Photo Trip: Prague Embankments

in #travel7 years ago

I visited Prague last Thursday, on a beautiful day when sun was playing with clouds. For me Prague is a very special city as that’s where I fell in love with my future wife. I had a nice walk by the embankments where we were wandering back then and used this time to make photos I am now sharing with you.

01-DSC_0415.jpg
A view on the Charles bridge (built in 1402) and the famous Prague Castle.

Prague is a motley city with a rich history and many magic treasures. I always feel enchanted by the atmosphere of the city center with its wonderful mix of Gothic, Baroque and Secessionist styles.

Prague is called the Golden City, the City of a Hundred Spires, and the Heart of Europe. Thanks to its location on Vltava river which was the main Central European highway in ancient times, Prague area was inhabited since the Paleolithic age. Celtic, Germanic and Slavonic tribes succeeded each other there during the centuries. From the Middle Age Prague was a royal capital and sometimes the main residence of Holy Roman Emperors. The historic center of Prague is included in the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites.

02-DSC_0367.jpg
An example of Secessionist style many Prague buildings share. The inscription says “God grant happiness”.

03-DSC_0376.jpg
A view on Palackého bridge (built in 1878).

There are 20 functional bridges across the Vltava river in Prague.

04-DSC_0396.jpg
The entrance to Legií bridge (built in 1901).

The tower you see on the photo was used to collect tolls in the bridge’s early times.

05-DSC_0383.jpg

05-DSC_0389.jpg
A view from Palackého on Jiráskův bridge (built in 1933).

In the center you can see the Dancing House, one of Prague's landmarks with a very non-traditional design built at the location of a house destroyed by the U.S. bombing of Prague in 1945.

06-DSC_0422.jpg
The historical building of the National Theater (built in 1881).

The first theater scene in the Czech Republic and the alma mater of Czech opera.

07-DSC_0419.jpg
Another view on the Prague Castle.

Prague Castle is the largest ancient castle in the world according to the Guinness Book of Records.

07-DSC_0426.jpg
The Charles Bridge gate.

The Charles Bridge is one of the most significant Gothic monuments of Old Prague and one of the most preserved medieval bridges in Europe.

Thank you for walking with me!

Camera: Sony Xperia XA1


I'm a blogger, web developer, designer, entrepreneur, world citizen and a father to eight. If you've enjoyed this post, follow me at @vitkolesnik.
Sort:  

Wonderful shots!.. I hope you enjoyed your trip :)
Keep steem on.

Great photos thanks very much. The lighting is gorgeous!! I have never been there but it looks amazing!

Thanks for the appreciation! If you will ever plan to go to Czechia, drop me a line and I'll give you some tips on what to visit! :)

Nice photos capturing the city and buildings around that area. Quite a different design and setup to many spots here in Australia, thanks for sharing mate.

pocketsend:100@thegoliath

Successful Send of 100
Sending Account: vitkolesnik
Receiving Account: thegoliath
New sending account balance: 999900
New receiving account balance: 99
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d5736856cc9eb1e83934039500a6c8ce7d1f7495
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

You're welcome and thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vitkolesnik from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Looks like an amazing part of the world. Great photos as well, I especially like the sun peaking through the last photo. Thanks for sharing :)

excellent post, I like what you do, you are a great, I am your faithful follower @joserc.vzla

Every time I see pictures of Prague I want to go there a bit more!
I hope to get there one day and to see the things you've seen.

Awesome photo's @vitkolesnik! I visited the city about 2 years ago and were very impressed. So much culture and history... would love to go back there one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24