First Time Sky Tram Ride Where I Said Yes To My Best Friend Once Again

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hi There Steemians!

Wow, I miss sharing things with you. Sure, sure, I do post daily for my progress in learning how to play ukulele, and occasionally I would post Actifit post and also recipes, but, not much sharing on anything else. Are you like me? So much to share, so little time?

So let me share you our last road trip that took place back in April.

We went to climb the Whistlers! (I posted a #seven77 video of me doing push-ups on the top of the mountain in fact lol). Well, not really climbing I guess. We took a sky tram and holy cow, that was a bit scary. I do not like high tall building, places, bridges, and whatnot. I cannot fly. Should something happen, I won't be able to safe myself and my loved ones, right, so I do not really like activities that include heights, unless I was Captain Marvel or maybe Supergirl, you know.

This Whistler is Jasper Whistlers, different kind of Whistler from the world known Whistler of BC, a top notch skiing resort, but it's the only mountain top in Jasper National Park that one can climb and has a station where one can make a stop, dine and enjoy the scenery at the restaurant, shop til they drop at the gift shop. And since Jasper is the largest mountain in Jasper National Park, Jasper Whistlers is also quite famous and as awesome as THAT Whistler.

The ride to the top took at least 7 minutes one way and the view is not just breathtaking but also dead scary. As it was still Spring, even some of the evergreen still looked dead, brown, and reddish, which means they were dry evergreens, the ones that can catch and start forest fire in Summer time. We saw frozen lakes, town of Jasper, and surrounding Rocky Mountains. It was totally superb. However, since they also allowed dogs on the sky tram, kids who are scared of dogs, were a bit panicking, including my babe, who were charged by dogs before, traumatic experience, so the ride became slightly uncomfy too. Quite a few times we could not really enjoy the scenery during the ride since we had to calm down my littlest, had to really watch the dog, and whatnot lol I was imagining, yeah, that is me, imagining things always, should something bad happen in the tram, where dogs turn wild and start attacking the hoomans inside. Wowzer, would make a nice horror movie :-/...news...or lawsuit, if anyone come out alive that is lol


A short video of the ride, going up

For four of us, it costed us close to $125 for the ride to go up and down. Learning from experience, next time should we return again, definitely pack a binoculars, so one can see more of the views below and far.

As this was a surprise trip, I did not anticipate the coldness, so regardless Spring, even when you have packed toques and gloves, wear appropriate jacket, shawl, and whatnot. And since it's The Rockies, the snow is forever there, also have to think of appropriate shoes. It was cold up there as we were really high up.


Taken from downtown Jasper


Zoomed in as close as the camera allowed me

While the experience is once a lifetime, the view is wonderful, the ride is something, it's not always dandy apparently when you climb or on the snowy Rockies, of course, which I also did not think of that! Accidents and incidents can happen. From the station where visitors could stay and go about their thing, you can still walk/climb to the peak of the mountain, which would take about 10-15 minutes climb. We wanted to, but with fog and kids and not enough clothing, I chickened out mostly after reading this following sign, so we did not hike more.

The last time we went to Jasper National Park was 7-8 years ago. So this "returning" trip was special to us, because this time we have our youngest son with us. Before we only went the three of us, now we returned with one more family member. So, so special. To top that, we never went on to Jasper Whistler before nor on a skytram before. More over, once we had fun for awhile on the mountain, waited out the fog to go away, we decided to take family picture. My husband set up the camera while I got ready to pose with the kids. We hurried him to come to us, and he came and down on his knee. I at first thought what the EFFF! What are you doing, hurry the camera gonna take the pic soon, not realizing he had a ring on his hand hahahaha

My cheesy...cough...romantic I mean, husband, Steemians.

We did go to Jasper Whistler in April, a few days away from our wedding anniversary. I suspected that our "prompt" trip did have something to do with our anniversary but I totally did not suspect him to do this. Bending on the knee, with a ring hahahaha 2 kids later hahahaha

Unfortunately, the camera did not catch the theatrics! He set up the timer too short. No pic of him on his knee lol No pics no probs, memories live. But damn, if only he set up to record video instead no? We would return to the moment for years to come ;-)

So yeah, our first sky tram ride experience was super duper perfect even with the dogs because it ended in such a wonderful way, with my husband proposing to me once again :)

Totally recommending everyone visiting Jasper National Park to take the sky tram and climb Jasper Whistlers and should you are ready to put a ring on it, do it up there. Sooooooo nice!

And oh, let me share you the video of the push-ups too. I know am silly, but hey, am a fun person lol. This was taken right after the proposal :)

Thanks for looking!

!steemitworldmap 52.8266658 lat -118.140977 long Sky Tram To Jasper Whistlers Peak d3scr


Vote Witnesses!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=1


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekitchenfairy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=first-time-sky-tram-ride-where-i-said-yes-to-my-best-friend-once-again


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

So romantic! :) Beautiful ride and sweet surprise from your hubby, a great thing for the kiddos to see. Those mountains look amazing @thekitchenfairy, thanks for sharing!

thanks for reading!

I always wanted to ride in one of those lol

Posted using Partiko Android

do it! even only for once in a lifetime, so you would know (how scary it can feel up there lol) :D

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Daily Travel Digest #532.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by whosthekitchenfairy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11