The Excitement of Shinjuku

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

IMG_6967.PNG

Shinjuku is a special ward in Tokyo that has the busiest railway center in the world. It is one of Tokyo’s man commerce centers and also houses the city’s government building. Constructed in 1885 the Shinjuku Station averaged 3.64 million daily passengers in 2007. An impressive number for any city in the world.

Beer Hopping

Snapseed (49).jpg

Shinjuku has a very special place in my heart. I traveled to Japan a number of times as a young man, so Shinjuku is one of my old stomping grounds. Although I don’t party like how I used to, the priceless memories of meeting marvelous people remain. At least the great ones I can remember because some of those trips were full of brutal hangovers. Some things I am more than happy to no longer experience, at least not too often.

Snapseed (42).jpg

In Japan, people are very good at beer hopping. Meaning they will stop at an establishment, order a couple of beers, and move on to the next establishment. Within one night it isn’t rare to visit 4 or 5 places for beers. After we did our shopping we did just that. We started our beer hopping festivities.

Snapseed (47).jpg

It was a rainy day so we decided to start with some minor sashimi and clams soup to warm up our engines. The clam soup hit the spot since we tried traveling through the rain without umbrellas.

Snapseed (48).jpg

After a couple of beers at our first establishment, we began walking through Shinjuku‘s commercial center in search of our next bar or restaurant.

Snapseed (44).jpg

When we walked by a huge sign that said Samurai Sushi, I was sold. By this time it was early afternoon so we decided to order a proper sashimi meal for lunch. I am a super big fan of bluefin tuna so that was my first bite of many.

Snapseed (41).jpg

The sashimi chefs were marvelous because every fish on our platter were sliced to perfection.

Snapseed (45).jpg

One of the dishes that stood out was a grilled shellfish with a fatty delicious taste.

Snapseed (46).jpg

Everything was written in Japanese so I decided to take a picture so I can ask a friend later what I ate. Another standout was the unique flavor of my puffer fish sake. I once had crab sake in Osaka so this was up there with that priceless experience.

Snapseed (43).jpg

When we finished lunch we decided to find another place to continue drinking beer. During the walk to our third and final restaurant, we ran across a shrine in the middle of the commercial center of Shinjuku. It caught me by surprise because I had been there countless times and never even notice it. After admiring the artistic craftsmanship and taking photos, we continued on our hunt for more beer.

Snapseed (37).jpg

As we walked a little bit more into the commercial center of Shinjuku, we found a lively oyster bar next to a busy movie theater. I’m also a big fan of oysters so naturally, in my beer field state, I had to order one of everything oyster.

Snapseed (39).jpg

It was eaten over time and with many beers in between but we managed to try all the raw oysters.

Snapseed (40).jpg

Then a few beers after that we managed to squeeze in their cooked oyster menu. Believe me, after our big lunch this was no small feat.

Snapseed (38).jpg

After another memorable day full of priceless memories in Shinjuku, we made it back to our small but comfortable hotel room. I had to get used to the size of a Tokyo room all over again.

Authored & Photographed by:

@stewsak

IMG_6871.PNG

I personally use The Kucoin Exchange to trade all my Steem & SBD. I also love my daily Kucoin Shares dividends.

Sign Up for Kucoin Here <----
IMG_6778.PNG
Sign Up for Kucoin Here <----

Please take a minute to listen to:

Shomori Pass "Rule the World" feat. Rakaa of Dilated Peoples & Shane Trace
Written by: @stewsak
Performed by: @shomoripass

Sort:  

Love Shinjuku! The shit I got up to out there. It was all 15-20 years ago, though, so I imagine it'll have changed a fair bit. Great pics. :)

Me and you both! LOL. The only thing that's changed are restaurants but the excitement remains the same. Thanks for stopping by and have an incredible week.

🎁 Dear @zool237,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Great Content! Thanks to you, my stomach begins to growl ;)

The food was pretty good and so was the beer, LOL. Thanks for coming by and have an amazing week,

During my stay in Japan, I passed through Shinjuku Station several times. I don't know how I ever found my way out, since it's essentially a massive maze, and I got lost every time.

Yeah, as soon as you step off the trains it's..."go , go ,go ,go ,go..." LOL. Thanks for coming by and have an outstanding week.

You, too! Enjoy your days, weeks, etc.

Sounds like a very cool place. The food looks amazing as well. The oysters look fantastic and those beers are huge. I'd probably be tipsy after drinking one of those. I like the picture of the buildings with Godzillas head peeking over one of them. That's pretty cool.

Posted using Partiko Android

The beers were as big as Godzilla! LOL. Thanks for coming by, glad you enjoyed the post and have a wonderful week,

I never heard about Shinjuku, so thanks for sharing! :)

It's an amazing, exciting and crazy place, all at the same time. LOL. Thanks for stopping by and have a lovely week.

You got a 36.09% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44