South Australian Yamaha MT Owners Ride

in #travel5 years ago

I was super stoked for today as this was my first ride with a group of motorbike enthusiasts, not to mention fellow Yahama owners.
I had to set the alarm for 7am so I could get there in time. I really wasn't feeling it first thing in the morning after a tough training session the night before, but thought I would get a coffee into me as I knew I would feel much better after a coffee.

So I made my way down to Yamaha World and when I got there it was way better than I was expecting, there were bikes everywhere. Even more bikes turned up after I took this photo, there would have been about 50 of us at least. That's my bike second one in on the right and I gave it a good old clean the day before so there is barely a spec of dust on it :)


IMG_0135.JPG
 
IMG_0136.JPG
 
IMG_0137.JPG

After we mingles for a bit we set off on our journey.
If anyone is interested I'm pretty sure this is the exact run we did.
It's hard to say exactly the way as I was just following the pack lol, and I have never done the run we did today.
The run through coromandel valley was amazing, in fact the whole ride was :)
The route we took had looks of windy sharp corners so you could have some fun on the bike and really throw it around. Definitely one of the best rides I have ever been on.
The weather was perfect as is wasn't too hot but warm enough to make for a really enjoyable ride. It was forecast to rain here and there but we didn't feel a drop.
I have to admit it was a relief to finally arrive at Goolwa, after training my legs in the gym the night before they were aching from not being able to stretch them.
Here is a panoramic of the river.


IMG_0140.JPG
 
IMG_0141.JPG
 
IMG_0143.JPG

I always love going back to the river.
When I was a kid we lived out to the north of Renmark, and we were fairly close to the river.
I have always loved the history of the river and love seeing the bridges, ferries and pumping stations. There is something special about the river which I can't describe.
It's not like it used to be, but back in the old days the river used to flood every year and there would be water everywhere. Growing up as a kid there was always something that excited me when the river would flood.
I have always loved the museums and heritage that the river land brings, the old farm machinery and history of bad floods the river brought are so intriguing.
Here is a picture of an old barge from many years ago which now serves as nothing more than a monument to times gone by.


IMG_0144.JPG

It's a nice place Goolwa and a great spot to stop off and recuperate after the long ride, you always have to stand around for a bit after a long ride like this as my bum cheeks felt like they were going to drop off.
It was good chatting with one of the guys there, he said he really loves the sounds of my bike and thought it sounded amazing while he was riding behind me for a while. That's some serious brownie points right there lol, and I said yeah and I haven't removed the silencer from the exhaust yet lol.
Here we all are down at Goolwa.


IMG_0145.JPG

On the way home there was an event at Macclesfield so I stopped of and grabbed myself a sausage and bread (the Australian taco lol).
There was a band playing, well two young girls but they were really good. I couldn't see anything obvious stating there band name but I have no doubt I will hear them again.
There were some really nice holdens at the event too, so I couldn't help myself and took a few more photos of them.
Last time I checked the white car which is the HK GTS Monaro was going for over $120, 000 so they are not cheap that's for sure. They are real classic muscle car icons.


IMG_0146.JPG
 
IMG_0147.JPG
 
IMG_0148.JPG
 
IMG_0150.JPG
 
IMG_0152.JPG

Then to finish off the day I came back to Adelaide through Aldgate and Stirling which is an absolutely beautiful part of Adelaide.
It's such a nice run through there with the trees and winding roads.
I did get video of the ride, so at some point in the next week I will get some of it up on Dtube :)

Sort:  

Dude. Great post and a lovely day for it.
I was always amazed, riding through the hills; how I'd suddenly hit a really cold depression and climb out of it almost instantly.
Cars don't let you feel those sudden changes.
There's just something about leaning into a corner.

thanks m8 yeah it was an amazing day for it.
That's one of the things I love most about riding, feeling the temperature swings and the smells of the country side.
You just don't experience the smell of the country in a car, usually car air freshener over powers it.
Having the wind in your face is amazing too, nothing beats riding :)

the Australian taco...

lol I've never heard that before, love it

Haha yeah I saw it as a bumper sticker

You got a 2.98% upvote from @booster courtesy of @thevillan!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (13.51%)
Summoned by @thevillan
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75