Not a World Cup prediction post

in #travel6 years ago

Since for some inexplicable reason I didn't make the cut to continue in the @blocktrades world cup predictions, I thought I would add some photos from my one and only trip to Russia. A few years ago my wife and I took a two hour train ride from Finland across the border to St Petersburg, a city with about 5 million inhabitants. That is the population of Finland. What we found was surprising to say the least.

 

It is a beautiful city that is reminiscent of Paris and while we were there a lot of the buildings were being restored. I would like to go back in a few years and so how much it has changed as those that were already done looked really really nice. But it wasn't this that surprised us, it was the people.

 

Firstly, despite the lack of English ability with some people, they really were friendly and went out of their way to help us whenever we needed. Really out of their way in some cases. One couple who could string a few dozen words together in English between them rode the subway with us past their station to make sure we found where we needed to go. Because of a tunnel closure, it was a bit of a mess so instead of trying to explain, they happily showed us the way. Not common in big cities I would say.

Another time, we were looking for a place to dance and found a 'private' salsa party at a dance school. We danced and talked with them there , they watched our style, made a few calls and then found us another party not too far away that was better suited. Perhaps that is just a thing with avid dancers though, there is a camaraderie of sorts between dancers.

 

The other thing that was very noticeable was the amount of people reading. I don't mean staring at screens, I mean reading actual books. On the trains, on the escalators, sitting in the parks, at cafes and wherever they had a spare moment, the number of people with a book in their hand rather than a phone was incredible. Definitely a rare sight these days.

We were also there during the height of the publicity surrounding their 'persecution' of homosexuals yet, this to was a surprise as at least in St Petersburg, gay couples obviously didn't feel the need to hide and gay clubs proudly had their flags flying. I can't speak for the entire country but at least in the case of this city, fakenews.

 

We were only there for 5 days but in that time we walked between 130-140 kilometers. It will change when we can eventually travel with our daughter but walking through a city is really the only way to get a feel for a place which brings me to the most surprising part of the trip. We felt safe. Really safe.

Besides a tail from a pickpocket unit, no matter where we went we felt safe enough to not be on guard every moment, even late at night with drunk crowds surrounding us. There is a difference in the feel of a crowd when they are angry or happy drunks and they definitely felt like happy drunks. They seemed to enjoy living their lives outside, socializing and laughing. It was refreshing.

I really miss traveling and experiencing new places and people and I am looking forward to a time where our daughter's allergies are in a state that allows us to be away from home for more than a night or two. I am hoping that she will have the opportunity to travel in her life if she chooses and get to know more than what she has always known. Travel is a luxury item though and will always take a backseat though just getting out of the home city can do wonders for the mind.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Love the photos, a bit depressing seeing that I am about to head off to my dead-end job now but hey, dems the breaks. I'll have to dig out some of my old Las Vegas photos and build a post around them.

I have the next week free now that my brother is coming to visit. I will still need to do a little work for my business though.

I'll have to dig out some of my old Las Vegas photos and build a post around them.

What is the point of taking photos if you never look back? I think looking back changes the memories too, something about the reflection on the experience.

Some lovely photo's today Taraz. Including the obligatory photo of your wife's backside :D

I am looking forward to a time where our daughter's allergies are in a state that allows us to be away from home for more than a night or two. I am hoping that she will have the opportunity to travel in her life if she chooses and get to know more than what she has always known.

I wish the same for your daughter and mine, and hope that the good work and time spent here will help make that happen.

Including the obligatory photo of your wife's backside :D

It is to increase viewership :D

It is hard to get away for sure and creates a lot of associated headaches but hey, that is parenting, there is always some challenge or another.

I agree, traveling can definitely do wonders for the mind :) I'm always doing my best to be able to travel more often, but I wish I had more opportunities to do so. However, reading your posts about traveling makes me feel like I've been in those places too, at least for a few moments :)

Traveling vicariously can be almost as good as actually going. They say there is a huge amount of value in planning a trip, even if it is never taken.

I agree completely that walking through the streets of a city are the best way to truly "feel" the city and get to know her people.

I love that everyone was reading books. To me, there is something so special about the smell and feel of a real book(usually the older the better).

I've traveled and lived in S. America and some of the islands, but I've always wanted to go to Europe. I have always been fascinated by the architecture and grandness of some of the old cities.

I have always been fascinated by the architecture and grandness of some of the old cities.

If you ever do make it, Barcelona is a must. It is a gorgeous city and the gothic quarter is incredible.

Your imagination of your daughter’s future may be a bit skewed by your personal life history. She may wish to live in Hawaii or Australia (somewhere where you can’t visit easily). Not predicting! Enjoy your brother’s visit!

Because of a tunnel closure, it was a bit of a mess so instead of trying to explain, they happily showed us the way. Not common in big cities I would say.
Very nice and kind people indeed. How are the finns compared to the russians?
On the trains, on the escalators, sitting in the parks, at cafes and wherever they had a spare moment, the number of people with a book in their hand rather than a phone was incredible. Definitely a rare sight these days.
This is unique and rare. Nowadays most people are live in front of their devices all day

I love these buildings
Great observation and overview
I would love to read another travel post from you

Travel is a luxury item though......

Traveling again is part of life and that's the major means to know about the hiding places of the world at most times adventurous.

But don't feel like leaving that vibrant girl alone is just too cool but I want you having her up even to travel with you.

Hi Taraz. It's amazing when you think that people go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is not something that happens everyday but when it does it leaves a mark on you. Maybe it was your smile and innocent face. I can understand the dancing as you shared something they loved. there is too much negativity around so it is refreshing to hear something like that.

Kindness is a virtue that is not easily found, so they were so lucky to meet people in a big city, willing to help. Very nice pictures and interesting story @tarazkp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37