Canals of Bruges, Belgium / Canales de Brujas, Bélgica

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

9e368af1-cab9-43a4-bb5c-668f564a948e.jpeg

7c0750b9-6ca3-41e6-bb79-0e1327fdbe90.jpeg

65c77698-59b2-4876-be59-b6a25e0f85aa.jpeg

ee87ec73-b8a5-4122-aa9b-a9a8c9227a84.jpeg

c2db5207-aef4-47a3-8f4c-badc04d4bfab.jpeg

1ef1e3c5-02c4-42ea-843c-fd132b609e7a.jpeg

2b11add5-8686-4776-9d73-9700671dccdf.jpeg


Bruges, like Amsterdam, is known as "the Venice of the North" because of its canals and the beauty of these. Although in Spanish it is translated as "Brujas" (witches), the origin of its name is Germanic "Bryggia" and means bridge. This city has the plural name for the number of bridges it has.

🧙‍♀️

Brujas, al igual que Ámsterdam, es conocida como "la Venecia del Norte" por sus canales y la belleza de estos. Aunque en español se traduce como Brujas, el origen de su nombre es germánico "Bryggia" y significa puente. Esta ciudad ostenta el nombre en plural por la cantidad de puentes que posee.

📸 Asus Z01HD


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Hola amiga :>)

Funny, I wanted to comment because of the title and Brujas meaning witches while bruggen is Dutch / Flemish for bridges,
which in its turn rhymes with witches...
but then I saw that you're story is exactly about that, haha

I have been in a handful of Belgian towns ( Gent, Antwerp(en), Bruxelles, the most known ones ). In fact, I considered living in Antwerpen ( back in 2008/ 2009 ). I had graduated from University, a year earlier and had no idea what to do with my life, where to go. I decided to try a Belgian town and stayed in a hostel for about 5 days. I had even brought an extremely heavy oldfashioned typewriter with me, to write in my room.

I wrote a lot but, after these 5 days, I felt that this town wasn't meant for me. A couple of months later, I decided to go to Spain for the second time, to improve my Spanish. I picked Granada and stayed there for 6 weeks. Afterwards, I went to Madrid, via Valencia. I stayed in Spain for 5 months and it was one of the most interesting times of my life, up to that point.

Before I forget, beautiful photos! I can see that your new camera is really pointing out your skills, that were already present when you were using your phone. Awesome!

Un abrazo,

Vincent

P.S. I never knew that Amsterdam was called 'The Venice of the North", eventhough I'm Dutch :>)

Hello friend!

Really the Spanish name is quite funny because it has nothing to do with the city. Imagine, that like you say, was the word more similar and certainly "puentes" is not a name too nice in Spanish.

Great story that of your search of the appropriate place for you. I am glad that finally you find it. Portugal is a good place!
Though, whenever you want to revisit Spain, you are invited to Malaga :)

Un fuerte abrazo Vincent

P.S: According to Wikipedia Amsterdam is called "The Venice of the North" and also has other nickname incomprehensible to my :D

Hi there,

I also prefer the word 'bruja' over 'puente', even though I prefer bridges over witches, haha! Bridges at least don't curse you ;>)

I am really looking forward to finally live in my new place, here in Portugal and I appreciate your invite to Malaga. Of course, you're also very welcome to stay at my place, whenever you're nearby.

Aqui tienes otro abrazo,

Vincent

P.S. That other nickname - that I am familiar with - is probably Mokum :>)

Hermosísimas las fotografías y muy bueno el dato del nombre que tiene los mismos orígenes del inglés... siempre me pregunté el significado, porque no me parecía muy adecuada la traducción... Otra vez mil gracias

Cierto! Brujas te hace pensar que hay alguna historia mística detrás pero, nada más lejos de la realidad. 😄

Me rompiste el corazón, ya podría a ver dicho que se ahogo alguna bruja jijiijij Espectaculares fotos. Un fuerte abrazo🤗

Ohhh! Lo siento! Yo también pensaba que tenía algo que ver con alguna mística historia pero nada más lejos de la realidad 😅. Un abrazo 🤗

Hermosas imagenes como todas las que logras captar en ese gran recorrido, que suerte tienes de admirar tan hermosos paisajes.. Saludos linda 😊

Lo reconozco! Soy una afortunada! No hay día que no me levante agradecida por ello 🙂

Saludos bonita!

Me gustaría algún visitar esa hermosa ciudad, agradecido de su post.

Por seguro te encantara. Saludos @jadnven

I've never been thee before but it looks like a perfect destination to relax.
Although, there is something weird to the whole scenery...and this is the absence of...balconies.
You see, here in Greece every house has at least two of them and actually people make them a s big as possible, to enjoy their friends company during hot nights such as these...

But I assume that this is something ordinary there.
Really nice photos @tashidelek!

Good appreciation! I do not remember any large balcony the Bruges, all were small and glazed but most of the houses, especially the most modern, had large windows that you could almost confuse with shop windows, many of them were carefully decorated. In my hometown there is also a habit of having a good time on the balcony when it is hot and, if this is not available, people usually take chairs to the street to take advantage of the evening breeze. Bruges is full of fantastic parks crossed by canals and surrounded by nature, I think that for its inhabitants it is their most usual option.

Thank you for this great comment @mindtrap! 🙂

I love your pictures, they are amazing. Keep on going🤗

Vivir en una ciudad asi con esos canales debe ser maravilloso y disfrutar de tanta belleza natural que más le podemos pedir a la vida. Canals of Bruges, Belgium @tashidelek

Muy buenas fotos, en ellas se pueden observar lo hermosa que es la ciudad ;) saludos @tashidelek un fuerte abrazo

Gracias bonita. Un fuerte abrazo también para ti.

Que envidia vivir del otro lado del mundo, también hay buenos sitios para pasear, pero me gusta mas por donde tu vas, saludos. 😁

Siempre nos llama la atención lo que no tenemos a nuestra disposición. Pero estoy segura que hay lugares hermosos en todas partes. Saludos @fandelkefir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97