Real Life Captured #109: Arica Chile! (17 photos)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey there my Steemit friends! Arica was quite the experience. One of the sunniest and driest places on the planet; it's located in northern Chile close to the border with Peru right in the Atacama desert along the Pacific Coast. Since I've started taking much more videos of my travels, I fell short a little bit on these real life photos.

Forgive me if I've misled you with the title, but I've got some touristy photos mixed in here as well. However it's quite interesting how I ended up meeting the two Ecuadorian Girls in the photos with me. I was at the foot of this huge hill "Morro" which I was about to climb. I was feeling a bit tired. So I sat on the steps and dug into my backpack for some coca leaves to suck on, which I bought in Cusco Peru just a week prior.

These are the same leaves that cocaine is made from, but it's nothing like doing hard drugs. They just give you a little energy like a cup of coffee, not even. In fact coca leaves are common all through out the Andes and can be bought at markets from Chile to Columbia and especially in Cusco at 3,300 meters above sea level.

So I was reaching into my bag to have some of these leaves and these two Ecuadorian girls came walking by and asked if I'd be willing to share some. Of course I said yes. We ended up spending the rest of the day together exploring this hill, enjoying the views, and we later went to these caves along with two other people we befriended on the way. It was a fun day! Now let's have look at Arica Chile!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

This blog would not be possible without the support of.....

@lukestokes @sndbox @gringalicious @eturnerx @natureofbeing @slowwalker @newhope @ripperone @mangos @ausbitbank @alexis555 @redes @gavvet @flipstar @magicmonk @darthnava @doitvoluntarily @broncnutz @joythewanderer @onealfa @theywillkillyou @heyitshaas @czechglobalhosts @kommienezuspadt @margaretwise @gregbit @hansikhouse @voronoi @janusface @twinner @fitinfun @bxlphabet @suerisue @qurator @yankee-statman @luzcypher @phortun @karenmckersie @world5list @chefsteve @offoodandart @k4r1nn @liflorence @cecicastor @intrepidsurfer @oldtimer @makeithappen @schmidthappens @lavater @xsasj @extremeromance @jedau

THANK YOU

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap -18.478976 lat -70.323737 long d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-109-arica-chile-17-photos-1525399449


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love the real life photos. Some tourist shots are okay because you see both sides of the coin...

Thank Ceci! Glad you enjoyed!

Sounds like my favourite kind of day @world-travel-pro and in the one country that I'm still really keen to visit.

It's a shame you're not staying longer. 😊

Right, but then again; where ever you go, there you are! Have a great day! -Dan

Haha , very nice every day life captured from Chile ! great photos Dan , I hear your back with family now in Florida from your comment in Kevins post ! Happy and safe travels my friend ! Upped earlier now resteemed !👍😀💕✌

Aww thanks Karen. Love the GIFS as you know. Yes I left that comment to Kevin the other day, I forget sometimes that they are there for all to view! From my blog it will certainly seems like I just got to Santiago Chile! Lot's of material I gathered the first half this year....lots! Hope you are well and I'm sure you are! Have a great day. -Dan

Cool ! yes I also have stuff saved up in photos and im sure you have quite a back log to catch up on as a world traveler ! lol! looking forward to it !✌👍

Yes indeed. About 1000 photos and hours and hours of videos from Three different countries!

What a wonderful experience and having more friends are great!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the Travel Digest #201

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30