Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Icy Road' (Part #243)

in #travel6 years ago

'Icy Road'

crta.png

The sun is shining, giving out a false feeling of warmth. The air is cold and riding is bordering on uncomfortable. But, as I said, it is all in mind. It defines our feelings and guides us to wherever one is ready to go. If we use only good thoughts as its fuel, we'll be more than fine.

Yes, the real winter is here. I'm riding through a frozen mud road. But, I'm relaxed, focusing on the fresh air and just feeling good for no particular reason except for the fact that I'm on the road and satisfied with it.

Sometimes in life, we come across obstacles, just like this muddy poodle. We always have three options really. In this very case, we can cross it, even though we don't know how deep it is or unsure if we'll wet our feet; we can turn around and find another way or we can just sit and wait until it evaporates. :D

The third is not applicable in this case and I don't want to risk riding the rest of the days with wet feet, so turning around it is. I'll be back here in the spring when the air fills with scents and sun gets warm enough to ride with a thin jacket instead of the Robocop outfit I'm wearing right now.

This looks weird. Check out the spot where someone parked the digger. Why did he choose elevated position? He's probably making sure that the heavy thing doesn't sink in the mud at some point, in case of temperature change and heavy rain, is the only thing that springs to mind. Looks pretty odd, anyway. :-)

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

For some riders, winter riding is simply not an option. For them, the bike goes into hibernation in the garage, protected by a thick layer of grease and covered by a tarpaulin until the spring shoots appear. Riding anytime of the year demands caution, however winter in particular can be treacherous. Almost half of Britain's motorcyclists say that riding on icy, winter roads is one of the worst aspects of motorcycling.With the right kit, a little common sense and some minor changes in your riding style, you can carry on riding safely through all but the worst of the winter weather.

"Robocop outfit"? Do I ever get that! Icy roads irritate me, but wet feet on a cold day can kill me. You made the only real choice.

I have a pair of water proof boots. That have never fit quite right. The size was a little small. I have stretched them and fooled with them but still they aren't quite right. I've had them over 10 years and only worn them maybe 20 times. In the kind of weather where dry feet are more important than how my feet will feel at the end of the day.

Wonderful photos. Your story telling is second to none. The track hoe is parked in a very funny position. Safety first is my guess. Thanks for a great Sunday post.

Some of driving tips for when the road is covered in ice:
giphy.gif

Accelerate and decelerate slowly.
Drive slowly.
The normal dry pavement following distance of three to four seconds should be increased to eight to ten seconds.
Know your brakes.
Don’t stop if you can avoid it.
Don’t power up hills.
Don’t stop going up a hill.
Stay home.

hey dear @velimir
I loved that topic about obstacles
and you said ' we can turn around and find another way'
YEP !
I indeed agree with you and I always try to find another way .. I never stop :)
thanks for your great notes and photos

Hi @velimir
I liked how you described 3 possible options for action ....

We always have three options really. In this very case, we can cross it, even though we don't know how deep it is or unsure if we'll wet our feet; we can turn around and find another way or we can just sit and wait until it evaporates.

The difference of people from each other is precisely that everyone chooses his own version and everyone expects his final result. Someone will get it and some do not :)
Sometimes we have the choice to turn around, because there is no acute need to go in this direction. But often in my life there are moments when there is no way back :) forward and only forward.
The sunny weather returned to you, but judging by the frozen road, it's a deceptive sun. Usually for such a case there is folk wisdom - "if the sun shines in the winter, then it will be frost"
Have a nice day and good road

The description is story-telling and I liked it. The photos are good. The place seems wilderness. I can post the similar photos because we have such paths where you won't see any human even at a long distance. Normally, it's there in the country-side. I have plans to do so. Good post @velimir.

It has always been thought of as a powerful force in the series of one's life. The power of the mind has been used for hundreds of years by successful people to achieve its success. So great is the effect that we make we can do great things that we never believed before. But the mind is not present in a vacuum, caused by various factors within ourselves, such as health conditions, feelings, psychology, and intellect. So besides our own thoughts, our condition also affects our minds. There is a mutual reciprocal relationship because our thoughts, feelings, body, and psyche are whole and can not be separated.

Yaa man, Bloggers matter hell a lot. Anybody who does't know this must be some old school who does't know about the world today.

&yes.. I will be criss-crossing India on a bike soon.

Hey, so I love your photography skills. As to your writing, it possesses simplicity. Just the way I like. Travelling is a great experience. It broadens our horizon of mind. I liked the part where you showed depth on a puddle. That there are three options to overcome it. And also the choice of your option. Sometimes, it is okay to step back, rest, and fight with force again later. :)

hey friend, you are a complete motor enthusiast...
it is very difficult to pass through those muddy roads..you do this very well..it was a pleasant adrenaline-filled excursion

I had fun in this part of the writing the most:)

Sometimes in life, we come across obstacles, just like this muddy poodle. We always have three options really. In this very case, we can cross it, even though we don't know how deep it is or unsure if we'll wet our feet; we can turn around and find another way or we can just sit and wait until it evaporates. :D

very pleasant to follow you my friend... @velimir

I think this is amazing traveling. No many people do like @velimir do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75