Into the worktex

in #travel5 years ago

Look into my eye, does it look like I give a %#&¤?

It has been one of those days, but rather than dwell on it, I thought I would continue my tradition of hotel posting while travel for work. I was going to head out with the camera tonight but, the weather turned into this:

Which was shot out the back of the taxi as my contact person and I headed back to the hotel. The streets were flooded and I didn't bring shoes, jacket, umbrella, swimsuit for this kind of weather.

Where am I? I will give you a hint based on a sign I saw today.

Fancy a beer @gtg? Although I claim false advertising with the sun in the logo.

I will give another.

Yep, back in Poland and so far, it hasn't been nearly as fun as the last time I was here for SteemFest3 - although I am not in Krakow either, I am in Lodz, a city about 150 kilometers from Warsaw and from the little I have seen from the taxi, while the buildings are quite rundown in some areas, it is quite beautiful. I am hoping that the weather and timing is better tomorrow so I can go for even a small walk along the streets to capture the feel of it.

It is nice to be in good hotels, but I am bot the kind of person to care much and would much rather be in a crappy hotel with time to see the sights than sleep on the finest thread count and be trapped inside.

It looks like this is going to be a "trapped inside" kinda trip, though soon we are going to head out somewhere for dinner, and hopefully it is better and cheaper than the meal I had last night. The hotel is in a fancy area (customer picked it) and the prices while not bad compared to Finland, are not great in Poland and the food was blah.

First world problems I know, but when in Rome.

Perhaps I should have done a @tasteem post instead for that meal ;D

The hotel itself is quite lovely inside and as I said yesterday, there is a lot of industrial-ness around the place,with bare concrete and exposed brick. It is an old converted textile factory and got renovate some decade ago.

The room has a lovely large, arched window in it and looks out to a shopping center I am hoping to visit tomorrow to try and find a token travel present for @smallsteps. I never really thought I would be travelling like this for work, let alone care about getting token travel gifts, but she really likes getting them, no matter how useless and cheap they are.

A couple months ago I went on a work trip and forgot to pack underwear, this time the thing I forgot was my toothbrush. Reception was able to rustle me up one someone had left behind, so it is okay.

You can see it in the picture above, strategically placed next to a gin and tonic I enjoyed while I was working last night in the lobby bar. These trips are a lot of work for the most part and there are unexpected surprises. Like today, I was giving technical admin training for software that the clients didn't have access to - F#N

But it is okay, because I got a cookie.

If you can't read the text, it is basically saying that if you don't want your room cleaned, hang this bag on the door and it will be filled with a surprise for helping reduce environmental impact. I do not know what they are expecting me to do in here but, I always like surprises which I assume are sweet food related so, chose to be environmentally friendly.

The cookie was pretty good.

Polish people are really nice and at least the younger ones have fantastic English skills which means that we can not only talk, but have some fun and joke around a great deal. It is much nicer (especially when they didn't have the tools they needed) to be able to laugh it off with some silly joke and move on.

The training issues today are all their side, so I am pretty much in the clear, regardless how it all goes however, I am going to spend the evening redesigning tomorrow's training session so that they can get at least something out of it. There are a few options available and while not perfect solutions, they are workarounds that can at least close some of the knowledge gaps the training was meant to fill.

Looks like a late night ahead... such a surprise.

I am still planning on adding another Steem post though tonight because I think that it is needed for me to clear my head after the day. As I have said before, writing these things out provides the mental space and energy to process whatever has been going on and hopefully even add something of interest to others for a change of pace.

Well, now it is off to dinner or drinks or something, and since I haven't eaten since breakfast 12 hours ago, I better make sure something goes into my stomach before a G&T.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

The camera quality gets me wishing I could take a plane to come taste it. Well nice hallway nonetheless, you still want a poem, I could serenade your hunger 😂😂😂

We ended up at a bar that had a closed kitchen and then moved onto another for burgers. Being Monday, there weren't many options so late at night. poems are food for the soul.. not the belly ;D

We ended up at a bar that had a closed kitchen and then moved onto another for burgers

Oh really? Hahaha well you wished it was a Saturday then, great time I reckon?

It was nice, the clients here are great and a lot of laughs and good convo. Normally I am locked away alone, so it was a nice change of pace.


This post is manually curated by @azizbd and received an upvote from @SchoolForSDG4
School For SDG4
A School For Social and Educational Development of Underprivileged Children

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Hotel looks lovely though...at least from a designers perspective

It is nice, and while I complain about silly things here and there, I am actually grateful that when I travel for work I am pretty well taken care of as these days are quite difficult and I think it would be worse if the hotel wasn't comfortable. I don't need luxury at all, but a clean and comfortable bed goes a long way.

I love the hotel though I am more into African walls and mosaics. You can't blame a soul for loving art. What I like is how you get to cruise through good looking hotels yet your simplicity and camera always wants you out in the streets taking good shots.

Anyway. What's the orange looking like edibles? Those I am not so sure I'd try but the greens next to them can be mine as we discuss the rest :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71