BUCKAROO CHECKING IN AFTER A LOOOOOONG SILENCE

in #travelfeed5 years ago

IMG_9964 (Custom).JPG

No guarantees that I'm back for good .... sorry @craigcryproking ... but I simply had to share some of the stunning photos I took of a special vacation my family and I took a couple weeks ago. We drove over 1000 km to the Northern border of South Africa and the magnificent red Kalahari sands! It is such a different life there. Our plan had been to camp. We were packed to the gills with tents, gas cookers and plenty of warm clothing and bedding for our winter trip.

IMG_0017 (Custom).JPG

Almost half of the trip is on dirt road. Which also means no cell reception. I didn't realize that there are still such huge stretches of the world without the mod comms! But I can't say we were sorry to be cut off and have long periods of sweet silence.

IMG_0004 (Custom).JPG

As you enter the Northern Cape, and the border the world is very different. And you see mile upon mile of these incredible community nests. They do vary in size, but are mostly very, very large!

IMG_0013 (Custom).JPG

It is fascinating watching these little creatures. Their busy chatter fills the otherwise silent air. Unlike other birds that build small nests seasonally these community minded birds build permanent structures that are used for many years. At least as long as their chosen anchor point can stand it! These little winged architects have a rather interesting choice of foundation - mostly telephone or power lines but often farmers windmills or elevated reservoirs.

IMG_0018 (Custom).JPG

All of the Northern Cape is filled with hundreds of these community nests, at different stages of construction. They can house up to 300 birds. Although they are very common in the Northern Cape, the social weavers can also be found in Namibia and Botswana. But we didn't go quite that far!

IMG_0021 (Custom).JPG

Sorry for such a short check-in after a very long absence. Watch this space for some more incredible memories and photos of the beautiful red Kalahari and its equally majestic wildlife. And I may just squeeze in an update about our little winter homestead and growing two and four legged family....

IMG_0009 (Custom).JPG

Sort:  

Great to hear from you @buckaroo! Thanks for the update and sharing with us the photos of your trip.

"Almost half of the trip is on dirt road. Which also means no cell reception. I didn't realize that there are still such huge stretches of the world without the mod comms!"

My trip (also in winter!) earlier this year, in some instances, was also through portions of the western U.S. which do not have full cell coverage. Like appears to be the case with you and yours, I really enjoy the remoteness. At least "for a season" ...

The pictures of these community birds are awe inspiring, considering their Creator. Brings quickly to mind the recent experiences of my beloved and I. We have just returned from visiting our "eastern" (in the eastern part of the U.S.) children. As part of the trip, we visited here and here. I don't know if you've ever heard of Ken Ham, an Australian whose life work is on display at both of these locations in northern Kentucky. We were enormously blessed by our opportunity to experience them both ...

How is all going with your little one you were expecting? I hope all is well.

Thank you so much for your comment @roleerob! Yes, I have heard of him. I find the Creation teachers inspiring! I'm sure it was a fascinating trip! My little one is due in (our) Spring. So only two months to go. We're all very excited

Good to hear @buckaroo. Looking forward to a future post about your little one! 👍

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hey @buckaroo! I've wondered about you, but I've been relatively absent as well... something must be in the air though because I just did a post yesterday after a five month absence 😊

I love these photos; your trip sounds great! Something to say for no cell service 😊

How's everything else going? How are you feeling these days?

Hi Lynn!! How wierd is that! I actually check in a couple times a week to upvote my favourites and noticed you've also been away. I just read your post! YAY! So happy for you that Brian is fighting fit! He is quite something. Long may your life together continue.

Hello my Dear Tracey! I happy to know that you and your family are doing well, although I would love to find out more details, lol. Nevertheless, I am quite intrigued by these birds and their nests, because I never knew they existed. Your trip must of been amazing! Thank you for sharing it with us and I hope you will drop by again soon. Sending lots of hugs 💖😊💖

Hi Lena!! Thank you for your sweet comment. We're doing well - I still have the ongoing nausea but bearable and counting down the last two months now! We're all very excited about the baby. I'll post an update in the coming days....hopefully

I am happy to hear that my Dear Tracey, although I am sorry that you still have nausea Tracey.......... I hope it will go away soon! I look forward to read you update Sweetie. Wish you all the best 💖

Oh my shattered nerves my sister welcome back, better late than pregnant right? LOL get it, get it? Hehe nice pics btw, love you broken.. byeee

Good to see a brother and sister getting along so well!! LOL

Don't quit your day job COMEDIAN!!! Love you fixed ;)

Hey there @buckaroo wonderful to see you again! Thanks for sharing these pictures...I have never seen such a thing before with birds making such huge nests!! I also found it fascinating to see them make them on anything that is tall and off the ground!

Shalom!

Shalom @simms50! It is really fascinating

Good to here from you. Hope all is well

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @andre-ager! Thank you so much for your speedy comment and ongoing support. Rather chilly here in Africa but homesteading life and family is flourishing

So good to hear from you! Sounds like a wonderful trip with such interesting sites!
What a different type of nesting system and wonderful to see the birds acting in a community! so unique!
Thanks for sharing!
Can't wait to hear updates about your trip, homestead and family! Hope all is well and I do so miss your posts and corresponding with you here!

Those communal nests are amazing ! * __ * What interesting things we can see when we step away from the cities <3

Misses your posts, @buckaroo, they are always super interesting and the photos are always so good, but it's nice to hear from you even if it's a short post :) Wishing you well in your travels and life <3 And hopefully, see you soon again in the future :)

Aaaah! Thank you for your sweet comment @veryspider! You will be seeing me more often - although definitely not as much as before! I love sharing my photos and happy they are appreciated

So happy to see you pop up on my feed! Especially with such beautiful shots from your part of the world. What a neat little community to see all of those birds living together. I hope all is well with you and yours!

Hi @plantstoplanks!! It's really neat. Wouldn't it be nice if humans lived so amicably together! We're doing well, thanks. Hopefully I'll be writing a bit of a home update soon. I'm sorry I've been so scarce. Although I haven't commented much I still try to stay ahead of reading and upvoting my favourites, like you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85