Kiyomizu-dera, the temple of pure water in Kyoto, by @japon (tranlated from French)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @japon: Kiyomizu-dera, le temple de l’eau pure à Kyoto

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person that speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but @japon, a French guy.


After a very pleasant stroll in the alleys of Sannenzaka and Ninenzaka that make me climb higher and higher, I finally arrive on the forecourt of Kiyomizu-dera. There are a lot of people. At the same time groups of tourists, but also students traveling with their teacher. I am docked by one of them, who explains to me that he is teaching English to his pupils and that he would like to exchange some words with me.



I answer him that I am not American but French. It does not matter, he answers, if you speak English it suits us! Two students shyly ask questions in very rough English, but it was so cute. They ask me what city I come from, showing me a map of the United States. Decidedly ... No, for me it's France!

As a reward I get a drawing. I thank them in Japanese and congratulate them for their effort to learn English, and I was delighted to meet them. My reward was that big smile on their face.

I then enter the enclosure itself, through the large door painted red. This is really the color that is everywhere on buildings. The large 3-story pagoda is impressive.






Kiyomizu-dera is one of Kyoto's must-see sites; since 1994 it has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This temple takes its name from the waterfall that runs through it, "kiyoi mizu" meaning "pure water".

The central point of the place is the platform built on the hillside, supported by hundreds of pillars, and offers an incredible view of the surrounding nature. At the time of flowering sakura cherry or red maples in autumn, it is a spot that is stormed to admire the panorama.









Well, little disappointment anyway. Kiyomizu-dera is under construction. The entire platform is covered with large tarps. I can enjoy the panorama, but as for the photo of the platform suspended in the middle of the vegetation, it will be necessary to return in 2019.

The tour continues with a path that continues to climb and leads to a sanctuary. Once past the torii, we have a magnificent view of the pagoda.






Finally, I go down again to reach the source that gave its name to the temple. There is an endless queue to take some water. Adults will certainly keep this precious water for healing purposes. As for the children, they are amusing themselves with filling small ladles under the trickle of water flowing from the entrails of the mountain.



I leave the place with a mixed impression. It is often the sites that are the most famous that leave this feeling of dissatisfaction. I have not been disappointed by the Kiyomizu-dera, but the fact that it is under construction removes some of its beauty. And then there are many, many people.

Finally I prefer more intimate, more secret places. I go down the streets of Kiyomizu-dera because the day is far from over.

-- @japon


01: Travel diary in Japan, by @japon
02: Tokyo, overcrowded city? Really? by @japon
03: Are the Japanese too disciplined? by @japon
04: Going to Japan without speaking Japanese? by @japon
05: Ueno, more than just a big park in Tokyo, by @japon
06: Asakusa, diving in the heart of Tokyo's historic district, by @japon
07: Ameyoko, Ueno's colorful market, by @japon
08: Tsukiji, the largest fish market in the world, by @japon
09: Climb the steps of Atago Jinja Shrine in Tokyo, by @japon
10: Hama Rikyu, an exceptional park in the heart of Tokyo, by @japon
11: Jimbocho, old books and tempura, by @japon
12: Shinjuku Gyoen Park and the best burger in the world!, by @japon
13: One night in Shibuya, by @japon
14: Takeshita dori : this little street dedicated to fashion (and good crepes), by @japon
15: They lie to you about Kyoto, by @japon
16: The temples and secret garden of Higashi in Kyoto, by @japon
17: Kinkaku-ji, the temple of the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, by @japon
18: Ryoan-ji, the amazing stone garden in Kyoto, by @japon
19: The Ninna-ji Temple and its extraordinary gardens, by @japon
20: Kyoto Gyoen, the Imperial Palace Park, by @japon
21: Nishiki Market: A Must in Kyoto, by @japon
22: Ginkaku-ji, the temple of the silver pavilion in Kyoto, by @japon
23: Meditate on the path of philosophy, by @japon
24: Nanzen-ji, its impressive gate and two gardens, by @japon
25: Heian-jinju: the big shrine and its garden that I almost missed, by @japon
26: Eikan-do, the temple of the momiji maples in Kyoto, by @japon
27: Kodai-ji, a Kyoto temple dedicated to a woman's love for her husband, by @japon
28: Sannenzaka and Ninenzaka, the streets of Higashiyama, by @japon

Sort:  

Though incredible scenery of Kiyomizu-dera, tourists are crammed like sardine in cherry blossom season. After I visited there in hot summer day, I remember the way to there was way way too long for me. So, hot summer & cherry blossom season, you'd better pick out Kiyomizu-dera from your visiting list.

Have you ever been there? The place he is showing is one of the most famous and beautiful temples in Japan.
The final picture is of a fountain. They have three wells you can drink from, each with their own feature, but you are only allowed to choose two.
It's a great place to take a date! =D

Awesome pagoda great pictures. I hope to go to Japan in 2019

That's such a beautiful sight for tourism.... What amazes me more is the wsy they make their roofing; it's extremely spectacular and unique..... Thanks for sharing this; much love

wow so nice temple. Just seeing this temple I have a crush on this. Awesome pagoda great pictures. I hope to go to Japan in 2019

Best travel in life..
It's all historical and has lots of stories to tell..

This culture is so incredible, the mixture of architecture together with respect for nature. it is something really admirable, I imagine the incredible trip it has had, it must be wonderful to be in places like you took photos, thank you very much for letting us see part of your experience

I wonder why you are not showing picture of the main temple itself, which is to the right of the red pagoda in the second last picture...

28_Kyoto_Kiyomizu_Dera_Temple.JPG

I wonder why you are not showing picture of the main temple itself

I think he explained why:

The entire platform is covered with large tarps.

Oh, sorry, I missed that part. That's a bummer. It's such a beautiful place - albeit a little crowded... Definitely recommend to return when the tarps are gone!

Can't wait to bere here at the end of the month after a flight which will take almost 24 hours!!! i am so freaking sure it's so worthy!
thanks for translating @vcelier as I am also a traveller and I write mostly about my travels, this is so nice of you!
last, but not least, thanks @japon for sharing your experience!!! do you have any tips regarding the food

I wish you a safe trip and enjoy Japan !!!
Regarding the food, don't be afraid to push the door of small restaurants. Even the menu is only written in japanese. This is the best places to eat traditional japanese food !

Really interesting post keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27