Powis Castle in Welshpool - By Steve J HuggettsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel5 years ago

powis castle - by steve j huggett.jpg

Well, this is quite a castle, dating back over 700 years! I didn't think it was that old, to be honest, it looks more like a grand country mansion. It was built be a Welsh Prince back in the thirteenth century, which was unusual as many of the castles in Wales were built by the English to suppress the Welsh.

It is an outstanding place, not just the castle but attractive formal gardens, terraces, parkland, deer park and landscaped estate. We only had enough time to explore the castle as the gardens close at 4pm and Lisa didn't fancy having to scale fences again after the last time I said "they never look the gates" lol

powis castle - by steve j huggett (2).jpg

There a couple of canons under those green covers.

powis castle - by steve j huggett (11).jpg

What a courtyard?

powis castle - by steve j huggett (9).jpg

Looking out across the managed gardens, which we didn't have time to go and explore, maybe next time in the summer.

DSC_7127.jpg

Looking out across the deer park

powis castle - by steve j huggett (10).jpg

Now thats what you call a Welsh door handle, with the dragon.

powis castle - by steve j huggett (5).jpg

Looking back through the castle

powis castle - by steve j huggett (3).jpg

As its a castle you have to have your pet Peacocks :)

What I use

Nikon D7200.
Sigma 18-300m
Software Adobe Lightroom.
Taken by Steve J Huggett.

Location

Welshpool Wales UK

Thank you

I appreciate you taking time to read this post and viewing my photos. I hope you enjoyed them. Please let me know what you think in the comments below.

Please follow me on Steemit @stevejhuggett.


Image © Steve J Huggett. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

I love seeing old buildings and especially castles and country manors. This one is in incredible condition for it's age and thanks for sharing your visit with some wonderful photography. I particularly like the dragon door handle.

Thanks @cryptoandcoffee That door handle is something special!

Grand old stone castles with rambling gardens, still in pristine condition considering the age Steve. Thanks for taking us on the outing, most enjoyable, especially seeing the door knocker dragon, nice design!

Thanks Joan, I have to say I was really surprised how old it was and its condition amazing. You're not allowed to take photo's inside which is a shame, there are some amazing things to see. I'll be heading back in the summer to explore more :)

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

it looks like very nice and renovated place. Gardens and walls are in the very good condition, which means that the place drag a lot of attention and must be kept in tidy. Can I ask how much did you have to pay for the entrance ?

ps. love the dragon door handle photography. it is probably the best one from the series. or that one with a magnificent view of the lands behind the castle

Thanks @cubapl It cost £13.50GBP to get in, but it's run by the National Trust and as a member, we get in for free.

Hi stevejhuggett,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Great post. Fantastic images.
All my references of Wales go back to the famous Offa's Dyke and then the final conquest of Wales by King Endward I and Princes Llewelyn and Daffydd's horrendous deaths.
Interesting that this castle was actually built by the welsh.
I drool at this historical sites. Such a blessing to have the chance to walk those places.
Do you know whose statue is that in the second photograph?

Thanks @hlezama I have to say, I was really surprised at it being a Welsh castle too.

The Statue isn't of anyone, according to what I can find its;

"The statue depicts the winged female figure of Fame borne by Pegasus."

https://britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/300016785-statue-of-fame-in-entrance-courtyard-at-powis-castle-welshpool#.XJCbWyL7S00

Just a piece of flashy art really :)

I see. Thanks.
Flashy art is always good to compensate for bloody history :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow! This is amazing! I hope I could get to visit the place.

Woooaw...... Such a great castle in there. It has a lot of history worth reading. I really enjoyed reading every single word in there and i most say every second spent on your blog was worthwhile.
Your pictures on the other hand were really really awesome. Lovely history to share in there. Keep the travels spirits up

That is a grand building! I really like this kind of architecture. I haven't been lucky to visit such castle yet but I'm sure that I'll do it one day. The garden is so large! I would probably plant there some nice flowers to make it look even better :)

And that peacock is cute. I agree, when you have such place you need to have some special pet :)

Thank you for sharing! Have a good weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68