Memories Series: 10 Days In Paradise: Personal story - Photo Collection (Part III)

in #travel5 years ago (edited)
We have all heard that phrase that says: "Traveling is the only thing you buy and it makes you richer" . And I think it's one of the greatest truths I've heard in my life. It will be what you live for, because you get soaked in other cultures and learn new languages. Or maybe it's because of the unforgettable experiences or the people you meet on your way.

I don't know if it's the excitement of being away from home or simply because the adventure calls for adventure, but when we travel we love to try things and live new experiences. Personally, I'm a lover of the first times and one of those people who think that before dying you have to try everything. Because those moments, in addition, are tthe ones we remember forever. Maybe you do not remember what was the sixth time you kissed someone, but the first? Well the same happens with trips.

I started telling the story of one of the greatest trips I've ever made, in Venezuela. I'm picking up the story right where I endend the last post about this story:

100_6573.JPG

You can read the preview posts here: Part I, Part II.

We arrived to Chuao, it's a 15 minutes boat ride from Cepe, this shore is more populated. This place is known by its for 400 years of sowing of "cacao criollo" (creole cocoa) , which is the species that produces the highest quality cocoa seed in the world. This peculiar town is reached by means of the sea, since the terrestrial access is complicated and long. In fact, there are only twelve cars in the town.

100_6652-2.jpg

These are cocoa seeds.

100_6710.JPG

Chuao can be defined as 449 years of culture, tradition and cocoa.
It's a coastal and picturesque village with cocoa aroma.

The people in this small town are culturally traditional, I can personally say that they have not been affected by the "malice" that abounds in the rest of the country. From the locals who met us at the pier when the boat arrived, to the lady who prepared "empanadas", they retained that pure essence characteristic of the Venezuelan, they gave smiles and gave you the warmth of a home.

Dancing devils of Chuao
"Tradición" means "tradition" in spanish
100_6650-2.jpg
100_6651-2.jpg
Traveling is undoubtedly a very intense experience at all levels and emotions take you to the surface. I have met people for days, a few hours or sometimes I have only shared a meal with them. But I've always taken a little bit of them with me. This time, in the first couple of days I had the chance to meet other venezuelans from Valencia, Carabobo, their names were: Claudia, Sergio, Jorge and José. Even had the chance to meet a guy from Floreanópolis, Brasil; his name was Alessandro. In the latest days I met a couple from Buenos Aires, Argentina; Viki (short for Victoria) and Lucas, they went back with me to Mérida when I finished my 10 days adventure.

I don't know if it's because we are far from our homes, our routines and our comfort zones. But that "imbalance" makes us experience every detail more intensely. We went exploring arround and met some locals, there was a little girl that caught our attention, you could see innocence right in her eyes, she had one of the purest looks I've ever seen in my entire life.

100_6643-2.jpg

Because Chuao is in the middle of Henri Pittier National Park , it has a lot of rivers and water pits aroud, really conld and refreshing after an entire day at the beach. You can find locals bathing in those pits, that's part of their everyday life, we were just guests at the time. Traveling opens your mind, frees you from prejudices, brings you closer to people, makes you more human and comes to understand more of the world. And as Mae West says: "You only live once but if you do it right, once is enough".
Enjoying the water with my new friends
Here we are with a local kid and his improvised boat
100_6664.JPG
100_6646.JPG

100_6676-2.jpg

This is some sort of water dam we found, I'm not even sure if we were able to swim there.. But we did, sorry.

The first couple of days in Chuao were definitely relaxing, but also full of adrenaline.. Why? At the second night we spent there I felt something moving in the floor (like from outside the tent) while sleeping.. It was a HUGE crab, but like HUGE! I'm afraid of crabs, lobsters, everything that has pincers. My camera didn't help at the moment to take the photo (also I was like a million meters away from that thing), but I tried and this was the greatest photo of the monster:

100_6684-2.jpg

If you ask me, it has an angry face.

With this monster crab experience I was able to prove myself, to measure my strenght and my capacity to adapt (also proved how loud I scream and how funny I look while crying). I kow it sounds ridiculous, but after this I became a little different. I was forced to get out of my comfort zone, I met a "braver me". All I did was to move the tent and put the crab into a pail, then released it like one million kilometers away from my tent.

The field of life will always give us experiences and that is what will make us experts in the area that we are passionate about. Learning is part of growing and maturing; As children learned the alphabet, when we became adults we started to live different and more complex things. For many it is difficult to learn something from a bad experience, perhaps because they believe that only good things can be learned, but not always.

100_6699.JPG

Here I am with the most beautiful group of people I've ever met!



Photos belong to me, they were made using my Kodak Easy Share C653.
Sort:  

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #407 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Traveling is the only thing you buy and it makes you richer

that is so true a quote and this post proves it and not only that enables us to virtually experience the trip through this great post

👏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much for stopping by!

It's true, travelling is the most amazing way to make us richer.

Ohh yes without a doubt i used to travel a lot but not any more and I do miss it at times

Only 12 cars in a whole town? Wow!!! That photo of the little girl is unbelievably good!
Thanks for this lovely article, Vanessa!

Thank you! It's a really rudamentary place.. No way to get there through land.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vanessapineda7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

🙌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vanessapineda7
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-series-10-days-in-paradise-personal-story-photo-collection-part-iii


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wow Nice photographs...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Fantastic story and pic. You deffinitly had a good time. Thank you for sharing! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05