Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Ghosts of Upper Town' (Part #275)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

'Ghosts of Upper Town'

crta.png

Walking the streets of Upper town in Zagreb often make one think of past times, events that unfolded way back when; I sometimes imagine people who've lived and died through the centuries. Looking at the place today, it seems that nothing much has changed, yet the changes are present on every step. Really slow changes but still changes.

An old building, the one next to the Parliament is currently in process of restoration. One wonders if is it possible that someone has left it to decay like this in this location. Strange are the ways of law, money and ownership.

Several hundred years old metal shutters are still in use. This is more about the tradition than protection for burglary even though it does help that, too. I doubt someone would profit greatly from stealing some souvenirs or robbing a half-empty office.

As a tourist attraction, "Ghost Tour" has been established a few years back. People stroll through these locations in the night and listen to spooky ghost stories. I've never taken the tour but from what I've heard, one can enjoy that quite a bit. Interested in ghosts anyone? However, nothing appears spooky enough during the day. :D

This legendary coffee shop is my destination for today. I'll sit for awhile, write a bit, think of the ghosts among us and simply rejoice the fact that I'm still not one of them.

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  
Life means to grow, move, and change. Every moment they undergo, from infancy, childhood, adolescence and now to adulthood.

These people are part of it. So also with society, and the environment around.

It's just that sometimes there are things that are positive and sometimes to things that are negative. Changes also exist that are natural anatomy of the body, there is also a scientific nature, that is with the will and desire as well as measurable planning.

Associated with humans, society , the country, the school, the school, the inside of it and the man himself. But do not want to change, it will change in this life. And this has been proven by various things happening in our society even in the international world. in a very fast era.If we do not respect then we will die.

Changes can not be avoided.Nothing is eternal in this world more than itself.Therefore no the other way, we have to change.Obviously in a positive direction.

Probably in every city in the world, there are legends about ghosts. Especially such stories are popular in tourist places. There are always a lot of daredevils who will say that they are not afraid of ghosts and do not believe in these stories. But nevertheless, they will not check it at night :)

There is no scientific confirmation of this phenomenon. Therefore, with certainty, it can be said that ghosts are guaranteed to exist in one place - human fantasy. People come up with many things and start to believe in them. So there are legends and myths. I'm sure that if in a moment people forgot about ghosts - then ghosts would cease to exist. But it is not exactly:)

Good day:)

I'm really glad that you and I both are not among the ghost tour today!

I love the photographs. Really representative of the place.

South of Tucson is a building said to be the oldest in North America. Saint Augustine, Florida also claims the title. Only the ghosts know for sure.

Thanks for another great post in the series.

"it seems that nothing much has changed, yet the changes are present on every step"
I like this line.I relate this sentence to my own thinking.We think the world has changed ,we too have to change with changing world.Actually, this world does not change ,we the human being has changed totally to a devil mind and bring unnecessary changes in this world for which we have to pay for it.But through this community we really bring changes which are actually needed in the present era.

Hola, @velimir
Buenos días.
Definitivamente que sí. Todos las ciudades y pueblos, construcciones grandes y pequeñas, carretera, calles y avenidas casí siempre tienen sus leyendas de fantasmas.
Transitar por ellas a veces no es del agrado de muchos. Sin embargo; siempre hay personas más osadas y que piden que por favor les salga el fulanito Gasparín (El fantasma Amigable). Jijijijijijiji.
Ahhhhhh. Resulta que se aparece el fantasma de Jack el Destripador o el Monje Loco.
Bellas las fotografías.
Saludos

Very interesting your post @velimir. As I walk the streets of my beloved Venezuela specifically in Guanare, I move to our ancestors, our ancestors. As you say how many dead throughout the centuries, how many stories, if the walls spoke, there would be many stories that would tell us and we would enjoy learning from our pasts, other experiences, knowing what it was like before, because the diaries are changing and changes are certain they are very necessary, but the memory of yesterday must always be in us.

Ah! The inevitable changes that exist in our very minds but not to the common man.

I like the painting used for the buildings but what I like more is the calm, quiet and near empty nature of the environment. If you think deeper, it's sounds like a consequence of the continuous presence and terrorism of ghouls.

Enjoy your coffee

I can’t get over the architecture of the area. I think that’s one of my favourite things about Europe. The buildings are so old and the architecture from the past still remains. It’s like being surrounded by history every where you go. If the walls could tell stories.

Ah. ghosts.
I can tell very good ghost stories: D
my appearance is also intimidating. eheh. I loved these ghost streets.
like a perfect city. I look at walls, constructions and colors.
every image has a history odor! even if the ghosts are real I will eat them!

When walking through the old town in Zagreb I always think about Marija Jurić Zagorka and her books with all those characters that were there and I am really looking forward to spring and warmer weather so I could again take my little walks there. You took same great photos, good job!

aha dobra ideja! :) moram do tkalče pofotkat tetu ovih dana hehehe

Sve me čudi da nije već u ovom postu bila ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17