I took my kid, my wife and my dog into the wilderness. Part 3

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hiking Clifty Wilderness in Red River Gorge with my wife, kid, and dog. Part 3

For part 1 and 2

https://steemit.com/travel/@waggy6/i-took-my-kid-my-wife-and-my-dog-backpacking-into-the-wilderness-part-1

https://steemit.com/travel/@waggy6/i-took-my-kid-my-wife-and-my-dog-into-the-wilderness-part-2

In part 2 I left off with us going to sleep on the first night on the trail. We had stopped at a site near Turtle Falls. It took us a bit to find a suitable sure to pitch or ridiculously oversized tent. Either the trees were to close, the ground wasn’t level enough, or there were dangerous dead branches that could fall.

Eventually, we did find a reasonably level spot to pitch the tent and after a quick dinner and a failed attempt at starting a campfire with wet wood, we went to bed. After such a hot and long day of hiking, I was really expecting that I would get a good night's sleep.
Unfortunately, that was not to be.

The slight angle we had set the tent on caused me to slowly slide downhill toward the door all night and I would wake up with me feet all smushed against the screen, so I would slide back uphill to a comfortable position only to find myself repeating the procedure many more times that night, my wife and daughter both asked me at separate times to accompany them outside when they needed to pee, and the sound of the waterfall, that should have been so relaxing, drowned out all the other sounds which would have given me a sense of morning coming. (You can get some idea of what time of night it is as the frogs and crickets seem to quite as the night gets later and the birds seem to be awake as soon as 4 am)

When we finally woke up in the morning we had a nice breakfast of oatmeal and some breakfast burrito filling, got packed up and headed out on the trail for the second day. By then it was already getting hot, and we had no firm idea what time it was.
Consulting the map before leaving we settled on heading toward a site titled Don Juan's Gardens. Though we were hiking Swift Camp Creek trail and the trail paralleled the creek the steepness of the terrain prevented actually getting to the creek save for a few places. Don Juan's was one of those places.

Our destination was about 4 miles away according to the map, we were hoping we would get there by mid-afternoon. Instead, this day turned into the most difficult day of the trip. The temperature quickly approached 98 degrees and the humidity was so high you could see your breath. I've never had that happen except in cool weather before.

Each of us was carrying two 32 oz water bottles, yet it was so hot we had to stop and refill them repeatedly. This is not as easy of a task in the woods, each bottle has to be sterilized using the AquaMira drops that we bought. These drops chlorinate the water by mixing drops from two bottles together in the cap and waiting 5 minutes. So each water stop took us a while. Much appreciated in that heat though.

When we hit the first stream for a snack break we all thought we were making great time. We continued to push on, stopping often to hydrate or refill our water. As we continued on the terrain got more and more rugged. Imagine a rudimentary staircase made of large rocks and you have a general idea of what we were hiking on. The trail couldn't seem to decide if it wanted to go uphill or down. The moment you got to the top of one hill, climbing slowly up unstable rocks with a heavy backpack on, it would appear to level off, only to round a bend and have to climb downhill again, with a pack, on unstable rock.

Eventually, we rounded a bend, the familiar and refreshing cool breeze from one of the many caves hit us, after a steep downhill…

DSC00270.JPG

Walking out of what felt like a never-ending tropical jungle to this site was one of the greatest feelings.

This was like an oasis. We took the time to cook a nice lunch, we explored, I took my first poop of the trip. Then we realized, the small stream we had passed earlier in the day was not the landmark I thought it was on the map, this stream was, we had only made it half as far as we thought we had. We still had 2/3rds of the way yet to go. A horrible feeling washed over us as we hitched up our packs and continued on.

The next 3.5 hours was just constant uphill then downhill with the occasional mud puddle for variety, but we did make it. I have no pictures of this, the idea of taking a simple picture was too much work at the time. It was all we could do to keep going. After encountering the only other hikers we had seen all day. They seemed as exhausted as us, so knowing there was a nice campsite ahead I directed them to an inferior campsite closer by and we hurried the last 1/8th mile to our site.

DSC00286-01.jpeg

Our tent by Swift Camp Creek at Don Juan's Garden campsite.

DSC00285-01.jpeg

View from our tent

DSC00284.JPG

Our dog had short legs but he kept up just fine

DSC00281.JPG

This is a great site, lots of space, flat smooth ground for a tent, and right on the water. We took a much-deserved rest, had a splash in the water and still had plenty of time to cook dinner before it got dark. I was even able to get a nice fire started that night. We would rest well this night.

It was one of the longest days of hiking we have ever experienced. Funny thing though, after the trip I looked at the satellite tracking from our emergency beacon. We hiked from 11 am to 6 pm with a 1-hour lunch. What felt like 10 hours wasn't even close, though our average pace of less than 1 mile per hour does speak to the difficulty.

For those interested here's a link to the Forest Service website for Red River Gorge and some links for the wilderness area.

https://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/dbnf/specialplaces/?cid=stelprdb5277259

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clifty_Wilderness

https://www.wilderness.net/NWPS/wildView?WID=127

https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/dbnf/recarea/?recid=39460

Sort:  

Wonderful nature photography!

Thank you. If you follow my blog you will see I often post nature photos.

Wonderful i really enjoy for this post

Thank you. I will be continuing this story in future posts.

yes thank you

I love that you brought your dog too! Pets always make a journey/trip even more entertaining.

He gave us a level of comfort. Also an excuse to stop. I did worry about his hydration and the heat but at our slow pace that day he was fine.

Calm & Peaceful ... Have a good time. ... .^^.

It is calm and peaceful in the woods. Such a refreshing change from everyday life.

I love this post and the pictures are so nice. Makes me want to go camping and I am so not a roughing it kinda woman. . . but this makes me think I would like it.

It's worth it if it's a beautiful place and it feels like an adventure. It makes all the work seem worth it. We have hot food. I like to camp near water so I can get clean. I also honestly have campgrounds with other people all around, is much rather have a hotel. It has to be somewhere special, like Red River Gorge or The Dolly Sods to be worth it.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Seems like you had one hell of an adventure time with your family.
Amazing photos. Had really fun, eh?

Being our family's first big camping adventure as a whle family this will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Your post has been very good .I have read carefully.
Hopefully post better than this.
Thank you for your next post

This is what you say as a comment to every post you visit, word for word. It doesn't even make sense. What is the point?

Congratulation waggy6! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 4min with 12 votes.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=waggy6
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=i-took-my-kid-my-wife-and-my-dog-into-the-wilderness-part-3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87