3 batteries, 13 attempts and 1 perfect shot. Mavic Pro Drone. (video)

in #travel6 years ago

In some previous posts, I had shared drone videos and photos of coastal regions across the UK, Ogmore-by-Sea, The Jurassic coast and parts of Cornwall.

With the intention to try/fly something new, I focused on the flight path and camera angle- one long sweeping shot.

All settings on my drone have been 'dumbed' down. This allows for much slower reactions or flight responses, instead of the drone stopping instantly within a 2 meter brake zone, it cane take up to 10 meters. Under these settings the camera gimbal now takes 20 seconds to complete a full vertical pan, rather than a snappy 2-3 seconds. As a result, all movements- whether it be camera angles or flight direction will be perfectly smooth.

I thought it would be easier but of course it never is. For the 2 shots in the video I had used almost 3 full batteries to get that first shot perfect. Either the direction of flight was slightly off, The horizon ending up to high or too low or accidentally flying left when I wanted right or right when I wanted left!

Screenshots capture some of the better angles from the clip.

Screenshot (407)-1.jpg

Screenshot (409)-3.jpg

Some of the local roads were closed of to public traffic. Footpaths were an alternative and led up and over the headland or down to the beach.

Screenshot (408)-2.jpg

Walking through the sand dunes was great- conservation signs were posted often stating not to litter and keep to the footpaths. Sand was clean and flora and fauna seemed to flourish.

20170713_131953.jpg

20170713_132436.jpg

By the time I shot the video, or managed to get the clip I wanted, the sun was low and he clouds hide the sunshine.

If you liked my post and video, please don't forget to follow and upvote for more :)

Sort:  

Awesome work!

Thanks for taking a look :)

pocketsend:101@thinkit, have fun!

Successful Send of 101
Sending Account: cron
Receiving Account: thinkit
New sending account balance: 981053
New receiving account balance: 100
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: bd871ceb856880ae3531ab263e63d5b2c5114b6c
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun, view my source confirmer code here. Don't know what a POCKET Token is? Here is a link to the official announcement post.

Amazing place ;) Need to visit ;)

It was a nice walk- check it out if you can

Great shots,
I would love to have one of these things. It's a shame they are so expensive.

DJI Spark is cheap and still really good- even smaller too- could fit in your pocket and has similar features

Great footage yet again @thinkint, how much would a spark set me back? And is it heavy enough not to get chucked around by the wind?

I think is a Spark is 17k baht now- the wind- im not sure- I the Mavic can stand some pretty strong wind conditions

I best start saving my pennies, how long do usually spend on editting on average?

definately o my list of gadgets to get nice pictures well taken

The joystick movements are tricky in long sweeping shots, 3 things all happening at once- gimbal tilt, drone line of direction and drone rotation.

The drones are great, and thanks

Nice shot! I love it.

is the magic drone worth buying if you are new to drones and want to take amazing pictures?

Yeah, its easy to fly, practice in open areas, fly above trees and cables and you'll be fine. For a little cheaper is the DJI Spark

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

Thank you for helping- will check your posts out

pleasant trip

Thanks for looking :)

Great work. The video was very nice. I am sure that you had great time.

Thanks- glad you watched it :)

Nice!
Will be great if you can follow me as well, as I'll start writing about my travels soon.
Thanks

thanks, will check out your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11