Penguins in Patagonia! - Puerto Madryn, Province of Chubut - Argentina

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Magellanic Penguins, Summer Penguins

0001POST.jpg

Sin título.png

Puerto Madryn, cataloged as the Gateway to the Valdés Peninsula, is not only an important tourist center for southern right whales and sea lions, but you can also observe peculiar birds that can’t fly and that you have surely imagined finding only on ice; especially between the months of September to March or what corresponds to the spring and summer in Argentina, you can see very closely colonies of penguins, yes, Penguins in summer !, Who would believe it ?, and is that from the province of Chubut to Tierra de Fuego in Argentina you can see these peculiar birds of majestic plumage unable to fly, while they come to reproduce and take care of their young on the maritime coast of the Patagonian region.

Sin título.png

Following the penguins

Sin título.png

Throughout the Patagonian coast you can find Magellanic penguins, from the provinces of Santa Cruz (remembering the imposing Perito Moreno glacier) and Chubut to Tierra del Fuego (remembering the so-called end of the world) and Río Negro, where there are excellent sightseeing tours to get to know these small and friendly animals.

-Penguin San Lorenzo Ranch-

Sin título.png

IMG_4540.JPG

g.jpg

Magallanic penguin

One of the best walks to make and therefore my first choice during my journey in search of penguins in the province of Chubut, is made in the well-known estancia San Lorenzo, the second best place to appreciate the penguin colonies thanks to the great number of specimens that are located in the area during part of spring and summer, really arrive many, being one of the largest and most careful faunal reserves in Argentina. Also from here, with luck as well as penguins you can get to see also Whales and Wolves or Sea Elephants. The place is really charming, once crossed the path that gives way to the room, the excitement is even greater when you are surprised by the fact that you can easily walk between them.
And yes, something I loved about the place is that it is allowed to walk near the Magellanic penguins and observe their behaviors, which of course accompanied by a good guide who explains us is really charming.

IMG_4631.JPG0014POST.jpg0008POST.jpg

Among the things I learned during this journey about these peculiar birds are:

Sin título.png

1. They are excellent swimmers but very bad to fly

They’re birds that can’t fly!

000000000.jpg

Sin título.png

2. They travel from the coasts of Brazil to the maritime coast of Patagonia only to reproduce and take care of their young, the tasks are for both parents, they take turns to hatch their eggs and look for food.

Zero feminism, we both work!

IMG_4572.JPGIMG_4574.JPGIMG_4575.JPG

Sin título.png

3. They only have a couple and usually return to the same place where they leave their nests every year.

Faithful to love and family

IMG_4625.JPGIMG_4571.JPGIMG_4611.JPG

Sin título.png

4. They are very tender animals, and because they are Argentina's fauna reserve and to avoid disturbing them, you can be very close to them but always avoiding physical contact, they can’t be touched, grabbed or loaded.

And if you really got the urge, buy a stuffed animal penguin that sell in the ranch, it must be almost the same.

IMG_4610.JPGIMG_4600.JPGIMG_4605.JPG

Sin título.png

5. They make very strong and peculiar sounds, as if they were angry.

I must confess that at first I was scared.

00000000000000000000000000.jpg

Sin título.png

-More Photos-

Sin título.png

0011POST.jpg0012POST.jpg0010POST.jpg0013POST.jpg

Panoramic views from the Estancia

0006POST.jpg0005POST.jpg0003POST.jpg0002POST.jpg

Sin título.png

IMG_4556.JPGIMG_4579.JPGIMG_4623.JPGIMG_4609.JPG

IMG_4594.JPG

IMG_4580.JPG

IMG_4630.JPGIMG_4627.JPGIMG_4560.JPG

IMG_4563.JPG

Sin título.png

You can’t miss out on this wonderful experience if you are traveling to Patagonia Argentina! That is why I am pleased to tell you about the wonderful Magellanic penguins that are really worth visiting outside of a zoo, inviting you one more time to enjoy the greatest pleasure of life according to Aristotle: "The search for knowledge" and what better way than by observation and experience, I invite you to travel, to know and be happy, Sweet dreams and Happy life!
Sin título.png

Loren Nunes

Photographs taken with my Canon Powershot sx30 IS camera on my last trip to Patagonia Argentina in 2012

Spanish version

Sort:  

I had to click on your post because I absolutely adore penguins. I dream of the day I can see one up close without a wall in between us! Great photos of the penguins! I didn't know there were penguins there in Patagonia, I will keep that in mind for my future travel plans!

I'm so glad that you like it my friend, I hope you can come some day to the Patagonia and enjoy it a lot, they are beautiful! ♥

Awesome post @sweetdreams, I love how it's so organized and informative!

Have you seen the Penguins in Tierra del Fuego? there's an ecological reserve there where you can spot King Penguins.

Ah btw, there are some codes you can add to make those small images clickable, so when one click it they enlarge.
Drop me a message on Steemit Travellers and I show you! Cheers and good weekend.

Thanks my friend I'm so glad that you like it.. In Tierra del Fuego I didn't have te oportunity to see them but the turist guide tell me that I could see penguins there, I need to confirmate it yet hahaha, and oh, thanks really, I don't know about the codes, I will to discord you hahaha, thanks again, have a nice weekend too!

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Wow, It's all a honor, of course yes, I loved it, thanks!! 😁

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Wow, so thanks again for this, It's a honor! ♥

Great Post! I hope one day you can see them for yourself.

Thanks my friend, I have to tell you that of course I saw them, these are phots taken by me :D

:'D sorry

I saw your post yesterday quickly. I'll take more time later.

Hahaha, don't care, I hope you really like it :D..


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I enjoyed this blog - I know these penguins only from the Zoo in Vienna.
On the other hand, having lived in Canada, I was able to see other amazing wildlife in nature (getting very close to bears, for example)

hey,
i just found your post here on steemit and i’m truly amazed by your style of writing and your breathtaking pictures. a friend of mine from bariloche has some work to do in puerto madryn, so i will travel there next weekend and i can’t wait to see the penguins :)
i hope that i can get some nice cottage like you.
if you miss argentina you can check out my blog, i made some 9 or 10 posts about my trips here :)

love
pauli

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74