Shenanigans at the Louvre and cute Chicks

in #travel6 years ago

Yesterday, I already presented you with some pictures I took in my Ever been so extra ...? post. In my opinion, that one was already borderline shitposting, but there were still pictures left I wanted to show. So this time, you get them on my ... shitposting account.

Of course, I didn't just go to Versailles, I also visited the Louvre. There, I took some amazing pictures, like the one of the painting across from the Mona Lisa.

DSC_0023.JPG

It's so big! How did the artist even paint it? Do you make a sketch and then start painting it in one corner, slowly creeping across the canvas, as if you're painting a floor? Did he put himself in some kind of sling hanging from the ceiling, hovering over the canvas lying on the floor? Did he use a ladder (which would be the boring explanation)?

No, I did not take a picture of the Mona Lisa. But in the same room, I found this guy:

DSC_0024.JPG

Look at this face. Like, really look at him. He's so proud of himself. So fucking proud. This painting is the "Portrait of Francis I", by Tizian Vecellio. To quote the web gallery of art:

Titian never saw Francis I, the king of France (1494—1547). He nonetheless succeeded in painting an impressive portrait of a ruler. The model for his portrait was a medal made by Benvenuto Cellini, showing the king in profile. The erect posture, broad torso and magnificent garments give the portrait a regal air. The flat hat with its delicate feathers, together with his fine hair, which is brushed across his face in a similarly feathery way, give a certain lightness to the otherwise very proud royal portrait.

Bold move, painting someone you've never seen. Can't say if he did a good job, as I wasn't alive in the 15th/16th century and thus never saw king Francis I either.

What I really liked was the painting of Jeanne D'Arc.

DSC_0025.JPG

Finally, some sensible female armor (although the waist seems a bit overly slim)! Properly covering everything, as nobody would want to go and fight with their tits out!

DSC_0026.JPG

Nevermind.

But the absolutely best thing I saw wasn't at the Louvre. Oh no. It was back at Versailles. It was ...

DSC_0077.JPG

DSC_0079.JPG

Adorable, fluffy baby birds! Eurasian coot (Fulica atra) chicks, to be precise. Although I somewhat hesitate to call them "cooties" ...

Language is weird.

I shouldn't have read the wikipedia article I linked though, because there they say that

Chick mortality occurs mainly due to starvation rather than predation. Most chicks died in the first 10 days after hatching, when they are most dependent on adults for food. Coots can be very brutal to their own young under pressure such as the lack of food. They will bite young that are begging for food and repeatedly do this until it stops begging and starves to death. If the begging continues, they may bite so hard that the chick is killed.

And you thought your parents are bad!

That's it, that was the rest of the pictures I wanted to show you, the rest is rather boring. For those who read this so far, have an actual photograph of me.




Images all taken by me, or containing me.

Sort:  

cute chicks! Oh cute chicks :(

:)
In a way she didn't lie, especially if you scroll down till the end.

C'mon, what did you expect :P

Properly covering everything, as nobody would want to go and fight with their tits out!

girl-2436645_1920.png

I absolutely think this is enough. You just can't understand the reasoning behind it.

[Link](https://deadmanstales.wordpress.com/tag/special-materials/)

Shitposting account? What are you talking about? This is the 2nd best channel. We got a new image of you :)

It's all about how you define quality xD

I agree! That last post about being extra was funny. And so is this! Guality it is: ching ching!

I never actually liked Mona Lisa either, and it was too crowded to get within 4 meters of it anyway, so I moved on. I enjoyed the hatchet-to-their-head paintings instead and the general feel of their respective ages art.
Louvre and Versailles are both places to lose yourself, you can easily spend a couple of days in each.
Don't forget to visit the gardens, they are in great shape and calm, especially if the air is hot and humid outside.
Where are you going next? :)

Ah, I'm actually already home again ^^ Rarely post pictures when I'm still out.

Yes, you need to use that time at the fullest. I also enjoy my time off! But with me, I don't even post when I return :D

Well, that's just bad economics! If you post about your travels, you get at least part of the money back :P

Did you setup the photo of you or was that at the photographers discression?

The glassy smooth water makes for a very regal look to the image. And the posture make me think of someone who is enjoying themselves but at the same time thinking through some sort of problem. And the sky is the perfect frame, espically with it reflected in the water and surrounding the gardens in the background.

I was instructed to pose ^^ But you're right, it's really great

Good, you are assiduous to the Museums, that is culture, I love your resenas of foot of page of each work and photography that you share.
You make it very funny, with that style, I would like to study art history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03