Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Masterpiece Chess Set' (Part #349)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

'Masterpiece Chess Set'

crta.png

A very old chess set. I like that ancient game. It teaches players many things. Well, I meant it trains the mind on many levels, developing player's intelligence and attentiveness.



I have a keen respect for the craft. People who made this set took serious time and effort to achieve the level of quality it has. We can only guess how many days went into the making of this one single set.

However, there is a problem with chess. There are people, especially on the pro level, who memorize the moves. This goes as far as memorizing the entire games someone played in the past.

Having so much memorized knowledge takes the spirit out of the game, in my opinion. I wouldn't call it cheating but merely nerding out the game. The most valuable thing while playing is the thought processes.

Memorizing games and playing accordingly takes the creativity and improvisation out of the game. The guy with better memory usually wins in the end because he gains a better position before the creative part starts. However, all that aside, it's a beautiful set, isn't it? :-)

Enjoy your day!



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and the rest of my extensive Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Chess is a great game with a strategic spirit, but I wouldn't necessarily say that the player with a better memory wins, I think that over trivializes their study. From what I'm aware, top players are very familiar with possible moves or strategies, but if both players know the same or similar set of moves, then they still must strategize to out predict or surprise the other, and so the game still comes down to strategy - the spirit of the game.

An experienced player, with or without memorized past games, will almost always beat out an inexperienced player, not much about any game can change that

Chess is one of the best intellectual games that mankind has come up with. It's my opinion. This game with a distant history (if I'm led by the memory, it appeared in the 7th or 8th century AD). I love this game for the fact that it truly develops thinking and intellect. This is a strategic game that develops logic. When you play chess you think through every step. Experienced players think through many steps forward while simultaneously thinking through the enemy's moves. Even more, they by their actions lead the enemy to make "profitable" moves to them. That is, they lead the enemy to defeat.
I remember the famous phrase from the movie Revolver:

In order to grow wiser, you need to play with an opponent who is smarter than you.

The longest chess game lasted more than 20 hours and ended in a draw. Although I read earlier that the longest party lasted 50 years (but the players did several steps per year :) This is amazing.

One way or another, chess perfectly develops memory and logical thinking. This is a game that you can learn to play even if you have never played. Chess helps you acquire skills that will help you in real life.
Thanks for the interesting post

really very wonderfull chess set..obviously its very talented post of travelling..my dear friend @velimir Likewise with this life, suppose the rule of chess is not raw then the main will be as it will then the game will be chaotic.suppose this life is no rule of God then all humans will also be as it wishes. Just imagine if the pion is moving rich horse or it could be glide, the king can run, not just one step that can be done automatically. Similarly, we humans as God's creatures who, when they do not do what is the command and obligation and avoid what are the same obstacles that are trying for things that are not regular that will be bad for him. For humans that are very likely to occur, by the rules, then little by little humans are created by man himself and not one bit. God's command is broken.thanks to sharing for your appreciating post..very well done.its very good quality post of you. take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..

In the game of chess, every step of the fruit already has its rules. Like a pawn that moves forward a step forward can eat the opponent's fruit by walking tilted.

The horse moves with the letters of L. The king moves only a step even if he is king and can not move past the fruit or pawn that is in the circle, can not move first to the new king can king king king king king empty and that too remain one step .

And various other types of moves must follow the rules of motion can not be seen. Supposing the game is not a standard rule, then as a king can always move as it wishes, past a pawn or if you want to get away from the arena. Minister for example his motion by riding a horse. All can not be arbitrarily, the rules must be obeyed. Likewise with this life, suppose the rule of chess is not raw then the main will be as it will then the game will be chaotic.

And suppose this life is no rule of God then all humans will also be as it wishes. Just imagine if the pion is moving rich horse or it could be glide, the king can run, not just one step that can be done automatically. Similarly, we humans as God's creatures who, when they do not do what is the command and obligation and avoid what are the same obstacles that are trying for things that are not regular that will be bad for him. For humans that are very likely to occur, by the rules, then little by little humans are created by man himself and not one bit. God's command is broken.

It is a gloriously beautiful chess set, brilliantly presented.

I was never much of a chess player for the simple reason that I could not be bothered to memorize even the rudimentary starting moves. I think it an elegant and worthy game, just not worthy of the time it would have taken me to be even remotely competitive.

Thanks for another great photo session and life lesson.

Thank you very much for sharing this old wonderful chess set with us sir, yes my friend it teaches us to step it also train our mind to reach a new level.
I just played it once in my life and I lost :p hahaha yeah that's true I lost that game but it was a very pleasant experience, we used to play tgree Gotii in our childhood, it looks like chess but it is not, in three goti both the players have three three-piece and the player who made straight line first is the winner. Chess is far more difficult game and interesting game, that play with the minds of players, and the players who plays well wins the game, and the winner is known as the king. Thanks @velimir sir you remind me of my childhood, it was really a great time, i can't forget it my whole life.

@velimir sir you have missed this post.

Hahahaha :p glad you smile :p
Just got upvote right after the comment, you are quick :p

Chess is the brilliant game , i like this game .

I am waiting for your next new update news .

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @velimir

Keep good work of every time ...

Love this post. I totally agree with what you said about how memorizing everything really takes the spirit out of the game. I never thought about it like that but this is a very interesting post. I think thought process really does add something, not just with chess but with anything you do. Been a big fan of your blog since I started Steemit. If you could check out my art and photography that would be awesome.

Chess is such a beautiful game indeed, but I never think of people memorising it... Poor me

No wonder sometimes guys are so good like my brother that you can defeat him no matter how hard you try.... Hahahah

Whether in winning or losing, it's one of the best game alongside draft. I love the two of them, because you must be a good thinker before you can win either if the two....

I am a huge chess fan. I love the strategic nature of the game and having to plan more than just your current move. It’s part of why I like Football so much. Itge sport is like a chess match. I really like how the lighting here give demension to the pieces and the cast a shadow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25