By train through Europe - 13th August - Sibiu

in #travel6 years ago

There are a few things that you don’t want happening at 2 am in the morning. I never thought “people violently knocking on my door and demanding my passport” would ever be something, I’d experience, so it never made the list for me.

Through sleepy eyes, I gave the (Hungarian I suppose) police guy our IDs, hoping he wouldn’t require me to get out of bed, as my pants were next to me. Oh boy, was I glad to be wearing a top at least.

After what seemed like an eternity, he handed our IDs back and closed the door. Slowly, I was drifting back to sleep.

Just to be awoken again, not an hour later. This time, it was either Romanian police or military, who also wanted to see our IDs! Can you people not coordinate with each other? This is a night train, passengers are sleeping.

At this moment, I really, really missed the German-French border, where nobody seems to give a fuck who enters or leaves. We had been asked for our IDs on every border, starting Denmark, but never had it been twice right after each other.

What the fuck, guys, what the fuck.

That was the time, when the guy in the room next to us started snoring.

I didn’t get much sleep that night, and my alarm rang 6:30 – local time. 5:30 for my body, as we had changed time zones again. And looking out of the window, we had also either gone 50 years back or forward.

IMG_20180813_064302.jpg

IMG_20180813_064939.jpg

I used the remaining hours until our arrival to Sibiu to catch up with my diary and worry about the question if we’d ever see our interrail passes again.

In Sibu, @alexdory picked us up by car and drove with us to a very nice hotel, where we dropped off our bags, and then proceeded to go and have lunch. I opted for something “traditional” that involved a lot of meat, while @reggaemuffin picked cevapcici and fried+breaded cheese.

IMG_20180813_130903.jpg

IMG_20180813_135915.jpg

IMG_20180813_134648.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised by the lemonade, which was widely available, that consisted of lemon juice and sugar, instead of being sprite or something similar. I liked it much better.

@alexdory then showed us around Sibiu, which is a small town with German history and pretty buildings.

2018-08-13 15.06.27.jpg

IMG_20180813_151112.jpgArt that was obviously created by one of @apsu's ancestors

IMG_20180813_160109.jpg

IMG_20180813_154631.jpg

After having seen most of it, we made a short trip to a nearby museum, which wasn’t like anything I had seen before. They didn’t showcase paintings or statues, but a village! According to @alexdory, the houses had been transported to this place from their original place. Overall, it looked a lot like Skyrim, but see for yourself!

IMG_20180813_170921.jpgI feel like there might be some bandits around

IMG_20180813_171042.jpg

IMG_20180813_172428.jpgSneaky donkey, ready to strike

IMG_20180813_174231.jpg

IMG_20180813_174502.jpgWhat a perfect duck

We called it a night rather early that day, as we hadn’t slept much the night before.

Sort:  

These places look awesome. If I would be traveling through Europe, I'd try to find places looking like this. Not something super flashy and fancy, but places with atmosphere.

So not places like the moon.

So that's the reason why steem isn't going to the moon

That donkey is an adventurer! He's hiding from getting an arrow in the knee.

You Central-European people don't even know what a non-Schengen border is like anymore :D
Again, I am sorry they were not able to synchronize. At the drive-in borders I've been to, they always group together.
It's very nice to remember your vacation and see what you made of it.
Romania is well known for its high incidence of sneaky donkey strikes :D

Hahaha, @alexdory, they have NO idea what it is like to wait in the border for hours, each and every time, no exceptions :D Standing in the "All passports" line (the longest and the slowest), while you watch "EU citizens" line just passing by with the speed of light :D

What you described @suesa that you had to give your IDs two times in a row in the middle of the night sounds great to me, because you didn't have to wait at the border nor leave the train/bus for detailed inspection :P

Jesus christ

One thing that is for sure when you travel the balkan is that you start to appreciate the EU again. Anyway, the worst borders are inside the EU. Schengen outer rim. Hungary-Romania is one, Croatia-Slovenia another. Often those countries have a history of enmity too, and then it get's really bad. (Fucking Slovenian border police)

The only thing I can't understand: "The EU passport line"? Doesn't really exist any more. It's all passports everywhere I went to.

That's interesting, last time I crossed the Serbia-Hungary, Serbia-Croatia and Croatia-Slovenia borders, there was a separate line for "EU/EEA/CH passports", but that was more than 2 years ago, so there's a possibility they removed it.

For Serbia-Croatia I can't say, I luckily didn't have to cross that one. ;-)
Hungary-Serbia there is the sign visible, but the electric sign above says "all passports".
Croatia-Slovenia have it, but I stood 1.5 hours before I even saw the sign, and also then I didn't have the impression that the line there was any faster. If you stand for 2 hrs, the difference of getting into this line and then saving maybe 3 min in the very end doesn't really count.^^

Did I say that I hate borders?

It still exists in some places. I can't remember where I've seen it this year. I would say Basel-Mulhouse and another place, possibly Amsterdam. The queue was inexistent there, while the All Passports was stacked. It consisted of self-scan and smile at the camera.

The Romanian borders by car are all OK. I've been through most, multiple times. There is no enmity as far as I can tell, but border guards are strict and unpleasant by definition. The general feeling towards Europeans is respect. But indeed, some strange individuals may exist.

But Croatia-Slovenia, I agree with you :) The only border where they were asking me things in Croatian and expecting a reply even though I told them I only speak English. He wouldn't give the car papers back until I answered him so I switched to Romanian and started asking him a series of questions. The border guards stopped, looked at me, gave me the papers and they let me go. I refuse to think they didn't know English or could understand Romanian.

Borders are stupid anyway

And looking out of the window, we had also either gone 50 years back or forward.

Luckily that you guys decided to avoid Serbia then :)

But yes, it looks pretty much the same as in the first two pictures...

That's just what our countries have on the back side. The railway system is bankrupt and it can't maintain all the infrastructure. This is why the whole country "seems" like it's forgotten. True for many countries. I explained this to them when they came :)

Yes you did :P I still needed to share my untainted impressions

I'm so not used to show my passport anymore.. unless I travel to non EU country of course :) BUT I live in Switzerland and even though it is in Schengen it's not in the EU so every time we drive somewhere by car we have to wait in front of the border just for them to show us with the movement of the hand that we can pass. It might take easily an hour..

What a great idea to travel by train? How many countries have you visited already and how many do you plan to visit?

I've only been to Bucharest but loved it! Romania is beautiful!

Thank you for sharing!

Interrail/Eurail is a neat thing, I can only recommend getting a ticket and traveling a bit.

If you check the first post in this series, you'll get a map of the countries we visited. Although (spoiler) Bulgaria and Serbia were cut out and replaced by Hungary.

If you decide to return give me or @steemromania a shout. We can guide you or even show you around!
I like Switzerland a lot, I am always including it in my trips, but it's damn expensive to do so :D
I know the borders you are talking about, I usually enter close to St.Gallen and sometimes the queue is long.

Cheers!

Thank you for the offer! I'm planning to go to Transylvania. I was always fascinated about this part of Romania..

That would be great to have somebody local to help me around! :)

It's crazy expensive but also beautiful.. if you happen to be here, let me know and we can meet up! We use the border close to Schaffhausen and it's crazy, especially around 5 - 6 PM when all Germans return home from their work day in Switzerland..

Sure thing, I just was there in June for a week or so, almost met with @sblue near Zug in the process.

Tell me if you decide to come here. I took @suesa through a little of Transylvania, but you need a week to see more. In two days you can't even get the vampires to bite.

I only know one Steemian based in Switzerland so thank you for introducing @sblue to me! :)

I would come for longer than two days.. what is the best season to visit?

Really!? Then I have to come for a week, lol! I can't wait to see the real vampires!! :D

I've given you a lot of great quality pictures. It's great to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13