Real Life Captured #156: Kiev Ukraine! Part One (10 photos with Travel Pro Captions!)

in #travel5 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends! In this "Real Life Captured Series" I do my best to bring you exactly that; the real life captured from destinations all around the world! After Twelve years of travel experience my favorite thing to do is walk around! That's right, I simply like to go to foreign countries and walk around. I observe and photograph the people, food, culture, way of everyday life and bring it to you in this "Real Life Captured Series".

Kiev has turned out to be a very special place for me. I came for a couple weeks and ended up staying for a few months. I got comfortable here. I learned about the culture and the people and the longer I stayed the more I enjoyed it.

This is also one of the few places in the world that I've traveled to where I it's not immediately obvious that I am a foreigner. I have great grandparents who immigrated to America who were originally from this city and Odessa Ukraine as well. So my genetics are shared with these people; I look like them. They often start talking to me in Russian, only to be surprised that I respond in English.

Moreover Ukraine to me is a very solid second world country. The streets are not always pristine, neither are some of the buildings, you can see some poverty if you look close enough. There are many people with their own "third world" style stands selling whatever they can randomly throughout the city. I personally like this, the entrepreneurial spirit is strong here. In economies like this, if there is no job then you have to make your own job. This brings character to a city and culture as far as I'm concerned.

Ukraine is an absolute gem of a "Pay Less Get More Country". Everything is far less expensive here than western Europe yet there is little to no sacrifice on quality. This is what makes a great destination for a long term budget traveler like myself. Now come along and let's have a look at the real life, captured!

My style of shopping. Support the locals and get good quality in return. Also this is one way to know you are not in a first world economy; which is fine by me.

The value of the Ukrainian Currency has fallen 10% against the major world currencies since posting this. Ukraine is on sale. Come here and Pay Less and Get More!

Lot's of old cars are still on the road here in Ukraine.

This tram get it's power from the line above it which it's connected to....or at least that is what I think.

There are many underground walkways like this in the Kiev. They all have shops inside.

Out the other side of the walkway towards the train station. Not the prettiest path.

Free advertising space!

The scene in front of the train station.

With over 12 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

This blog would not be possible without the support of.....

@lukestokes @sndbox @gringalicious @eturnerx @natureofbeing @broncnutz @slowwalker @twinner @pfunk @gtg @gavvet @kommienezuspadt @qurator @yankee-statman @luzcypher @phortun @monika-homa @karenmckersie @travelfeed @steemitworldmap @world5list @chefsteve @offoodandart @k4r1nn @cecicastor @intrepidsurfer @oldtimer @gillianpearce @makeithappen @schmidthappens @justyy @newhope @ripperone @mangos @ausbitbank @alexis555 @redes @flipstar @jedau @magicmonk @holm @darthnava @doitvoluntarily @joythewanderer @onealfa @theywillkillyou @heyitshaas @margaretwise @gregbit @janusface @fitinfun @bxlphabet @lizanomadsoul

THANK YOU

I support these people for witness and you can too!

@lukestokes.mhth @qurator @pfunk @jutssy @mahdiyari @gtg @timcliff @roelandp @good-karma @blocktrades @ausibitbank @aggroed @teamsteem @pharesim

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 50.087536 lat 14.421035 long d3scr

Check Out My Free E-Book Published on Steemit!

How to Live Travel Pro! An In-depth Guide on How to Budget Travel Around the World.

Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

The truth is that if it is an interesting place that if with a very different architecture and that's fine I like

What is it that the gentleman sells that looks like flowers is some kind of fruit?

Thank you! It's a kind of squash or zucchini.

I see that Ukraine is an interesting place because of everything I have seen in what you show us has everything

I'm impressed that you stay a little longer, that's good, so it gave you time to get to know the place a lot

Yes, I'm still in the country and will be until Steemfest. It's a great "pay less get more" place to be for a while. Then off to Thailand for the winter. One of my favorite countries in the world.

It would be interesting to visit it, it's good that you're enjoying it

Thank you Andrina!

Hi @world-travel-pro, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @ausibitbank doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @ausbitbank ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-captured-156-kiev-ukraine-part-one-10-photos-with-travel-pro-captions-1538934151


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #339. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75