Pilgrimage with Sophie: Yai's sinking

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hello, beautiful people of my heart!

As you know, I told you guys that I will be more active, and here I am. The problem is that this post was longer than I expected, so it was kind of hard to keep me active in the week. I still had material from the museum but I didn't want to overwhelm you guys with more of it -maybe later- so I went straight to the other place: Sanare.

As part of the tour of the Latin American Congress of Anthropology and Archaeology, we visited the town of Sanare in the state of Lara near of Barquisimeto, where we were given a talk at the Community Museum of Sanare and the Cooperative Association «Unidad de Producción 8 de Marzo» -two incredible talks that showed us, respectively, the care of the culture of the Sanare's community and the production of natural food that benefits everyone there. However, these two stops on the tour will be pending for other post-. What a thrill! I love to make detailed posts; I want you to experience as much as I do: the fascination, the charm, the joy, all that these places gave me; so in this adventure, as the final part of the tour - yes, let's start at the end first- I bring you the Natural and Archaeological Heritage of the village of Yay: Yay Hundition.

As the promise is debt... the journey!

To reach the road to the Hundición, we first had to pass through Sanare, then take a trip of about 8 kilometers to a nearby mountain, -which is located Yay- to then take a path higher up at the mountain and reach our destination.

Before starting the earth road, we made a quick stop to observe the landscape, so I took the opportunity to take a picture and extend my legs because we had about 2 hours on the road.

Ending the tortured road -where it seemed to take hours because the road was pure earth, there were many holes, also the road was narrow and we took too long to get there- we arrived at the Hundition.

It looks like a miniature desert, but it's too beautiful.

As soon as we arrive at the site in question, there is a beautiful poster that gave us the welcomes - disgracefully and incredibly, I forgot to take a picture of the poster - with great warmth:

Welcome to Yay:
Natural, archaeological, paleontological and historical site of the country.
Where the sun shines with the creativity and spiritual richness of its people.
Worth to visit to go back to the past and live its history.

With a large area of more than ten thousand square meters, it is a delight to the eye contemplate in all its splendor this magnificent rock formation. The fresh air, the approaching sunset; any detail only made me marvel more and more with the visit to this mystical place. It didn't take me long to get lost with the view towards the horizon and pretend that I was alone there with no one to bother me and without any sound to get me out of the trance.

I could not leave the fascination that caused me to be in the heart of such a beautiful gift of the nature.

Let's go with the origin!

Its origin can be told in two ways -at least they did it in the tour- a legend and a more scientific version. Let's start with the latter; the legend is more curious and the best should be kept for the end.

Logical and scientific version: there is not much to really say, only technical details, so I will try not to bore you so much and say the specific: the first thing we were informed was that Sinking is the correct term for the site; however for being something unique in all Venezuela they was decided to name it Hundition. This beautiful natural heritage is a rock formation of geomorphological origin - yes, what this means; you will see because it is something easy to explain, it is only about the modeling of the shape of the earth due to climatic factors, as it is in this case the natural erosion of the earth due to a continuous landslide; the rain gradually eats the earth- which has left all the Hundition in the form of a canyon. Close to this valley, there is a ravine that continues eroding this precious magic corner.

Ready, he was very punctual. I didn't want to bore you with so much history, it's better that you enjoy the photographs.

Now comes the curious thing: the version that the villagers of Yay tell about how the Hundition was formed.

Legend: it's really short but it's kind of shocking, so I'll try to tell it as a memento because they explained that there was a little variation on the story. Once upon a time, before it was known as the Hundition, there was a town there. The people did not respect religious beliefs of any kind and they were acting in an uncontrolled and obscene way, partying day after day and disobeying everything that God commanded them to do to change. But no one paid attention, following the unbridled vice of worldly acts. God gave them a last warned: that they would receive a severe punishment unless they changed. As everyone ignored God's warning, as an act of fury he sent a surprisingly strong wind that turned all people and houses into pillars of dirt. Then, according to this legend, all that the people can observed in the Hundition are the disobedient people who were transformed by the Divine punishment. Kind of creepy, don't you think?

I love this photograph, although it is a little difficult to imagine that is people who can be observed in these large columns of earth.

Although in this other photograph it is easy to imagine that they are cabins or huts that were transformed into columns of earth.

At the end of the talk, we were given an explanation of the archeological, anthropological and social value of the place -a talk that I will skip to not make the post too long, it was also something short- and we were given time to explore on our own; I did not take very much time to explore between the beautiful mountains of clay. Here's the result:

Wherever I looked, there were magnificent mounds of earth.

As the Hundition looked like a maze I slipped through its passages, I went up and down in the mounds of dirt and enjoyed walking around this place. I took pictures from above observing the whole place, and from below observing the passages.

Crossing a couple of dirt hallways, I found myself marveling at these precious cactus.

There are really amazing things in places where we don't think they are.

And as we arrived relatively late, the night was knocking on the horizon, and we had to leave because the return trip was around 3 hours. But not before taking the last pictures of the day.

Here I wanted to observe for the last time the whole stage in its splendour.

Another photo with all the wonder of the landscape.

Ramas1.jpg With this view of the night arriving, we leave with all our curiosity satiated, the beautiful place that is "The sinking of Yai"

And this is me, in the place. There was a guy taking pictures and I couldn't miss the opportunity to ask him for take me one, he knew about good angles. Lucky me!

And well, precious people of my life and my heart, that was it for today. The next post will be about "Sanare Community Museum" which let me tell you, it's stunning. The sinking of the Yai is a mystical and archeological beauty that everyone should visit. The marvelous state of Lara has beautiful landscapes and breathtaking places that each one of us should visit, like many other states in Venezuela.

I leave you for today, with the best vibes, kisses and hugs. Remember to support other partners and those communities you like the most. I look forward your comments, thank you for reading. I love you, guys.

And thanks to you, for the love and help.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://sophiegeek.vornix.blog/2018/11/02/pilgrimage-with-sophie-yais-sinking/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sophiegeek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73