Travel Pro Places of Interest #108: Olšany Cemetary in Prague Czech Republic! Part Four (10 photos)

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hey there my Steemit friends! In this Travel Pro Places of Interest Series we focus on specific places of interest for a given location. This may come in the form of parks, museums, beaches, cathedrals, and much more. Always an interesting series and always informative!

In Prague, one of the most tourested cities in all of Europe the Hrbtovy Cemetery certainly was not high up on the list of places to see for most visitors. Then again most visitors are not like me. With over twelve years of perpetual traveling I don't even think of myself as a tourist, just a Travel Pro!

In the last couple years I've gotten really into art, food, and culture of the places I go. I've learned that one way to take in a people's culture is at the cemetery. Not only does a stroll through a cemetery offer one a quiet peaceful time to reflect, it also is very interesting seeing how the deceased are laid to rest.

After visiting cemeteries from Patagonia to Ireland and beyond, I find it quite remarkable how much they can differ. From religion, available space, economies, and tradition they all have their own unique style and beauty. One thing they all have in common is a sense of stillness and peace.

This cemetery was no different. It was under kept, over grown, and large, very large. It had to have been at least one square kilometer. I recall seeing many arch angels, crosses, and dates going back to the 1700s. Now come along in this five part series and let's have a look around the Hrbtovy Cemetery in Prague Czech Republic.

With over 12 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

This blog would not be possible without the support of.....

dtube lukestokes sndbox slowwalker kommienezuspadt magicmonk eturnerx natureofbeing janusface broncnutz pfunk gtg gavvet qurator yankee-statman @luzcypher phortun monika-homa holm ivansnz karenmckersie travelfeed steemitworldmap world5list chefsteve offoodandart hedge-x k4r1nn intrepidsurfer oldtimer sndbox-alpha gillianpearce makeithappen schmidthappens justyy newhope tombstone ripperone mangos ausbitbank alexis555 redes flipstar jedau darthnava doitvoluntarily joythewanderer theywillkillyou heyitshaas margaretwise gregbit fitinfun bxlphabet lizanomadsoul

THANK YOU

I support these people for witness and you can too!

lukestokes.mhth qurator pfunk jutsyy mahdiyari gtg timcliff roelandp good-karma blocktrades ausbitbank aggroed kevinwong teamsteem pharesim

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Video/Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 50.080728 lat 14.466660 long d3scr

Check Out My Free E-Book Published on Steemit!

How to Live Travel Pro! An In-depth Guide on How to Budget Travel Around the World.

Sort:  

Love the photos! Very cool series, Dan. Btw, the word "Hřbitovy" actually means "cemetary" - the name of this one is "Olšany" so it the English title should be "the Olšany Cemetary" ;) But cool post! Hopefully you are still enjoying your Thai mission :)

I remember you telling me in part one. Oh well. All these posts are premade as you know. Pre made incorrectly. I'll go ahead and change it. Thanks for the tip. Yes, Thailand has brought me some wild adventures to say the least. Soon I'll be in Bali, Saturday night I get there and plan to stay for two months. So let Bali Games begin! lol It's going to be a lot of fun! Best to you and Tammy as Always.

Ohhh - I am sorry man - you are right, I already told you that :D I forgot. Sorry buddy :) Haha wild adventures in Thailand? :D Sounds very interesting! Wow Bali. I have heard so much of Bali. Good things and bad too. Have you been there before?

It's all good brother! I was in Bali about six years ago. I bicycled around the entire Island. Beautiful. I was with my girlfriend of five years back then. This time as a solo traveler I'm just staying in Canggu area, will surely be a different experience. I'm looking forward to it.

For any reason I find cemeteries, old obes with sculptures so romantic looking. I filmed my videoclip nothing using five of them or so. Like those angels

Indeed Cemeteries certainly offer special feel. I can imagine you doing a great video in a cemetery! Now to recall, I'm pretty sure I met you and your husband at Steemfest! Good to see you stopping by!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #454.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-places-of-interest-108-hrbtovy-cemetary-in-prague-czech-republic-part-four-10-photos-1551378488


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice picture shared

Great photos

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81