Hawaii - The Land of Spam?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

I love instant food like instant noodles, instant cup soups, canned food, and the list goes on. Before having a family, I can’t cook a thing so these instant meals were my surviving tools and also they taste nice. And due to my old habits, when I am having a meal like hot pot, I will include some spam on the side as probably that's the only time I will open a can of spam.

I’ve tried different spams from various countries and they all taste similar with extra local flavours. But the one place I visited, there seems to be spam around me, literally everywhere around me. And this magical place is at Hawaii. Apart from the delicious Poke they have, their creativity with spam is the next level. Don’t know what I mean, let me show you below.

You can find spam in Australia but only original flavour, 50% less salt or a smoked flavour. But look at the variety of flavours available at the supermarket. Spam heaven! Even the colours look fabulous.

spam

Then we found something so hectic (it's like the ultimate) at many stores and these are Spam Sushi or they call it Musubi. It's like a block of rice topped with a slice of spam. Some places add additional ingredients like avocados, egg etc. It's like the ultimate snack but at a fraction of the price. The Japanese Musubi place we found at Waikiki has a line out the door as people waited to buy their lunch. I’m not exaggerating here, these Musubi tastes great. The only thing I can think of which can make it better is make the spam thicker because many of them slice them too thin to save costs.

IMG_9716

IMG_7957 (1)

So on the way, you think that you can avoid spam. Wrong! At the airport, you can get a breakfast box with comes with rice, egg, and spam. Who eats spam for breakfast? I guess the Hawaiian people do. I final note is the sometimes, Macdonalds serves spam too in their breakfast menu depending on their promotional menu. The one we had (which I forgot to take a picture of) was a breakfast with egg, spam, rice, and a hash brown. They even gave me soy sauce for the rice just in case I needed it. If you are a spam fan, Hawaii is definitely the place for you.

IMG_9855.JPG

happywalk02.gif

animation by @catwomanteresa

Travelgirl pic.jpeg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

謝謝你們收看。 請你們繼續跟隨,留言和投我一票 . 我會分享更多遊記和其他有趣的 blog.

All photos & videos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted. 每張相片和視頻都是我們自己拍的

Below are some of my previous posts:

Cook a Meal For Under $15 with Travelgirl [EP 2]

What I miss from Japan ... Indoor Bathroom Dryer

Winners for Travelgirl’s Steem Monsters Giveaway! | Travelgirl Steem Monsters 大贈送活動結果

Planning For Our Europe Trip

Lets Try a Japanese Clear Coke with Travelgirl

Cook a Meal For Under $15 with Travelgirl [EP 1]

Visiting The Berlin Wall @ Berlin, Germany

Travelgirl's Diary [26] - Travelgirl 的日記 [26] - Summer Temperature in Spring?

Food Sharing #57 - Sushi Train Lunch at Sushi Hon @ Sydney, Australia

Opening Steem Monsters Packs with Travelgirl + Giveaway!

Traveling the World #122 (Europe Series) - A Day Out at The Nürburgring @ Nürburg, Germany

Adding New Lego to Our Current Collection with Travelgirl

Travelgirl’s Giveaway! Steem Monsters on Kickstarters! | Travelgirl 大贈送! Steem Monsters 在 Kickstarter 的項目,不要錯過!

Travelgirl’s Hobby - Adult Colouring Books

Road to Steemfest | Get to Know Travelgirl - Three fun facts about me

Books to Bring Onto the Plane for Kids with Travelgirl

Visit Macao - Taste of Macao Food Trucks in Sydney

Travelgirl's Diary [25] - Travelgirl 的日記 [25] - Crappy Start to the Week

Keeping a Bullet Journal with Travelgirl

Opening Steem Monsters Packs with Travelgirl + Giveaway!

Tickets Booked! Time to Plan For The Trip!

Explore a Beautiful Garden with @Travelgirl + Steem Monsters Booster Pack Giveaway Round 2!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://travelgirl.online/2018/09/17/hawaii-the-land-of-spam/

Sort:  

Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence.

this is deep. :o

Posted using Partiko Android

Woah! We only have the original spam here. I never thought they had a lot of different varities of spam. Spamhaven indeed! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

tell me about it right - they are literally the Spamhaven as you put it.

你那里天气如何?你好!家中可愛的寵物照想要跟大家分享嗎?或是出去玩拍到一些可愛的動物,別忘了到@dpet分享,可以得到@dpet的獎勵喔!假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

Wow! First of all, I've never had Spam, nor have I ever heard it so avidly promoted. Reading your post has made me want to try it. I always thought it was something really gross; and I am a fan of instant foods(although I try not to be). Secondly, I had no idea of how many flavors of Spam existed. I didn't even know there was flavored Spam!! I guess I'm not livin' right

Hahah you should go and can and try it yourself :)

Haha I wish! Maybe someday

Funny how it differs across countries. Apparently is some sort if delicacy in Korea and an important feature in food gift baskets over the new year. Whereas Taiwanese don't eat them, or any kind of tinned ham.

Yah I read about the Korean culture too. I don’t like the Korean ham Cos it’s a bit Smokey but my other half likes it haha. Oooo interesting Taiwanese don’t eat them

Congratulations @travelgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 50.83% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @travelgirl!

Hi @travelgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.827 which ranks you at #1236 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1239).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 441 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

最后的饭饭看起来有点单调,还是那些寿司看起来可口呐~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85