venezuelan popular culture.

greetings, peace and love

Hi sophiegeek,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

OMG!😱 I'm so excited that I still can't believe it😍😍. It's such an honor having a vote from you, that means I'm making it right. Such an honor!💖😍 Thank you for your support, you have made my week happier.💖✨

The Aroa Chinua Community Museum portrays a rich cultural heritage of the people of the people. I love their guitars too - 4 strings. Really cool. Thanks for bringing this to us @sophiegeek

it's so nice, that good that you go Lara. I live in Barquisimeto and I feel bad to have no idea of ​​some things that you talk about.

it's so nice what you do... I mean traveling to the congres...I live in Barquisimeto and I feel bad to have no idea of ​​some things that you talk about.

The museum is small. So cute ... our lands are full of stories we do not know. Thanks to you I got to know a bit more about where I live.

thank's for sharing

Thank you for taking us to this museum, I noticed that many things around look like handmade, like the masks and interesting to learn about "Holy Innocents's Day" that might be a lot of fun. The sculpture of José Alberto Castillo looks great, it is good that people remember such persons, although he was not rich or famous but seems people loved his stories. Interesting story about Teodora Torrealba and her pottery that used to teach only women.

Hi @sophiegeek, It was great that the country still taking care of their culture and educted the young generation so that they won't forget the history and culture.

I always imagine a museum should be located in a big city and big building. It did give me a surprise when I saw the museum in your pictures. The building also can consider part of the culture and history itself.

I also didn't like to visit a place when their were pack of people,it was stuffy and might miss some of the things.

Do you any chance to see their dance. It very interesting with a mask on and how the dance look like

Yes, if there's one thing I've learned from Venezuela and its people, it's that they really give importance to cultural heritage and the preservation of their traditions. The definitions are never exact, so yes, this little museum taught us a lot of things. And you're absolutely right, in fact, I lost a few stories due to the pack of people there. Thanks for your comment, I love this kind of interaction. 💖

You must be like different country culture very much. How you came across this museum? from the tour guide or explore it yourself.

Is this museum far away from where you live? I really hope that you can visit the place again. I'm sorry to hear that it was full. I also don't like when there are too many people around and there is no air. Then I have to go outside and miss half of the guided tour.

I like the story about the woman who lived 107 years. It must have been difficult to have no kids at the time when she was young. I can imagine they considered her the crazy woman :)

The museum looks very nice and you know a lot about the history. Thank you for sharing it with us.

I do like museums but my favorite I castles. We have so many in Switzerland and I love visiting them. There is so much history and you feel like there would be great stories if those walls could talk :)

I have enjoyed your article. Thank you and congratulations to your curie vote!

Yeah, having too many people on a tour really chokes me a lot. This place is the type I'd definitely visit if I had the chance. I'm a sucker for the mystical stories and the bizarre forms. Your thumbnail already drew draw some signs that I should check this post out and did not regret every single detail of story tell to it. I mean, looking at those photos, masks, images, and statues just gave me some creeps but it's the exciting kind of creeps.

I do hope you could visit the place next time and have fun like you originally intended. :D

Sophie, this is really awesome!

Those masks have really interesting designs, and the festival looks like an exciting one. I am not so conversant with the holy innocent day, but it looks like a good one...

I love those drawings on the wall too...

Sanare has an interesting culture, maybe you wanna visit there someday again? When its less crowded...

Thank you for sharing your photos and the knowledge that you gained from your museum tour. I really like them.

The mask celebration is amusing. I wonder how it became a festival when the story behind it is murdering of innocent children. And the story of Thoedora Torrealba is very interesting. That only tells us that women had their own history of living a long life of independence and still live selflessly for helping others.

How near or far is this museum from where you live that you plan to go back?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86