“Wang Chao Muang”, Beautiful Thai Ancient Houses of Phatthalung’s ancient Rulers

in #travel6 years ago

Wang Chao Muang6.jpg

Wang Chao Muang is an important historical tourist attraction of Phatthalung.

Wang means palace (here, it means house of ruler)

Chao Muang means ruler

This place is divided into two groups of the houses of ancient rulers of Phatthalung in the past.

For the first group, the houses were made of woods. We call this group as "Wang Kao". ("Kao" means "old")

They were built beautifully in ancient Southern mixed with Central style. Really unique!

As you can see, the houses were raised up to high level and there are many windows around the houses. These can let the air flow through the house, so we will not feel too hot while staying in the house. The high roof design can also make the house be cooler.

Besides, this ancient house style can prevent us from dangerous animals or from thieves and can protect the flood as well.

This was wisdom of our ancestors. Unfortunately, we seldom see the ancient Thai house like these nowadays.

Wang Chao Muang5.jpg

For the second group, the houses were made of cement. We call this group as "Wang Mai". ("Mai" means "new")

They look more modern than the houses in the first group.

In the meantime, the architectures of their roofs are similar.

Wang Chao Muang1.jpg

Wang Chao Muang4.jpg

Last but not least, the area is very large!

Ah! As you may know, I especially love those green trees which are surrounding the houses.

Wang Chao Muang3.jpg

Wang Chao Muang.jpg

Wang Chao Muang2.jpg

Really wonderful, right? ;)

p.s.: These photos are from my sister.

Sort:  

Very lovely garden that the ancient rulers had, @tangmo. Neatly manicured :)

Many thanks for your nice comment! I'm glad you like the garden, like me! ;)

I forget sometimes how hot it must be in your area of the world, and the houses on stilts seems a great idea. Natural cooling. The cement house is probably cooler because of the stonework.
And of course, the trees, which we know we both love. Thanks for sharing some more history and architecture with us.

Thanks so much for your nice comment. Ah! Regarding weather in Thailand, you have to well prepare yourself if you visit us because it’s very very very hot here…. Ha ha!

In the meantime, I’m happy to know that you found the architecture of the houses interesting.

Have a beautiful day, GFF! ;)

I can see the differences between Wang Kao and Wang Mai, and they're both beautiful! Wang Kao reminds me of the huts we had here in the Philippies back then, they also had those pillars that raised the house from the ground. The space between the ground and the house were normally used to house chickens. Wide windows were also the thing so as to let fresh air into the house. These are lovely pictures, my friend! Kudos to your sister, and thank you for writing about this too. I've taken inspiration from you. Much love from the Philippines!

Thanks so much for your lovely comment. I'm happy to hear that you also have the houses similar like these in the past. Regarding the space between the ground and the house, we used for relaxing, having activities among our family, and "yes", we use to house chickens, too.

Warm hug from me, my dear friend! ;)

I love the old houses made of wood, raised up and with many windows. That is similar to my dream house that would have to be in the country or the mountains. And of course, with a lot of beautiful trees. : ) How are Thai houses built today?

Ah! First of all, it seems that you haven't posted for long time.... I'm looking forward to your post very soon..... ;)

Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm happy to hear that this is similar to your dream house. Yeah! We love same thing again, my dear sis! I like it in the mountain with a lot of beautiful trees, as you know.

Nowadays, Thai houses were built with cement and have totally different architectures from these. That's why I love the Thai old houses style more than the modern ones. ;)

Yes, I have been without internet service and that is why I haven't posted in a long time. Thanks for checking sis! : )

That is a shame that houses are now built with cement. I sure do miss the old wooden ones and I don't even live there. LOL! You make me wish that I could live there. : )

Ah! Yes, I already knew it from your post! I'm glad that you can start posting again....

Oh! I'm happy that I can make you a wish.... I myself love to live in the old wooden house, too. ;)

@tangmo, Wow...so impressive photo clicks. Great architecture style there. Around location very deserve to relaxation and be meditate. Superior location you found and then shared.

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad to know that you found the architecture of the houses interesting. Yeah! The surrounding area with green trees are very relaxing and be meditate indeed. ;)

Very interesting, I would love to see this place!

Thanks a lot for your nice comment and stopping by. I'm happy to hear that you would love to see this place.... ;)

These wooden houses "Wang Kao" look very reliable. This massive staircase gives the feeling of something important. Stone houses really seem more modern. But the architectural style they are very similar in appearance to each other. @tangmo, Thank you for telling us about it

Thanks so much for your nice comment and stopping by. I'm glad to know that you found those two styles of houses interesting. ;)

Wow this is very beautiful place and great photography
Thanks @tangmo
Have a great day

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you like the place and the photos!

Have a nice day, too! ;)

Nice and a wonderful place to be in to enjoy the moment thanks for sharing

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you found the place interesting. ;)

Wow! Pattalung has several old houses and a long history!! We should have these information in our history lessons for kids!!
I like the white buildings and the style remind me of buildings during King Rama 5th!

Very nice post!

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad to hear that you found the houses interesting. Regarding the white buildings, I'm not sure whether they were building during King Rama 5th or not.... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72