Short trip to Lviv, Ukraine

in #travelfeed6 years ago

During my gap year in Odessa, Ukraine in 1995/96, my fellow student and I travelled to Lviv for a weekend, an incredibly beautiful city to which I would dearly love to return.

It's disappointing that I didn't write more in my journal, something of which I still don't do enough!. And were it nowadays I would, of course, have taken many more photos that I did. Of the whole trip, these are all the photos. Still, at least I have these, right?!

Market Square

Market Square

18 April 1996

I left for L'viv with D. Tickets cost 25 dollars each - bumped big style. We got a купе (four-bed berth) with a father and son from Odessa. It was dead heavy at first as nobody would speak and D was para, man. It turned out good though. The kid even said my Russian was good. Cheers kid! We played cards. It was bloody hot.

Scan-071206-0048.jpg

Adam Mickiewicz Column

19 April

We arrived in L'viv at 9:30 am, ate in a park then got into the Hotel L'viv for $10 per night. The city is incredible and the weather was bloody hot as well. We met Helen in the street - mental or what! We bought our return tickets on Friday - $15 for люкс (two-bed berth). Helen payed 800k for a купе. I saw a champion Ukrainian shirt I wanted for $100, but couldn't get any money with my Visa as the banks were all shut. Eventually I got money at the Dnistr Hotel then we went to a concert of organ music in a church. It was no bad. I went back to the market where the old wifey was packing up and said she had sold the shirt anyway. Piss. I ended up getting a dress, which I can cut. It was $35. I also got a shirt for Scott and a wee dress for Nicole (nephew and niece).

We had a choice meal in the Grand Hotel for $10 at night. We should've stayed at the George Hotel.

Scan-071206-0189.jpg

Cemetery of the Defenders of Lwów

20 April

Had a couple of beers at night.

Scan-071206-0214.jpg

Lviv National Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet

21 April

We got a люкс back to Odessa, just the two of us in a wee cabin. Good sunset.
Scan-071206-0216.jpg

Dominican Church / Домініканський костел і монастир, греко-католицька церква Святої Євхаристії

22 April

Arrived back in Odessa at the back of 10 this morning.

Scan-071206-0217.jpg

Ivan Franko National University of Lviv

Sort:  

It's amazing that you have this many photos from so far back, good job for keeping them! Sounds like a great trip. We've also wanted to go to Lviv, hopefully we'll be able to go soon :)

Thanks - it's a wonderful city and I'd love to go back some day. Thanks for commenting.

Never been there, but the architecture looks really nice.. going to remember this.. thanks for sharing!

I really appreciate that you've posted your old photos! It's interesting to see Lviv from the 90's - architecture hasn't changed much, but the city has much more ads and flashy signs.

Thanks for commenting. It was an interesting time to visit Ukraine, not long after the change and everything was in a state of flux. I don't think I quite realised at the time just how quickly everything was changing.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you so much for your consideration!

Looks beautiful. I love Eastern Europe more then the West. Thank you for sharing your old photos and memories.

Thanks for commenting. Western Europe has some lovely bits too, but I agree with you - the east really has a different feel and I still find myself attracted to that part of the world and none more than Russia. It has always drawn me.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-12T10:35:24
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1627.07/3200.00
Total Photos: 187
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=camuel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=short-trip-to-lviv-ukraine


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99