Whatever Dood! May 2018

in #travel6 years ago

What is up everyone?

It's the middle of May and I just realized I haven't done a whatever Dood yet for this month. So what's up with The Dood this month? I've actually got a lot going on. I've spent the last several weeks doing research and a lot of it. Being in crypto I'm used to doing research, but my research has been on motorcycles, and travel. Thank God the warmer weather has finally arrived. Although I've been trading a bit, my thoughts have been on summer travels, and winding country backroads.

My travel plans have evolved considerably. What started as a simple journey to ride the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) at the end of the summer has morphed into a whole different journey. Although the PCH is still the final goal, I've decided to ride mostly backroads throughout the country checking out Colorado, and Utah along the way. I had seen a video on dual sport riding in Colorado and Utah and it changed my entire perspective on the trip! I stopped shopping around for a cruiser and began looking for a dual sport that would be capable of the journey.

I've spent the last several weeks learning about dual sports, checking out various models, and debating between a big engine dual sport or a small displacement engine that would be easier to handle on back country dirt roads. I'm happy to announce I decided on a small displacement engine, and I ordered a new dual sport motorcycle from a manufacturer in California, and it should be arriving this weekend! I'll make sure to post images and thoughts when it arrives!

Frankly, shopping for a motorcycle was exhausting. I'm happy it's over. I almost ended up buying a cruiser, but the guy that was setting up the financing really screwed up the deal. I'll post more on that another time maybe. So motorcycle shopping is over, now I've been researching how to properly outfit a motorcycle for a cross country trip, the gear I'll need, and basic navigation. I've been learning a lot about GPS, and not wanting to buy an expensive motorcycle GPS, I learned how to convert an old smartphone into a really kick ass GPS system.

My original plan was no maps or GPS, but traveling backroads, and searching out different scenic roads in the US made this a necessity. I took an old Samsung Stratosphere I had, loaded it with GPS coordinates and GPX files and can now map out courses through the wilderness. I am planning on a little off road riding too. I'm so excited!

I've been trying to stay cheap yet functional. So far it seems to of worked out pretty well. I have most of my camping gear, a motorcycle on its way, and navigation out of the way. There's still a few more things I need, but I should be able to start making some test runs around NY by June. Then I'll be able to figure out what I might need, and what might be overkill. Traveling lighter on a motorcycle is better.

I was happy to discover that the new BelaCam software should be out by the time I take my trip. I'll probably be documenting everything on BelaCam, here on Steemit, and if I get a GoPro I'll be uploading my videos to Dtube as well. I'm really loving all these crypto based social media sites. Slowly but surely I'm looking to completely ween myself off, Twitter, and Google plus. I've been hearing rumors about blockchain based search engine protocols and would love to see a good, decentralized Google competitor!

I've got my new phone, love the camera. It should work out pretty good for the trip. I've been snapping a lot of images with it, and I'm pretty happy with my choice. I ordered a motorcycle off the internet from a small startup, based on reviews I read. I'm hoping I'll be as happy with my choice in motorcycle as I am with my choice of phone.

As far as crypto goes, I've been taking things slowly. I've been filling some bags with some coins I think are undervalued currently. I haven't been selling a lot. I got lucky and caught a couple bottoms and sold half on the double ups. I overbought with the hope that I could keep a nice bag long term if my target hit! So happy when that falls into place. Nobody knows which way these coins will go, but if you learn basic TA it can really help push the odds in your favor. These markets are cyclical, and targets can be easy to predict. Can't win them all though and sometimes markets go the other way!

In the meantime I'm buying dips and hodling. I think a lot of coins are currently undervalued, and have been waiting to take profits on more than a few. Some coins i'm liking lately; ARK, LBC, DRGN, TRX, ONION, NCASH, PBL, POE. There are a lot of interesting projects out there right now to research.

My only advice for traders right now is to DYOR and look for strong projects with interesting use cases. There's a lot of positive mainstream press about cryptocurrency lately, and I think the future is going to be bright for us all! This industry is still in its infancy, and if you ask me we haven't even scratched the surface of what this technology can do!

Well, I think I've yammered on enough! Thanks for reading and taking an interest in The Dood. Now that I've gotten motorcycle shopping out of the way, I should be back to blogging more, both about crypto and travel. Oh, I almost forgot to mention... I've been considering a travel blog too. So that might be in the future soon. Lots happening!

Thanks so much for reading, thanks for the support, and happy trails and happy trading everyone!

I'll leave you with some images off the new phone.

rose_mom.jpeg

Mothers Day Rose

NiagarFallsSkyLine.jpeg

Niagara Falls Skyline... Taken at dusk on an after dinner ride.

LakeErie.jpeg

Some of the old Lake Erie. Grain Mill outside of Buffalo NY.

Sort:  

Cant believe youre gunna make us wait to see what you bought... i've seen people travel for the weekend with massive cruisers and trailers full of stuff and still stay in hotels. I also saw a guy ride from California to Alaska on a chinese made scooter doing 30 the whole way... so gear is kinda relative to your needs...

I'm going to try and camp as much as possible. As far as gear is concerned, I'm trying to figure out the minimum amount required. Most of the research I've done,most people seem to agree that the less the better. Try to be as comfortable as possible but think minimalist. So that's kind of where I'm at right now.

You will enjoy it a lot more with that approach. I find if you look for Hiking gear as opposed to camping gear, you will find much more minimalist lightweight gear. High density sleeping bags and such.

Yes, that's exactly what I started buying. Just about everything is hiking gear. My tent is a little larger than I would of wanted, but should be fine. Everything else I could take on a hiking trip if I wanted to. Most of my kit would fit into a backpack.

Fuck yes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28