Solo travel adventures - LISBON - Day 3

in #traveldigest6 years ago (edited)

How to start your last day in Lisbon? Definitely not with rain in the morning!

When I opened the curtains to let the sunshine in the room and enjoy the view while drinking my morning coffee I was surprised to see heavy clouds and puddles on the streets instead. For today I planned to visit Belém district with beautiful views of Atlantic ocean so I was a little bit disappointed.

But I can't change the weather (as much as I would wish to) so I will make the best out of this rainy day!

I have packed my jumper, jacket, umbrella and camera and started my adventure.

Belém district is around 7 km far from the hotel so I took a taxi this time. It costs me around 7 EUR which is not bad at all when you try to avoid public transportation.

DSC_0173.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 23 mm

The taxi driver stopped right in front of The Jerónimos Monastery. I was speechless for a moment as I didn't expect it to be so big!

The Jerónimos Monastery was originally built as a small chapel in 14th century. The chapel is associated with the early sailors and explorers and it was where Vasco da Gama spent his last night before his voyage to the Far East.

Upon his return and the found new riches in Africa and the far east, King Manuel I began the construction of a new monastery to show the glorious wealth that the age of exploration brought to the Portuguese empire.

I must say that it is the most impressive building that I've seen in Lisbon.

DSC_0099.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 18 mm

DSC_0108.jpg
1/320 sec. f/11 24 mm

The monastery is listed as UNESCO world heritage now. Inside are the tombs of the royal family, Vasco de Gama, and Luís de Camões among other Portuguese notables from the time it was built.

The sacristy of the church of Santa Maria de Belém is one of the most beautiful architectural spaces in the Monastery of Jerónimos. The Church houses the tombs of Vasco da Gama and Luís de Camões, a Portuguese poet and writer.

DSC_0089.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 21 mm

On the west side of the monastery building you can find The Navy Museum. It is a maritime museum in Lisbon, dedicated to all aspects of the history of navigation in Portugal. I will definitely go there next time.

DSC_0101.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 24 mm

On the right side of the monastery there is The Tropical botanical garden. I have found it on the way to Pastéis de Belém bakery that began making the original Pastéis de Belém in 1837, following an ancient recipe from the Jerónimos monastery. It is an egg pastry so I didn't try it but I've found it amusing to see so many people queuing just to try this local dessert.

Have you tried it? I heard it is very delicate.

But back to the botanical garden. Initially I was not planning to enter the garden but I really liked these tall palm trees that you can see from far away so I paid 2 EUR entrance fee and started to explore the place.

It was raining when I was there and I was happy to find a tree that I could use as a shelter and take a picture of these ducks with the palm trees alley in the back.

DSC_0040.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

When I entered the garden I didn't know they were everywhere. And so many of them! This group was heading directly to me and it turned out they only wanted to show off in front of the camera. After I took the pictures, they turned around and disappeared in the garden.

It was like they would be telling me: OK, so you're here now and we let you to take some pictures of us but then leave us alone!

DSC_0052.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

The garden was created in 1906, as a data collection field for agriculture in the Portuguese colonies.

There are statues that represent the native population of Portuguese colonies. This is not my favorite part but these two statues caught my attention as the rain made them look like they were crying.

DSC_0048.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/6.3 21 mm

The plant collection in the garden consists of species with historical connection to the age of discoveries of the Portuguese explorers. I really liked Erythrina Speciosa flowers. They look beautiful covered with rain drops.

DSC_0057.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/6.3 27 mm

There are supposed to be some exhibitions in the castle located in the garden but it was closed during my visit.

Overall I must say that I visited botanical gardens that were more beautiful. I hate to say that this one seems not to be so well maintained. I believe there is a lot of potential in the garden but you can see the lack of money invested in the maintenance at the moment.

Slightly disappointed with the garden I went straight to the Padrão dos Descobrimentos and Tower of St Vincent also know as Belém tower.

Padrão dos Descobrimentos is a monument on the northern bank of the Tagus River estuary. It was built in 1940 with its main architect Cottinelli Telmo to celebrate the Portuguese discoveries and to symbolize the starting point for the caravels. It represents the prow of a ship transporting the most prominent figures of 16th century. In 1960 it was made in stone on the Praça do Império in Belém.

As it is situated very close to the Atlantic ocean the wind was much stronger than anywhere in the city. Together with some other tourists we were trying to keep our umbrellas straight. It was not easy and almost all of us eventually gave up. I saw a few broken umbrellas too!

DSC_0119.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 20 mm

From Praça do Império you can enjoy the view of The 25 de Abril Bridge. It is the largest suspension bridge in Europe and the 20th longest in the world. Often considered as a twin sister of the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco.

I was hoping not to fall in the river as I was very close to the edge but the drive to take desired pictures was stronger than my fear 😊

DSC_0123.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 18 mm

The distance between Padrão dos Descobrimentos and Tower of St Vincent might be less than 500 meters but I had to take a break and drink a glass of rosé in a trendy bar nearby😊 I was completely wet and exhausted from the wind so I didn't have to think twice before I entered the bar. And hey, you can have a glass of wine on vacation anytime, right? Even at 4 PM!

After an hour I asked for a bill and I continued to the tower. I was very lucky as I arrived just on time before the last entry.

Because of the weather there were not that many people so I could enjoy strolling around (as much as you can enjoy strolling around in such wind)

DSC_0165.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 22 mm

The tower was built in 1515 as a fortress to guard the entrance to Lisbon's harbor. Years later, it was transformed into a lighthouse and customs house. It is listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage monument.

DSC_0212.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 18 mm

The ground floor of this architectural gem has 16 windows with cannons. The visit also includes a tour of the pits and holes where the prisoners were thrown into.

The tower has five floors which lead to a roof terrace. The spiral staircase is very narrow and you have to wait for a green light to climb or descend. There are 93 stairs to reach the tower. I normally don't like such narrow paths as they make me anxious but there is a very good air circulation so I didn't mind.

The names of floors from bottom to top are: The Governor’s Hall, The Kings’ Hall, the Audience Hall, the Chapel and Roof terrace.

DSC_0216.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 18 mm

View from the top of the tower to the western part of the city. I love purple Jacarandas! Thank you @leeart for helping me with the name of these trees!

DSC_0226.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 32 mm

View to the Atlantic ocean with a storm coming in our direction 😊 Time to move, quickly!

DSC_0232.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

By the time I came down the staircase it started to rain again. But more heavily as before so it was time for another glass of rosé 😊 I have never had rosé from Portugal and I'm so happy that I tried it here! It is my new favorite drink!

The waitress was so kind to arrange a taxi for me to get back to the hotel.

This is the last day of my Lisbon adventure and I'm flying back home tomorrow.

I am working on my top 5 favorite attractions and vegan travel guide which I will share with you soon so stay tuned!

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it!

All pictures are taken by Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II.

Cheers,

Martina

Sort:  

Wow! Beautiful shots. You had a busy day. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @wanderlass. Congratulations and best wishes.

Thank you for your comment! I'm very happy and honoured to be featured! 😊

Well deserved. Keep up the great work. The pleasure is all mine.

Awesome photos! It doesn't look so gloomy even if it rained, must be your photography skills.

I have also featured your post in today’s Minnow Fridays and my Pay It Forward contest entry (combined post). Keep creating quality content :)

Thank you so much for your kind words and for featuring me!! That is soooo sweet of you!

I do my best to keep up the quality :)

Oohh @delishtreats 🤗 what to say except, I Really Enjoy your travel story, beautiful pictures and I think the leader of "the group" must be so talented and recognised people with camera who will make them famous as the monastery 😁

Will wait for your "rose" and vegan story too. Have a safe flight 👋

Thank you my dear for your great comment!

Ow yeah, they definitely have a boss telling them were to go! :)

I will post the vegan story from Lisbon tomorrow. I'm at the airport in Barcelona now waiting for my delayed flight to Zurich. The post is almost ready, just a few adjustments to be done :)

Hope you're doing well!

I will be glad to wait and read, take your time @delishtreats🤗

There it is my dear!

The tower seem small when it stands alone like that. I like how different levels look. The monastery is huge. I notice there are no photos of the inside. Is it prohibited?

The monument is impressive. You really seem to be on the edge when you took the photo of the bridge.

Too bad there is not much to see in the garden. I hope they will maintain it better. Nice shot of the flower though. It is vibrant and the droplets of water make it more interesting.

You are right and to be honest it was not as big as I expected @leeart :) I took some pictures in the monastery but they didn't come out well as it was quite dark so I have a reason to go back to Lisbon and make better pictures :)

Oh yes, I was on the edge! And with the wind I hoped not to fall to the ice cold water. But I was lucky and survived :)

I found it so sad in the garden. There is a huge potential but I think there are some financial issues in Portugal so they invest the money they have somewhere else. They could at least sell the tickets a bit more expensive and use the money for maintenance..

Thank you for stopping by and spending time with your comment!

That would be something to look forward to. One of the things I like are the stained glasses when I go inside churches.

The things we do just to get a shot lol! How many photos did you take before deciding enough?

If you like stained glasses wait for my posts about Barcelona!! Sagrada familia is stunning in this regard! 😊 I have a few good pictures to share 😉

I have no idea how many I took. But there is a point when I think the moment is gone and I stop. There are still many things to see in Lisbon so I don't mind coming back again.

Finally, stained glasses! lol! Sagrada Familia is such an interesting structure and would like to see what is your take on it.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

What a beautiful trip and amazing photos!

Thank you! :)

Thank you! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for your support!

Amazing work :) I have never been in Lisbon but may be one day :)

You should definitely go! Thank you for stopping by!

I must give you a big compliment for taking such a beautiful photos despite the bad weather. You also described everything so well, so I felt as I was there with you. Except without getting wet, lol. Well done Sweetie and I look forward to read your vegan travel guide 🌸💖🌸

Thank you my dear!! Oh yes, that is good about sharing the experience with others that you don't have to experience everything :D

I have just uploaded my vegan experience :) I hope you will like it too!

Always pleasure Sweetie, and I am going to check 🌸💖🌸

that is beautiful @delishtreats! The buildings are awesome, but the red flower is even better! :)

Thank you Dave! Let's see what I'll find in Barcelona this week! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78