Hot air ballooning over the valley of the kings.

in #travel6 years ago

LRM_EXPORT_56995635611094_20181010_232406422.jpeg

How's it going Steemers ?

I would like to share some photos from when I faced my fear of heights and got into a hot air balloon, while in Luxor Egypt.

It was an early start for the day, about 4am. We got on a boat to cross the Nile to the West bank. On the boat we had a small breakfast which kind of calmed my nerves a little bit.

Once we got to the other side a van was waiting for us to take us to the hot air balloon site which is right near the Valley of the Kings. It is still pitch black when we turn a corner and we can see a field of light from all the hot air balloons filling up with the fire.

My heart started to race with the thought of getting into one of these things as we walked towards the hot air balloons.

LRM_EXPORT_69056028311337_20181011_152219569.jpeg

For some reason I pictured the basket to be small, and to fit about 10 people or so. But the baskets are huge! They crammed 19 people into this one basket. I was very nervous to say the least.

They gave us a quick landing procedure rundown, we had to hang onto the little ropes inside the basket and crouch down on landing. In case of worst case scenario of the basket crashing on landing and tipping over.

This quick talk did nothing for my nerves. I was gripping the side of the basket like I was about to be shot up into orbit in a space rocket.

Now one thing that I never thought of was how the pilot controls the hot air balloon. His only controls is to make the balloon go up by putting more hot air into the balloon and down by letting hot air escape from the balloon. The wind moves it around left to right, front to back. So you never know exactly where the balloon will land.

Once we were all loaded in like a sardine can. The pilot turns the fire up and we slowly start to rise.

LRM_EXPORT_68946927119166_20181011_152030463.jpeg

Before I knew it we were looking down on top of buildings. We couldn't see much as it was still dark,

LRM_EXPORT_61313716995852_20181011_084924404.jpeg

but 10 min in the pilot yelled "LOOK TO YOUR LEFT" and the morning sun broke the horizon.

LRM_EXPORT_61376912377613_20181011_085027599.jpeg

LRM_EXPORT_69081145075917_20181011_152244686.jpeg

It was a beautiful sight to witness. But now the problem for me was that I could make out how high off the ground we were and I started to get a bit dizzy from vertigo. So I gripped on tight as we hovered up and down over the buildings. We were probably 5 meters above one residential building and the sound of the fire being gassed up is very loud. I would hate to have to wake up to that sound at the crack of dawn every morning haha.

As the sun came up we could see the mountain where the Valley of the Kings was carved into. It was truly an amazing moment! I had conquered my fear of hot air balloons and heights and I got to do it over one of the most ancient places on Earth.

LRM_EXPORT_61276742490649_20181011_084847429.jpeg

LRM_EXPORT_69108947241017_20181011_152312488.jpeg

We floated around in the sky for about 20 min enjoying the views of Luxor and the river Nile before we started to make our descent and pick our landing spot.

LRM_EXPORT_56995635611094_20181010_232406422.jpeg

On our way back down we where getting extremely close to the building tops and power lines.

LRM_EXPORT_69019475422280_20181011_152143016.jpeg

We slowly drifted over one building and this young boy stuck his head out his window and was waving at me. I waved back, then I watched him run out the front door and down the stairs as he started chasing our balloon. He had the biggest smile on his face as he continued to wave at me while chasing the balloon.

We flew very close over a power line, then the pilot picked a spot to land in a field in someone's back yard. As we got closer to landing, a ute full of guys come speeding up and they all jump out to help with the landing. We touched down back on the ground relatively soft. As the guys all grabbed onto the basket my anxiety went away!

I did it! I battled my fear of heights and dealt with it. I will never get into a hot air balloon again but I have now ticked it off my bucket list ☺

As I climbed out of the basket the young boy who was chasing our balloon came running up to me yelling " John Cena, John Cena" I guess the kid though I was John Cena the wrestler haha. All the local kids came running up to the basket begging for money and some other guys trying to sell us tourist treasures. (There is always someone around you in Egypt trying to sell you tourist treasures, they will seize any opportunity with the quickness) the young kid that was chasing us wasnt begging and just wanted to say hi. I high fived him them I shook the kids hand and slipped him some Egyptian pounds and I put my finger over my lips and said shhhhhhh.

He was super stocked haha can't belive he thought I was John Cena. What a cool little kid.

What a great experience it all was. If you have never been in a hot air balloon before I suggest to add it to your bucket list if you're not afraid of heights.

Thanks for stopping by.

Peace

G

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vcclothing
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hot-air-ballooning-over-the-valley-of-the-kings


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear @vcclothing,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Yes that sounds good. How do I apply?

You just need to write a story that is related to a place that you personally have your own memory and experience with. Then, remember to use our tag #archisteem. That will bring us to you and we will take a look on your story :) You can read this post to know more.

Ok cool I will use it on my next travel post ☺

Awesome :) Thanks for your support @vcclothing!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Awesome thank you

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @rimicane and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Awesome thank you very much.

You are so brave! Fantastic experience!

Thank you, I can now tick it of my bucket list ☺

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vcclothing from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86