When HSBC fails you - Enough is enough

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

violin.jpg

I've been in the Netherlands since the 23rd of August.

My original plan was perhaps a week.

Whilst waiting for a new bank card to arrive, at first it was a nice break between travelling. Lucky to have a friend host me whilst I waited.

Days passed, then weeks.

After checking out the city already, and sitting on a limited amount of euros with a false hope that the card would arrive the next day...

"Maybe it will arrive tomorrow"

This predicament denied me any room to plan anything because at any moment... my card should arrive and I should be here for it.

I semi planned.
"Next week I'll go here and then there"

Jokes. Your card hasn't arrived.
.
.
.
I spent 3 weeks watching Netflix, playing ff12 and ff15 on ps4.

On the weekends I made day trips to Utrecht, Amersfoort, Rotterdam and Amsterdam spending money only on travel expenses making sure to eat enough snacks and dinner provided by my now host mums. Even if it meant stocking up on some Dutch waffles.

Lived like my university self. Back to being a cheap ass. This time forced because of the situation.

So why haven't I tried other methods so far? Why live like this?

Truth is. If I got my card, it would make life easier.

Booking accommodation needs card.
Booking busses and trains across Europe need card.
The time difference with Sydney is too great. I can't just call my mum anytime to get her to book for me. It would annoy both of us. (Security SMS means I can't do it)

Some public transports only use card now.

Carrying cash for 2 months would be more dangerous.

Exchanging currency is easier via ATMs

Traveling to other cities from Den Bosch is not cheap (return to rotterdam was 50 euros)

The city is quiet and peaceful, great for living but not for a solo traveller.
No social gatherings, no tourists...

And plus... my card was to arrive any moment... why set up all this hassle?
.
.
.
Today I had enough.

My family is wiring money to my friend.
It's my last day in the Netherlands.
I've made my mind.

The calm of the city, the friendly people...the hospitality of my friend.

All this has dulled my senses.
The fire inside has died.
The excitement of travelling from one place to another is lost.
Lost motivation and became a couch potato.

No more.

==========

I went to the local park today and attempted to learn the violin.
It was fun.
It will be how I remembered the last day in the Netherlands.

Sort:  

Sorry about the late arrival of your card, in the least, it gave you the opportunity to explore and know new places. I wish you a safe trip back to your country.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71