By train through Europe - 8th August - Warsaw

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In the morning, we headed for Helsinki (or, like my mom likes to call it, “Sundown in Finnish”. That’s a joke only the German speakers among you will understand … and then you’ll facepalm because it’s really bad). We couldn’t stay there long, as we needed to check in at the airport. Getting from Finland to Poland by train is … tricky.

The plane we boarded was not what I had expected, after all, I was used to big planes that transport passengers for 2-3 hours, preferably to Greece. This one was a bit … smaller.

IMG_20180808_162336.jpgThe horror.

Start and travel wasn’t too bad, but the landing made me almost throw up. Almost being the important word here. But after surviving the landing, we weren’t done, as we hadn’t arrived in Warsaw, as intended, but in Riga. With 20 minutes to find our gate and immediately board, we didn’t get to see anything of the city, except for a bird’s eye perspective.

What we did see before landing, were the beaches along the coastline. Kilometers upon kilometers of sand … I noted it down as a possible place for a future vacation.

IMG_20180808_174136.jpgSo pretty>

In Warsaw, we arrived around 7 in the evening (with me first thinking it was already 8, because I had failed to take time zones into account) and were picked up by @soundworks !

He showed us around a bit.

IMG_20180808_201012.jpg

IMG_20180808_201851.jpg

IMG_20180808_202008.jpg

I must say, Warsaw isn’t what I expected, although to be fair, I couldn’t say what I expected. The atmosphere was, while typically “big city stressful”, still nice. Street musicians were at every corner, you left the sound of one song and were immediately surrounded by another one.

When we went out to eat, the difference in food prices between Scandinavia and Poland became obvious. While we had paid 16€ for a Burger in Finland, a burger about the same size cost about 5-6€. Money is weird.

Later that night, we took a train to go to @soundworks ‘ home, which was literally in the middle of nowhere. But the Polish countryside is very calm and beautiful, which allowed us to have a good night’s sleep (around 2 in the morning … technically, this already counts for the next post).

Sort:  

8th and 9th August - two days which I'm gonna remember foe a very very long time, it was really nice to meet you and to pick you up from the airport :)

Nice to hear it ^^ Looking forward to our next meeting ;)

You Ubered them around? XD That must have been a nice payout!

Just figured out there's no ferry from Finland to Poland. What a shame.

That's why we took the plane xD there apparently used to be one, but it was discontinued.

Just figured out there's
No ferry from Finland to
Poland. What a shame.

                 - isarmoewe


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Flagged for leaving Finland

Sorry for the flag though, I feel bad about it.

That's between you and your conscience xD

I got the joke though. I think. Well, it makes sense to me.

Hel- is the root meaning "sun," from "helios." Sink sounds like, well... sinking. And the "i" makes it sound Finnish? I dunno. Tell me how ridiculously wrong I am xD

Money is weird.

It certainly is. In Venezuela right now I'm told people are malnourished and it's really hard to get medicine because of the economy... and yet a couple of weeks ago I heard people were fueling up their cars for free, because the price of petrol is so low that with their redenominated currency there is literally no way to pay an amount that small.

Money is weird indeed.

It's easier than that.

Hell = "light"
Sinken = to sink (ok you got that one)

So: "The big thing that makes light is going down"

Oh, wow. What a great idea for a bench.

I know, right? There were several of those.

I love the style of that building/clocktower, can't think of what it technically is classified as but it's near the top of my list.

I may be crazy but flights like that are my favorite, I once flew from Denver to Colorado Springs in a jet-powered puddle jumper like that and couldn't help laughing when the turbulence got rough! It's like a roller coaster without rails!

I especially like hitting a pocket of air and dropping a couple hundred feed in a second or two! My chuckling was not apprecated by my seatmate who was whiteknuclking the ride! XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31