SteamPunk inspired Ice Sculptures (Scheveningen, Netherlands)

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Today we took a trip down to Scheveningen Beach to have a look at the "Cool Events Scheveningen" festival that is running for the first two weeks of January. It is a bit a of an ice themed event which was quite nice as the The Netherlands missed out on having snow this year. There was an outdoor artificial ice rink and a ice slide ramp... but the real star of the show (well, at least for me...) was this Ice Sculpture exhibition ("Tales of Steam and Ice") which was situated near the pier at the beach.

Tales of Steam and Ice

The exhibition is a small set of twelve ice sculptures that are Steampunk themed, but also seem to follow a bit of an Alice in Wonderland theme as well. In particular, there was a clock and White Rabbit in each display, which is definitely a harkening to the Alice in Wonderland theming. (In addition, there was a bit of a little treasure hunt for the kids to try and find the hidden clocks and rabbits in each display).

The space was a temporarily enclosed area that was sitting on the sand at the beach. However, for the benefit of the ice sculptures the area was chilled to a below freezing temperature. Needless to say, it was pretty damn cold as the air was wet (being at the beach...) in addition to being cold!

After spending an hour (but very worthwhile!) in the freezing cold, this fire brazier was a very very welcome sight!

The Photos

So, without futher ado.. I will present the photos from the exhibition. These are incredibly beautiful works of art, which I can only imagine took quite some time and care to create. To be honest, it is the first time that I have really seen ice sculptures, and so I was quite taken with the entire thing! My kids also enjoyed it very much, but by the end they also enjoyed the fire and a nice warm hot chocolate (and a coffee for me!).

I don't really have much to add in the way of words to these pictures, so I'll let them speak for themselves!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Looks really cool! Those ice sculptures are really something else. I love ice skating and it has been far too long since I went last. Might try and convince my friend with a car to drive us up to our local rink :-)

Ice skating... I'm terrible! I can't stop and I can't really turn... so I end up bouncing from wall to wall!

Those photos are wicked chill, in every sense of the word! Thanks so much for sharing the coolness, @bengy!

Haha... it was pretty cold taking those photos... it was cold already, but I decided not to wear gloves so I could make the photos... by the end, I wasn't sure that was the right choice!

Yeah, I've made a similar decision before when taking photos outside in the cold...not the smartest thing I've ever done...LOL


via GIPHY

That really does look like a cool place ;) Sorry, had to go there haha! But I love the craftsmanship and the way the setting is all laid out, really does look a magical place to be!

Ahahaha... SPLAT...

Anyway, yes it was quite a great place to visit... we were pretty happy to have stumbled upon it!

I love all this art what a super cool exhibition

Thanks! This was pretty impressive, I only wish I had your camera skills!

Dont be hard with yourself you got great shots, and I have been playing around with my camera for a long time now :)

That is an amazing exhibition ! Dripping with SteamPunk up to the teeth, to be sure ! What wonderful photos <3 <3 <3 I really enjoyed this post, @bengy :D

Thanks! The ice art was great, but by the end, I was wishing I wasn't taking photos and just wearing gloves instead!

Is great, I've always liked steampunk

These really are pretty good, I've never seen ice sculptures before... they really aren't a thing in Australia!

Until I scrolled down to see the bottom two thirds of the first image, I imagined that it was a sculpture of Psilocybe Cubensis!

comp1.png

Lol!

Happy New Year!

Namaste, JaiChai

Haha!!! Almost!

Great looking sculptures. Thanks for sharing.

They are quite beautiful, and the lighting really does enhance them! Thanks for visiting!

Ahhh I didn't know that🙈 they are still good after the fires of yesterday I see.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! I only just read about the Scheveningen bonfire and how it blew badly on New Year! Well, these did survive luckily!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33