Update: The Life and Adventures of @stickycj

in #travel6 years ago

SPOILER ALERT: If you are following the vlog on @dtube then skip this read!

So, it has been a pretty wild ride. From the last time I wrote we were planning an escape to Bali. Actually, we were in Bali. And I fell in love so hard that I had decided then and there that we were going to head back to Australia, sell all of our belongings and move to Indonesia for good! Unfortunately, plans changed. Charlotte and I both had varying degrees of 'Bali Belly', the travellers reaction to unfamiliar environments and food. Char had it so severe (on our first wedding anniversary, might I add!) that we wouldn't be able to risk moving there indefinitely.
DSC_0327.JPG


So, what happened next?

We were still thoroughly sick of work. We had to go. Given the fact we had decided that we were running away to Bali, I couldn't bear the thought of going back to work for an undetermined amount of time with no end in sight. Upon return I gave my boss ~4 weeks notice.

alt




The next part of the story was a bit of a psychological experiment on myself. I wasn't sure if I wanted to visit New Zealand again as it was going to cost us a whole heap in flights. So we made the conscious decision to go straight to the UK with no stopovers.


My heart dropped.



Immediately after settling on that decision I realised it was not what I wanted. I simply had to return home and visit my family. We booked our flights and began selling our housewares. My Dad offered his home and my Mum offered her vehicle to use. Everything fell into place just nicely. We got to explore the North Island a fair bit and also catch up with our whole extended family! It really was fantastic. I am so glad we made the effort to visit.


The next leg.

We boarded our plane in Wellington and said "au revoir!" to our family who waved us off at the airport. A journey to the other side of the world seems like an incredible task prior to, and even more-so during the voyage. But once you are there a little over a day later, the general consensus is "what was I so worried about?"
DSC_0415.JPG


We had made it, and we were greeted by a flurry of waving relatives hands and our own loft bedroom in Char's parents house.

DSC_0872.JPG


We now reside in Newquay, Cornwall.

  • I am getting right into the technical analysis of cryptos again,
  • the vlog is still running,
  • I actually didn't plan on doing any 'manual labour work' but a friend I used to work for needed a hand clearing out a site he is finishing up with, so I'm getting a bit of crispy cash doing that.

Our Future.

The next few months have some exciting times lined up for us. In fact it starts from this weekend. We are being joined by @figgy and his girlfriend who have just bought a van in London and are travelling down here to explore the beautiful Cornish Coastline.


I am also planning a trip up to Kettering where my friend/technical analysis guru lives. We are going to hang out, explore the region up there and do some deep end trading.


There are two festivals I want to go to while we are in the UK. Boomtown


and [FloVibe](https://flovibe.com/)
But they are actually on the same weekend I've just seen! So we will have to decide on one or the other... Place your votes here.

Char has decided we need to get around the UK for some hiking trips. Namely the Lake District, and Mt Snowdon. This will be in preparation for our great hike across Northern Spain, El Camino de Santiago! So stay tuned for those.


Also, we are in need of a camper van. If anyone has any tips for our time in the UK leave us a comment. Thank you for taking the time to read the latest update.


p.s. I'm still wildly optimistic about our future.


PEACE

DSC_0180.JPG

@stickycj

Sort:  

Congratulations @stickycj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76