Day Trip to Ventura

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

IMG_2537.jpeg

I don't drive so I took the opportunity to go with my friends Randy and Diana when they so kindly invited me to accompany them to the beach. It was an adventure; I have never been to Ventura. The drive there was lovely and surprising.

IMG_2469.jpeg

IMG_2475.jpeg

IMG_2516.jpeg

We stopped at Spencer Makenzie's to try their world famous fish tacos before heading to the beach.

IMG_2480.jpeg

IMG_2485.jpeg

We set up our chairs by the water and sat back and enjoyed the cool air.

IMG_2501.jpeg

I took to sketching while my friends rested; then we walked the beach to look for stones.

IMG_2503.jpeg

They took me for coffee and gave me the grand tour of downtown Ventura; complete with driving me down a steep road in town very fast. "Like a roller coaster" they tell me. I have to admit I was surprised how much I took to it; with it's old buildings and relaxed yet vibrant energy. I loved visiting the mission and it's beautiful grounds. It reminded me of some of the European and Mexican towns I would like to visit some day.

IMG_2557.jpeg

IMG_2562.jpeg

IMG_2577.jpeg

IMG_2565.jpeg

IMG_2574.jpeg

We stopped at a coffee and gelato shop then did window shopping at the many shops that were now closed.

IMG_2523.jpeg

IMG_2541.jpeg

IMG_2595.jpeg

IMG_2551.jpeg

IMG_2601.jpeg

IMG_2615.jpeg

IMG_2581.jpeg

When it got dark we went out for Thai food and checked out the local nightlife.

IMG_2659.jpeg

IMG_2661.jpeg

IMG_2614.jpeg

IMG_2625.jpeg

IMG_2612.jpeg

IMG_2641.jpeg

IMG_2653.jpeg

On the way home it struck me how small my world had become since I got back from Maine. I rarely venture further than a mile from my house; a cage of my own making just to help me focus. I understand why I do this as there is much work I have to do; but is nice to get out of the box now and then. So thankful for my friends Randy and Diana for taking me.

Sort:  

Great story, good color tonality

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Thank you!

Congratulations @axeman, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @twirble!
@twirble got 6 TRDO & @axeman got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Nice trip! I hope it refreshed you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks you so much!!!

You took to sketching while your friends rested. Any artist that has not discovered the value of his companion (sketchbook) does not know the beauty of art - inspiration can come from anywhere any day and any time.

I see you really had a wonderful moment taking that trip to the beach.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Yes, my sketchbook is glued to me. Drawing is like nutrition to me. I was reading how it can fight depression and mental illness; perhaps that is why I need it


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98