Coming back after 527 days away

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Early morning, I left to Singapore airport, my last stop of my 1,5 year abroad. Two days before I decided to book my ticket from London to Netherlands already instead of going to London first for a week. As the most people know already I stayed most of the time in my favorite country, the Philippines but I went to Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand as well. I had the time of my life and I did feel definitely very sad about leaving, like I actually left my home. But now I was going to see my family and friends again.

IMG-20180508-WA0015.jpg

IMG-20180508-WA0009.jpg

IMG20180507074054.jpg

Safely, my plane landed in London, one more time I was thinking about going into London for a few days but I was actually a little bit tired of traveling and now I was so close to the Netherlands, I wanted to go back. London is something for someday, but not today. I took the train to the other terminal were I had to change my clothes since I was just allowed to have one hand carry bag. While walking I saw a sign that with different airplane companies including mine, Ryanair, a Duty free back was free to take with me so it is worth a try! Better than wearing all my clothes. I walked up to a store and a good looking British guy asked if he could help me. I replied with my question for an plastic duty free bag which he handed to me. I didn't know that it would be so easy! Some people with too many bags got send away and had to pay an other 47 pounds while the solution was this easy :)

I boarded my last plane which ride would take less than an hour. Soon, I saw already the coastline since I was sitting by the window. The sky was blue so those sunny days would make it easier to get used to the Dutch cold temperatures after spending such a long time in the Asian heat.

IMG20180507191652.jpg
The Dutch coastline

IMG20180507191742.jpg
View over the very organised Dutch farms

After landing, I walked to the arrivals and my parents were waiting there with my little sister and 3 of my sweet friends! I didn't expect them there! They even made a banner! While, they planned to but I told them to late I would come back that soon so I didn't expect them to pick me up, and they told me they didn't have enough time to finish the banner but so sweet of them they did! They even counted the days I was lost for!

IMG-20180508-WA0015.jpg

I walked to them and gave them all a hug and was so surprised to see my little sister! Or little? Probably the tallest girl I have seen last year! And they used to call me already big girl in Cebu, Kim is even taller! But I was so happy to see my little :) Sister again!

IMG20180507210557.jpg

We went to the Starbucks to drink something while having a good chat, sharing all my stories with them while hearing about all those things I had missed.. This 1,5 year didn't feel like a long time, but there happen ed a lot!

Thanks for reading my Ulog, hope you will follow my travels in my memories back to the Philippines because I have enough stories left to share! I am now already ''homesick'' :p

IMG20180507164551.jpg

Love,
Sha

Sort:  

very cool you made it home, I just got back to America after almost a year in Russia and its a bit depressing and exciting all at the same time, I haven't made it to starbucks yet....how was it after 500+ days without it?

You are russian or american? I think Russia is an awesome country to live in, it is very high on my bucketlist! They even have Starbucks in the Philippines and plenty of other Starbucks like coffeeshops :p

I am American, my wife is Russian and we were in Russia for 8 months ... back in California for now but will go back at some point. No Starbucks in Vladivostok ... or McDonalds ... however there is a Burger King and it’s awful. I think you would enjoy Russia ... it’s the best country I have ever been to

Sounda like a very small town. I think I have heard from this place in Russia, is it North? I am planning to go to Russia to see the Northern lights maybe this winter! I wanna stay around there a while more with Couchsurfing cause I wanna get to know more Russians. They are pretty cool, impulsive people who are not scared to live their life as I judge the Russians I met in Asia.

Vladivostok is as far east as you can go, borders korea..Vostok means east and it's a port town similar to san fransisco. I like Russian people in general and would be good if you get an opportunity to see the northern lights and russia too. Winter time is very cool and my first time was in january and i really loved it.

I would love to go there this winter! I am 70% sure I can make it! Thank you very much :)

70% is pretty damn good, I hope for the other 30% to come and you get the chance!

Happy homecoming Ulogger.
When you use tag ulog, add in the title ulog # and the consecutive number.

Okay I will do next time! Thank you!

Travelling is a part of learning.
I wish to travel too.
Have fun.

Hope you can some day!

Someday, i will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13