Visiting one of the southernmost parts of the Finnish Archipelago! [Part 1]

in #travel6 years ago

Hey everyone,

As some of you may have noticed I have been a bit absent from Steemit for the last couple of days. I was actually visiting a friend of mine on one of the southernmost islands of Finland called "Utö". I guess you could call it a short vacation.

The island has a really interesting history and it's been inhabited since around the 17th century. Back then it was a key point for fishermen, pilots and the military. In later times the Finnish military has used the island up until the year 2005 when they officially left the island and it is now at the hands of the ~50 people that live there around the year.

Without going too much into the history of the island I mostly wanted to share some pictures I took there and share my experience of visiting this beautiful island in the middle of the sea.

You can go to the island by boat if you own one but otherwise you have to ride a "ferry" that goes there once a day. It takes about four and a half hours to get there and the ferry stops at 4 other islands on the way.

This is one of the islands we went by on our way to the final destination.

IMG_20180602_145903_01.jpg

This is the first island we passed on the way and it's a similar island where people have decided to build summer cottages and relax during the warm summer months. The islands are all pretty low except for one or two small hills here and there.

This is the second island we stopped by to pick up and drop off people.

IMG_20180602_161727.jpg

The other island was about two and a half hours into the trip and after we left this one it was finally time to go to Utö, the final island!

When we first arrived it was very sunny and you instantly notice the silence out there compared to at home. The only thing you can hear are the birds and the ocean. These are the first photos I took while on Utö and it's almost in the center of the island where most of the buildings are and they even have a small grocery store.

IMG_20180602_201607.jpg

IMG_20180602_201609.jpg

It was super relaxing once we arrived and started walking around. We went to my friends cabin first of all and dropped off all our stuff and then my friend showed me around a bit. I had told him that I wanted to try and take a lot of photos so he took me to the places he thought were best for that. Starting off with this small red house on the rocks.

IMG_20180602_201722.jpg

The island is very important for seafarers since it's next to one of the main fairways for maritime traffic so of course there's also a lighthouse on the island and a base for pilots (maritime pilots that is).

I kinda wanted to climb up on the lighthouse but unfortunately that is not allowed and I'm kind of scared of heights so we didn't do that. Probably a good idea since it was just a rusty ladder on the outside of it and it just all felt kinda dangerous.

This is the last photo I took on the first day on the island and it's from the south side. If you look closely at the image on the far left side there is an old ship that sunk a long time ago and you can still see parts of the hull.

IMG_20180602_211046.jpg

So that was my first day on Utö and I wanted to share it with you. I hope you like the pictures and if anyone happens to be on their way to Finland by boat then I definitely recommend you do a pit stop at this beautiful, relaxed island.

Hope everyone is having a good week so far and see you tomorrow for the second part of my trip where we went to see the other side of the island which has almost no buildings except for the bunkers and it's completely filled with birds at this time since it's hatching season for most birds. We also explored one of the bunkers and found something pretty creepy in the end of it. Stay tuned for more on that tomorrow!

Peace out, Strawhat

SteemitStrawhat.jpg

Sort:  

Nice pictures man! Nötö - Jurmo - Utö :) Beautiful islands and a part of Finland that really is worth visiting! And if you want a more extreme adventure, visit them during winter! The force of the nature and sea surrounding these island can be massive. I happened to find a picture I took a couple of years ago, something similar to one of your pics:
Utö.jpg

Thank you! I really enjoyed my trip there and will probably go again sometime. The winter out there must be amazing.

That's so cool :D what kind of camera do you use? The quality is really good.

Thanks for stopping by :)

:) this picture is taken with a Canon EOS 50D if I remember correctly. Please share if you move around this paradise again ;)

I love those cute Scandinavian style houses, with the triangular roofs and vertical stripes. We have seen these houses when we went to holiday in Norway, and we think it's pretty cool.

That's a pretty cool lighthouse there with the two colours - is there a particular reason why it's painted that way? Our Swedish Secretary just came back from a holiday in Sweden and she said it was 30degC there! Is it as hot in Finland as well?

Yeah I really liked how it looks as well. I am not sure if there is any particular reason for the colors on the lighthouse. I do however know that there is a small chapel inside of it which I though was a pretty interesting place for a religious spot.

It was very hot during the first days and I actually even got a bit burned! Took my first dip in the sea too and it was pretty warm already.

Thanks for stopping by!

Beautiful place to explore with you so nice this is thanks for sharing that experience with us all :D

Wow the images are nice! Hope you had a nice time

I already feel totally at peace by only looking at these photos. This is my kind of place. Thanks for sharing.

I am glad you liked it!

omg.......nice photograpy

Interesting place and nice photos.

So much fun,wow being on the water for more than four hours is a lot of time to me because am scared of water.Beautiful pictures.

It´s really so wonderfull!!! It is noted that it is a place full of tranquility and nature, great trip!

I will be attentive to the second part *---^

wonderful snaps...perfectly matching descriptions...

a great write up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27