Story Bridge Climb, Welcome 2019- Travel #32

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

IMG_7246.JPG

Dear Steemit friends, let me take you on a transitional journey into the New Year from the top of The Story Bridge in Brisbane, Australia. A New Year brings the promise of new beginnings, a fresh start, an opportunity to create that all important new year's resolution that we only stick to for a couple of weeks. Why do we put so much pressure on ourselves over what seemingly is just another ordinary day, it is that we crave purpose and meaning. I mean after all how many of us at some point in our lives ask ourselves the question " Why am I here". I cannot answer that question for anyone else but myself. What I can tell you is that when I climbed The Story Bridge on December 31st 2018 and welcomed in 2019 at the top of the bridge is that I didn't know how drastically my life from that point on was going to change. I had lived in Brisbane Australia for 14 years. I am a Singaporean girl who attempted to make Australia home. However, due to Australia's discriminatory laws, my younger brother who has Down's Syndrome was not allowed to live with me and our Australian older brother due to the pure fact he was born with Down's Syndrome. This meant that I could never call Australia home. Climbing the historic Story Bridge to not only welcome in the New Year but mark the end of my time in Australia seemed fitting. The Story Bridge is a prominent landmark in Brisbane's ever expanding skyline.

The Story Bridge is a World Heritage listed steel cantilever bridge spanning across the Brisbane River that connects the northern and the southern suburbs of Brisbane, Australia. It is in fact the longest cantilever bridge in Australia. It was built in 1940 and named after the prominent public servant John Douglas Story costing a whopping ₤1.6 million. This doesn't seem like a lot of money now considering the obscene amount splashed out on modern structures but this was a long time ago and during The Great Depression. The Story Bridge's original blueprint had it in a slightly different location, meaning that a popular pub would have to be demolished. However, after numerous protests the plans were changed and the pub which still stands today could remain.

To find me, look for my Chihuahua's face

IMG_7239.JPG

Story Bridge, Brisbane, Australia

IMG_5060.JPG

The Story Bridge is not only famous for being a bridge it has a famous "hotel" attached to the southern foundations appropriately named, Story Bridge Hotel. Remember that pub I told you about that Brisbanites protested to keep by changing the position of the bridge, well, this is it. It was constructed in 1886 as one of only seven, three-story hotels in Queensland from that time period. Originally named Kangaroo Point Hotel based on it's location. It was re-named The Story Bridge Hotel in 1940 to coincide with the opening of The Story Bridge, I mean the Bridge did save it from demolition. The ironic thing is that you cannot actually stay at the Story Bridge Hotel, it is a function venue that offers the finest food and wine in Brisbane. The Story Bridge Hotel is famous for it's fun themed parties, so if you are in Brisbane and looking for a good time, do not miss checking out the Story Bridge Hotel.

The view of the city is breath-taking

IMG_5018.JPG

When New Year's Eve rolls around, it is always a question of where to go to celebrate. Some people want to be with their family for a quiet night in while others want to be drunk on a dancefloor somewhere in the city. The one thing most of us can agree on is that we want to see fireworks. Those loud, pretty bangs that light up the night sky and remind us to lose ourselves in the moment even if just for that moment. I was actually on my way to work when I heard a radio advertisement for climbing the Story Bridge for New Year. What could possibly be better than being on top of one of Brisbane's most iconic structure's sipping champagne watching the fireworks bring in 2019. I booked two tickets later that day for my older brother and I.

IMG_4978.JPG

IMG_5015.JPG

IMG_5016.JPG

IMG_5011.JPG

I was so excited for the climb, well not so much the physical climbing but the amazing view once I got to the top. I must say it was spectacular even before the fireworks started. The team at Story Bridge Adventure climb were extremely professional and knowledgeable. They are not only trained in safety procedures but also on Brisbane's history. Being the travel blogger that I am, I love asking history questions. Before being suited up to climb everyone has to sign a waiver as with every other activity with a physical component. This is to make sure that you are fit and able to literally climb to the top of the bridge unassisted. The bridge is 74 meters/243 feet high and 777 metres/2,549 feet long. Everyone gets spilt up into small groups allowing everyone to be able to hear the climb guide speak. These guides were amazing, they even carried esky's or cooler bins as some call them filled up with bottles upon bottles of champagne up to the top of the bridge. Now combining alcohol and climbing a bridge doesn't sound like the best idea, luckily the guides only allowed two glasses of champagne per person. Prior to the climb each person was breath-tested to ensure that nobody had consumed alcohol prior to the climb, of course a few people failed. Silly way to ruin your own new year.

After passing your breath test, you are given a jumpsuit to put on over your clothes, despite the inappropriate name jumpsuit, they aren't intended for you to wear to jump off the bridge. As funny as that may sound, sadly bridges all over the world are plagued by people who choose to commit suicide by jumping off them. If you or anyone you know is struggling, please seek help, https://www.iasp.info .

Once suited up, you have to walk through a metal detector to ensure that you have nothing in your pockets such as mobile phones, cameras or even coins. All you are allowed to take up on the climb with you is yourself. You are then attached to a carabiner and hooked onto a cable. The climb guide will then lead your group up onto the bridge for the climb to the top.

My brother Wayne and I

IMG_7241.JPG

IMG_7240.JPG

IMG_7242.JPG

IMG_7244.JPG

The climb involves trekking to the top of the bridge and then around to the middle cross over platform and back up to the top. It is a workout but you hardly notice as your breath is taken away by the view. My legs felt it the next day though let me tell you. Once we made it to the top we were given a glass of champagne, photographs were taken by a professional photographer and we were given a live countdown to midnight. As we sipped our champagne along came the final countdown

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, HAPPY NEW YEAR

IMG_4965.JPG

IMG_4970.JPG

IMG_4974.JPG

IMG_4969 (2).JPG

Fireworks filled the sky all around us and at eye level. It was the most magnificent sight, unbelievable to see fireworks that close, the bridge rumbled from the force and the whole city lit up with colour. To say I was in awe would be an understatement. The photographs do the actual sight no justice. It was actually really lovely to be able to just enjoy the moment and soak it all in. Being a travel blogger a camera is always in my hands trying to capture the moment to share with all of you. Having a personal photographer capture the moments for me was priceless. I certainly didn't want to view this through a lens. If anyone wants to be my personal travel photographer, apply below.

IMG_4993.JPG

IMG_4984.JPG

IMG_4996.JPG

IMG_4995.JPG

IMG_5005.JPG

IMG_5008.JPG

IMG_5020.JPG

As you can see from the amazing photographs, the firework display did not disappoint. As I write this blog from my new home on the other side of the planet from Brisbane, I hold back bittersweet tears. What a symbolic way to depart Brisbane permanently. Life is fleeting, enjoy every moment, in the blink of an eye or the boom of a firework your whole life can change. Change isn't bad, it is apart of life. It is natural for us to try and orchestrate every aspect of our lives but that is just not possible. Tell the people who you love that you love them, follow your dreams and travel the world, experience as much as life has to offer. However you decided to welcome in the New Year I hope it was meaningful and special. If you are considering a unique way to ring in the New Year, take a look at Story Bridge Adventure Climb in Brisbane, Australia, I promise you won't be disappointed.

IMG_5021.JPG

IMG_5037.JPG

IMG_5057.JPG

IMG_5064.JPG

IMG_5065.JPG

IMG_5066.JPG

IMG_5068.JPG

IMG_5062.JPG

Stay tuned for more of my travel blogs from across the globe, I apologise for this ridiculously late post a third into 2019 however, I relocated to the other side of the world and have been extremely busy. Now that everything has settled, you can look forward to more frequent travel blogs.

Our fun little bridge climb group

IMG_7245.JPG

IMG_7243.JPG

I hope you have enjoyed my blog on Story Bridge Climb, Welcome 2019, thank you for reading and I look forward to sharing more adventures with you, until next time, Vegoutt Everybody!

VEGOUTT.gif

Sort:  

It would have been awesome to be on top of the bridge while the fireworks were going off. When I was younger a friend and I climbed to the top of the story bridge one night. It was a lot of fun. Great views from up there. Awesome post thanks for sharing😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It was beautiful, I couldn’t have imagined a more spectacular way to welcome in a new year. It was so loud but so pretty. Oh wow really, I bet it was, I’m glad you got to enjoy the view. No problem, thank you for reading

Hi @vegoutt-travel
I saw this blog in the Travel digest and it immediately caught my attention. I've often wondered what the views would be like at the top of the Story Bridge and after seeing your images there is no doubt in my mind that indeed, they are spectacular.

Thanks so much for sharing such and informative and interesting blog. I wish you all the very best in your travels. Am now following you and look forward to enjoying more of your blogs. (U & R )

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vegoutt-travel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=story-bridge-climb-welcome-2019-travel-32


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow. Your own brother is not allowed to live with you? Why not? Does he have to live an approved care facility or something? Seems shit regardless.

Also, I was wondering if Bridge Climb was still going. I guess it is.

I know immigration said that because he has Down’s Syndrome that he would be a burden on Australian society. This was even after going to countless lawyers, our older brother being an Australian citizen and my younger having full health insurance. He was denied. Yes it is still going, they do all sorts of functions now.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Thank you so much @steemitworldmap that’s great. Thank you for always being so supportive

Congratulations @vegoutt-travel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That’s awesome thank you so much, I’m happy to be apart of Steemit

Wow this looks really exciting!
Btw, check your FB dm :)

Thank you so much, oh I definitely will thank you

Great post!!
Those fire works shots from up top are amazing, looking forward to seeing what you get up to next!

Thank you very much @brizhorticulture I look forward to sharing more adventures

Hello vegoutt-travel, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Thank you @crypto.talk glad to be apart of Partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36