a Wolfs‘ journey around the world … Crete

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My travel blog, based on my own experiences and opinions. Trying to give you neutral and unbiased travel advise.

I really need to keep reminding myself to work on my travel blog as well, it’s been over 2 weeks since my last post. Once my 50 runs are over I hope I have more opportunities to write for my travel blog.

IMG_0046.JPG
My wife took a picture of me in Rethymno, whilst I check whether my picture came out right

In October 2017 my wife surprised us with a family holiday to Crete. We had been going through a difficult period where she was un-employed and I also had some struggles, so she decided that a week away at the end of the season would do us all well … she was right

MY WIFE WAS RIGHT!!!

Men! listen to your wifes! They usually mean it well for you and your family and they always have the best intentions in mind (even if the execution is not always perfect 😉). Listen to them and remember why you married her in the first place.

IMG_1166.JPG
A little collage of some pictures I took with my iPhone whilst on holiday in Crete

  • Category: Sun & Beach, History and Culture
  • Recommended Length of Stay: Minimum 1 week, longer if you can
  • Currency: Euro
  • Timezone: GMT+2
  • Perfect for: Sun & Beach, Adventure, History
  • Target Group: Families, Couples, Romance, long holidays and quick breaks

I am the first to admit that I was against this idea. I don’t like S&B (Sun & Beach) holidays and Crete is really one of those places that besides S&B is also overrun with tourists. I can not lie still on a beach, it bores me and I like to be active, see things, meet people, smell fragrances, taste different flavours … be out there.

So when my wife first came with the suggestion, I was inwardly not happy about this. She knew this and told me that it would be good for the kids, the sand between their toes, swimming and just relaxing. Off course I went along with the idea.

The flight from Zurich to Heraklion is about 3 hours, so not that bad when you have to travel with children. The drive from the airport to our hotel, the Sea Side Resort & Spa near Agia Pelagia was about 20 minutes, so we arrived at a nice and reasonable time, just before lunch at our beautiful but remotely located hotel.

IMG_9851.JPG
the 'Welcome-view' at our hotel

In the afternoon we went down to the beach to get our first feel of the Mediterranean water, although the kids liked it we found it very slippery on the rocks and not at all suitable for small children, who are just learning to swim. So we said to one another that we would look for other beaches in the vicinity with sand.

The next day we agreed that we would rent a car to discover the island more as we both didn’t want to be stuck in this hotel, secluded from the rest of the world. This was one of the best decisions we’d made, this gave us freedom and opened up the possibility to meet the locals, visit the villages and discover the history.

IMG_9919.JPG
Me in Chania

Throughout the week that we stayed in Crete we visited Chania & Rethymno, we went swimming at Bali Beach, entertained the kids at the aquarium, climbed up to the Lasithi Plateau where they have the historical windmills and picturesque villages and also the cave where legend claims that Zeus was born. We met great, friendly, honest, hard-working people, tasted fantastic food, visited stunning historical sites and all this whilst travelling with 2 young children. Life doesn’t stop when you have kids, it begins when you have kids. You don’t have to make and major changes, but you do need to consider them.

Driving in Crete was very stressful as the people either don’t know the laws or they do everything possible to break them. So I had to be very careful and because of this I decided on the last day not to go out, so that I could also have 1 day of rest. The island is easy to navigate, however distances are huge and long due to the rocky surface of the island and be careful of short exits on the ‘motorways’.

The food was fantastic once you opt to go away from the touristic places. We loved the fresh olives and cheeses they served everywhere, the meat was fresh and tasty. We ate twice at the Greek restaurant in our hotel and they also have a fantastic Chinese restaurant on site, probably one of the best Chinese I’ve ever had.

IMG_9934.JPG
Fantastic Chinese, a very tasty and succulent Duck

Our kids loved it as well, the sun, the beaches, the food and most of all the family being together. This is a holiday none of us will soon forget and I can highly recommend it.

Why should you visit Crete:

  1. Loads of history & culture, it’s quite easy to go off the beaten track and go to places less known to tourists
  2. If you love Sun & Beach it’s a fantastic destination with stunning beaches and plenty of possibilities. Loads of sun, very warm climate most of the year and friendly welcoming people
  3. Tasty, original & fresh food made by friendly, honest and hard-working people
  4. Variety in things to do from visiting historical sites to discovering rural and remote villages, hiking and swimming to being lazy on the beach or just being touristic in the cities, visit the sites and buy souvenirs

In short, I’ll let my wife decide on our holiday plans more in the future, as she knows best for all of us.

IMG_9878.JPG
The old port of Chania

IMG_9879.JPG
Shopping is always a possibility (no, that's not my wife)

IMG_9925.JPG
Goodbye Crete ... until next time!

Let me know what you think, is there anything missing in my review? Do you have any questions or suggestions? I would love to hear them and I will reply to each of them and do my best to incorporate them where I can.

Doron

!steemitworldmap 35.41801296880985 lat 25.018787386533177 long Sea Side Resort & Spa, Agia Pelagia, Crete D3SCR

Sort:  

Hhh thanks for the advice ..And thanks for participating ..good work

Thank you.

wow!! good!!!good!!! I want this place!!!

Thank you, it is really worth the visit!

Your adventure looks awesome! My kids name is Wolf so was of course drawn to "A Wolf's Journey"! Cheers my friend.

Thank you and fantastic name! My surname is Wolf, this is why 'a Wolf's Journey'.

Sun and beach is always a good way to relax. Nice vacation!

Thank you

photography is really amazing..📷. thanks for nice post...👍💪💯💯

Thank you very much! It’s amazing what you can do with an iPhone (and Samsung in my wife’s case).

@wolfje #WOW these are all Awesome Pics and love the way how you express the journey.
Look like professional photographer

I just followed you to see your more articles like this in the #Future
keep it up.

YOU JUST MADE MY DAY BUDDY
#BIG #LOVE #FROM #PAK.
Cheers :)
have a great day Dear :)

THANK YOU

Thank you for your support, it really means a lot and it keeps me going. Any recommendations, requests and remarks are welcome!

buddy always make quality content like this so we can entertain like your this one.
Cheers.

Amazing place, thanks for sharing.
Food looks delicious, streets are full of life and the sunsets are gorgeous!

Thank you for your feedback. I can only recommend it. Please let me know if you feel I should add anything to my blog.

I had a fun time reading your blog! It was compact and easily structured making it a breeze to read!
I recently visited Greece and went to the islands, Mykonos, Santorini and Milos but your post made me realise I missed out on Crete!
I'm also into blogging about my travel adventures so if you're interested feel free to check mine out :)
P.S. Admiring your 50 run challenge! Following to see how you progress and thinking about doing something similar to have a healthy 2018 :)

Thank you very much! Your support keeps me going. This was our first time to Greece and really worth it. Do you have any recommendation or anything you feel that I missed out on? I really want my blogs to be useful for everyone.

I'll have a look at yout blog as well. It helps sharing ideas and tips, never hurts for our own journeys as well.

The 50 challenge is almost over, I'm now thinking about what to do next. I have a few ideas, so watch this space.

If you're visiting Santorini I highly suggest renting a quad bike because the drive across the cliff sides are amazing!
Yep take a look, I'm in the middle of finishing off my santorini and Milos trips so if you'd like can have a look at them.
Will do! Keen to see what else you post!

Santorini is on the agenda, but I think once the kids are a bit bigger. I heard that it goes steeply up and down over there and with their little unstable legs not the best destination yet. I do love the images I see though, so I do want to go there at some point.

i'm glad you visited my country! :) great travel post!

Thanks and feel free to tell me if you feel I missed anything. I am looking to improve my blogs to really make them useful for everyone. Part information, part review of my own journey.

That looks like a fun trip. Will be adding Crete to my list of places now.
It is good you listen to your wife. They are definitely right when it comes to their family ;)

It was fantastic and really worth it. Do you have any trips coming up?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09