Notes from the Road- Differences from Downunder- Noms and Toilets.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Being back in the USA has made me notice differences that I would not have batted my eyes at before.


I noted many, many differences while I was over there, but the real shock is realizing how drastically it affects everyday life.

#1 What the hell is up with our toilets?

Not only are they unnecessarily elongated and strangely shaped, but they are low to the ground.

I feel like I am lowering myself into the bowels (ha!) of hell when I am attempting to take a seat on the throne. I never thought anything of them, having grown up with them my entire life. But spending six months in Australia made me look twice at our "dunny".

The round toilet seat definitely makes a lot more sense.

Also, there is SO much water in our bowls. Why do we need so much?! Are we just that greedy?

Do we think even our shits are so spectacular that we need to use enough water to hydrate a small village for flushing?!

It is so excessive.

#2 Everything is either too low or too high.


Why am I stooping to wash my hands?

Am I humbling myself before the soapy bubble gods?

Americans aren't notoriously short and yet our sinks and bar areas are ridiculously low. You wouldn't think an inch or two in height would be noticeable, but it makes a massive difference!

Having to practically double over while I cut onions is not only inconvenient but it makes you even more susceptible to tear juice assault.

Door knobs?

None of them seem to be the appropriate height, either. They are so, so low! It is very weird.

#3 Sugar, sugar err'where.


I have always heard that our food is notoriously sweet.

But I didn't realize to what extent until I returned.

Savory here isn't really savory. No matter what I put in my mouth, there is sugar in or around it.

Our bread tastes like cake. It even seems like the meat is sweet. I am not sure what is going on there, but it seems like even our cows have diabetes.

What the hell, Murica.

It is no wonder that I lost 35lbs while away.

And that was while eating nothing but junk food, ramen, and take away (like dominos pizza).

#4 Our ramen is sad.


The ramen selection in most shops in Australia isn't huge.

But the quality, the quality is where it is at.

Our 98 cent ramen contains what? Noodles and one sachet of crappy flavoring.

Theirs?

Noodles and 6-10 sachets of flavoring powder, oils, and veggies.


I don't know how I will go on with that amount of flavor being so readily accessible!

Noddle-noodley goodness in endless flavors. Now I am stuck with... beef.




stitchhead.png

Gif credit to giphy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99